We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food as ever...just lacked a little atmosphere, has lost it somewhat”
Review of Molinari's - CLOSED

Molinari's
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Under new management since October 2012. Now owned and operated by Lancaster Brewery. Offering excellent quality, made to order Italian food with a Lancastrian twist. Our experienced brigade of chefs hand make a lovely array of fine dining, pizza and pasta options. The opposite of mass produced, microwaved Italian pretenders. This is great Italian food, made properly.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Visited there today, 13/11, with my 8 year old daughter. Was seated and served very quickly and attentively. Staff were very friendly and smiley.Pizza was delicious, and my daughters food was served really nicely on a wooden board, decent chunky chips in a snazzy container, much nicer than served just on a plate. Whilst the food and service was faultless, I have to be honest and say it doesnt have the same authentic, family oriented atmosphere as it had when the previous owners were in place.They always made us feel part of the restaurant "family" on each visit.So despite the lovely interior, greast food and faultless service, you cant install a heartfelt authentic Italian atmosphere, real shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at Molinari's, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thanks for writing your review.

We monitor our reviews very carefully and I'm delighted that you've tracked our progression over a lengthy period of time.

We did have a complete change in October and you visited our restaurant in it's early stages. Happily, a more recent review shows the progress since November.

We look forward to you visiting again and maintaining our standards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 197 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Tried a couple of pubs and possible restaurants before settling on Molinari's.

Initial reception not promising - wait time & asked to wait in bar area, but no offer of menus or drinks while waiting. Menu basic presentation - laminated double sided - little description of dishes - started to worry - completely wrong!

Table found within 10 minutes, order taken quickly and pleasantly. Wine we wanted not available but substitute offered at same price.

Food arrived in good time and was very good.

Mine Host excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank berealUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at Molinari's, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thanks for writing the review.

I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit in November. I am also pleased to say that we have removed all the laminated menus and now offer a completely new food and wine menu with a focus on more quality meals and pasta/pizza items.

I'd hope this would be much more to your liking, should you choose to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was a busy Saturday night and there were clearly a few big groups in but that didnt stop us getting excellent attention from the staff that night. We waited in the front bar area and enjoyed a draught Perroni beer while we chose from the large menu. We were sat to eat in the main area in the middle of it all and the atmosphere was warm and lively. The food was very fresh tasting and piping hot. The pizzas were amazing and all our topping variations had been done correctly. I was very impressed as were my friends. The bill was refreshingly affordable too. All round a great night. Definitely coming again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Condorman367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at Molinari's, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We're delighted you enjoyed your meal in November.

We look forward to seeing you again in 2013.


Thanks for writing the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

unfortunately the italian owners left 3 weeks ago. know is only english restaurant with italian menu' went last 2 weeks to try terrible 45 minutes to wait and than got starters ans mains in the same time. no more waiste time and money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ciro187464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at Molinari's, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

I'm sorry you don't regard our restaurant as "authentic". Our chef has over thirty years working in restaurants across Italy and insists on the best & fresh ingredients to create his dishes. Whilst the business is now operated by Lancaster Brewery, we believe the food, ambience and service has dramatically improved from earlier in the year.

Nevertheless, thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Knowing who the new owners are I expected something good. Sadly after 90 minutes we left having only had a starter. I can't remember what the food tasted like, the complete lack of service overshadowed it. After a quick drink order it was another half hour before our order was taken and only then because the girls went to the bar to complain. If we'd been told they were busy then that might have helped but we watched tables around us getting excellent prompt service and food. Very disappointed to be writing this when I know and like all the other brewery projects

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at Molinari's, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write the review.

I am very sorry you didn't get to try our food in a proper way during your recent visit. We have been become extremely popular since the change in management and we are working very hard to get every element of the restaurant perfect.

To date, we have made extensive changes to the decor, external lighting, seating, tables, bar, bar products, menu, kitchen and service staff. There are many more changes to come, with a new menu arriving this week. All these things are designed to make Molinari's a wonderful and special Italian restaurant.

As you noted in your review, the vast majority of our diners are getting "excellent service" and food. I would expect and hope that, if you're prepared to give us a second chance, you will also get a chance to experience it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molinari's also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing