We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another fantastic meal!”
Review of Molinari's - CLOSED

Molinari's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Under new management since October 2012. Now owned and operated by Lancaster Brewery. Offering excellent quality, made to order Italian food with a Lancastrian twist. Our experienced brigade of chefs hand make a lovely array of fine dining, pizza and pasta options. The opposite of mass produced, microwaved Italian pretenders. This is great Italian food, made properly.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yet another fantastic meal!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Visited with my little girl on 26/01/13. Met with a warm welcome, swifty served,and ordered pizza's, that when received, were to die for. They are absolutely delicious. Had a meal each, and drinks, bill came to £14, cant beat it!.Will be returning again soon, well done chef :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at Molinari's, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for writing this review.

I'm thrilled you're still enjoying our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    57
    21
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alcudia, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not an italian restaurant”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Is not a place where you can say i will came back! Is not a true italian restaurant, the pizza was heavy and with too many ingredients! The pasta bolognese was normal! The atmosphere is artificial and without personality!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucianocappiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at Molinari's, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

I'm sorry, but I just can't agree with you. Lancaster has many Italian restaurants and pretty much all of them serve similar types of food. We are trying to be different. We present our food differently, we try to surprise and delight our diners with innovation rather than the same tired old "cliched" Italian.

Some people will appreciate our efforts, others won't. Everyone is entitled to their opinions and I thank you again for expressing yours.

Hopefully we will get the chance to impress you again at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Have been in a couple of times now, and the food is always wonderful (with good-sized portions, too). Their daily £4.95 choices are excellent value, and it's always a lovely atmosphere to bring friends or family. Acknowledging some of the other reviews, I have to say the service is always quite slow regardless of how busy they are, but the meals always taste fresh and carefully made. The waiting staff are usually lovely and polite (and never especially slow when I've been in) although I did have one girl insist they didn't have a drinks menu when I'd seen some by the door. As I've said, overall, definitely worth the wait, and you can't fault them on value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _missmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at Molinari's, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed our food during your last visit. We are working very hard to speed up the service and hopefully, when you visit again, you'll notice a steady improvement. It's taken some time for our brigade of chefs to gain the confidence to produce excellent quality food at a rapid pace, but we're definitely getting there...

Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice food good service”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

arrived at the restaurant and was shown to our table after only a few minutes wait !! the staff were very friendly and the sevice was very quick !! our meals were nice and we would definatly go there again !!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spenny1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at Molinari's, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for the review.

I'm delighted you enjoyed your meal.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Far too slow”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Food was great, service was ridiculously slow. It was not a busy night, there were 8 of us (some of whom were not having starters). We waited at least half an hour to be offered drinks, an hour and a half for starters and all in all 2 hours for mains. When it came to desserts i actually had to approach one of the staff who was behind the bar polishing glasses and ask her to come and clear our mains and offer us a dessert menu as we had been sat so long waiting. One of the staff did acknowledge our wait and took the drinks off our bill but even so it was not an acceptable wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samanthe_nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at Molinari's, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for posting this review.

Since we took over the running of the restaurant in October 2012, we've worked hard on ensuring the food is freshly made on the premises rather than frozen or "bought in". Whilst we are delighted that the general consensus on Tripadvisor is that the food is now "excellent", we have had to do more work to speed up service. Microwaved and "bought in" food is very quick to make and serve, our style of food is not.

We are continuing to work to get this right. We will be bringing in a new system of "pre-ordering" for parties of 10 or more, as this seems to be our last hurdle to overcome.

Hopefully, if you're prepared to give us another chance, you'll notice a major improvement.

Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molinari's also viewed

Slyne, Lancaster
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Slyne, Lancaster
Halton, Lancaster
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing