We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little find”

Sunbury Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 15 Coffee & Tea in Lancaster
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great little find”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Called in to have a coffee and cake in the afternoon in this lovely small coffee house.
Having been a customer from many years ago I was pleasantly surprised with the high standards of service and the welcome received from the staff.
Decided instead to have the "special tea of today" in a lovely china teapot with proper cup and saucer.Checked the special board and ordered Carrot,Lentil and Cumin soup with a warm bread bun and butter. Brilliant and so good on a cold day.My partner had Parsnip and Pine-nut soup also with the warm bun and butter.Service was very good and the attention to detail by the waiter was excellent.
The Carrot cake from the chiller was immense and too much for me at lunchtime so I choose the smaller slice of Flapjack.
The cost was very reasonable for the soup and the cake ,however the challenge of the large pot of tea we had to leave quarter full.
The main chain coffee houses could learn something from a visit to this establishment about customer satisfaction.
Just brilliant and we shall call each time we are in Lancaster.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 480Lachlan_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    18
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super Sunbury Blend”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A great little place to go in Lancaster. Having arrived early in Lancaster one morning and having dropped off my son for an interview at the university I decided to have a wander around the town. All of the other café's seemed to be chains but I popped down the alley and found this wonderful little place. The owners are a lovely couple who were just opening up. I couldn't have felt more welcome. I recommend the 'Sunbury Blend', extremely good coffee full of flavour and very reasonably priced, made even better by the quaint little coffee cups it was served in. I also had the delight of sampling the cooked breakfast. Perfectly cooked, and very noticeable that the food was sourced locally. If I am ever back in Lancaster another visit to this place would definitely be top of my list of things to do!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

food was great,you are seen to as soon as you sit down.nice place to have a meal and the coffee was very nice.we had a young lady called savanna serve us who was very polite & well mannered,will visit again soon

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kay1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Quality Coffee in a quality Cafe.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A little difficult to find but this is indeed the place for coffee in Lancaster. Set in a quiet corner just off the main square, it has the rich confidence of a quayside cafe in Canary Wharf. Once found, it is difficult to go anywhere else.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greasby
Level Contributor
139 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“best black pudding i have every tasted”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

went here for breakfast and what an experience great staff great owner and great food tucked away down a side street you need to seek it out you will not be disapointed i like black pudding but my wife is not a great lover but even she ate it it was that day we went with friends who are chefs and they thought it was great to so well done to you and keep up the standards

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carlmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunbury Coffee House also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to Sunbury Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing