We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Gosh Darned Moorish, I wanted more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moorish

Moorish
Ranked #30 of 240 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Takeout
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So Gosh Darned Moorish, I wanted more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Let's get a few things straight from the start.

1. Moorish is not the cheapest sandwich shop.
2. Moorish is not the fastest sandwich shop.
3. Moorish is the best sandwich in Lancaster.

I'm going to answer points one and two and qualify my statement of three for you now.

Moorish isn't cheap because they use a large range of ingredients, you get generous portions and the food itself is of very high quality, especially in the taste. They also have ingredients more suited to a deli such as sun dried tomatoes, a range of cheeses, a range of meats from around the world, all of superior quality.

Moorish isn't fast because your food is made fresh to order, cooked to order and presented in the manner you want.

What this means is that there are a range of basic standard sandwiches, and that range is impressive. You then add the type of bread, or 'go naked' like I often do and have a salad box. You then choose the manner of additional items and while your basic sandwich is prepared you choose from the varied salad bar and sauces to complement your final meal.

This takes time and it is time well spent.

I think i just qualified number three for you. It is slightly more expensive, from a wider choice, prepared freshly in front of you, with generous proportions to your specifications.

Best damned sandwich in Lancaster.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shadowcat_mdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dildo, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“brilliant butties”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

brilliant,superb,amazing,yep,and then some.why on earth go to subway when you can eat this guys food,same price,1000 times better quality,he smokes and cooks all his own meats,oven roasted peppers,onions,etc,his version of a 12inch sub roll is like something off the sopranos,in fact,try the tony soprano sub if you like,get in there and stuff your face,the bloke works damn hard and deserves every success.its so good my wife rings me up and tells me shes had the new york deli sub for lunch just to ruin my day,fortunately she does bring me one home occasionally,lol,you wont be sorry,although you might find yourself buying a size larger in clothes if you go too often.300 years ago he would have been made a saint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best sandwiches in lancashire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Without doubt the finest sandwiches in lancashire. The range of ingredients is immense ,the meats sublime and the salads so fresh. This place knocks Subway for six.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I have been here quite often and the food is always amazing. I have started to have salads recently and they are just as good as the sandwiches. My favourite place to grab a quick lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slocker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A tasty baguette for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We didn't know this place was here before finding it on Trip Advisor.

Without comparing it to a famous sandwich chain it undoubtedly has very similar traits to Subway. However the difference lies in the use of very fresh and tasty ingredients and the fact it is a local independent.

We had the Chicken, Bacon and Avocado baguette, which was reasonably priced for the amount of filling it had.The guy was very friendly and chatty, service with a smile!

We will definitely make a return visit and can recommend to anyone wanting a quick lunch in Lancaster!

Helpful?
Thank LovesGourmetFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moorish also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to Moorish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing