We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Another gem of Lancaster

Now thanks to the almighty council and to larger extent the government and austerity as a whole... read more

Reviewed April 14, 2019
Ingvar I
,
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Quick visit as it closes early!

This was small but interesting. I enjoyed looking at all the historical photos of Morcambe and my... read more

Reviewed April 11, 2019
yumchocolatemmm
,
Newton Mearns, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 180 reviews
  
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
94
64
19
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
94
64
19
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slave trade custom house small cafe old customs house local residents canal barge stage coach top floor cold wet day cross bay bigger inside than it looks introductory film several floors interactive displays morecambe bay st georges interesting details
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 180 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2019 via mobile

It’s been years since we visited and what a change there has been.
We started by watching the short video presentation of the maritime history of the area and then wandered through the several floors of exhibits which really brought the story of the port to life.
Having just had a late lunch nearby we didn’t need to sample the cafe nor had we really given ourselves enough time to do the whole museum justice but as the main purpose of our visit was to check it out with a view to bringing visitors then we were well satisfied.
It is remarkably good value for money and the staff are delightful.
Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Youngatheart6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

Lovely little museum that tells the tale of Lancaster's maritime history. The film is excellent and we learned a great deal about Lancaster and Morecambe. Even our teenage sons enjoyed it!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2019

We visited here recently 2 adults and a teenager. It's about an 8 minute walk from the castle. It wasn't as big as we expected but a good way to pass an hour. The museums pricing policy is a bit strange, basically if you live in the local area you can get in for free. Children also are not charged. We paid for two adults which was either £3 or £4 each but if you are a concession you pay less. I think they should make it free for all and then ask for a donation, as there was a donation pot inside. There were activity sheets for younger and older children to do and also a small cafe but we didn't go in so cannot comment not the cafe.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Melissa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

Really delightful little museum covering the port and beach life of Lancaster and environs. We enjoyed the film and exhibits. It is attractively laid out over two or three floors. There are plenty of stairs but also lifts. It opened at 12 and was a perfect 60-90 minutes after our tour of the castle earlier. Made for very interesting and informative trip to the city.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

What a great free place to visit, Donations are gratefully received. A fascinating museum which looks at Lancaster with the slave trade, which was very sad but played a big part of our history to the modern oil rigs across the bay. Well worth a visit and our 3 year old loved it too. The staff where very friendly.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Aurora-Chaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews