We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break for two” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Weekend break for two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Pleasant, clean average Holiday Inn about 2 miles from town on a main road, just off the M6. Quick & easy check in. Room was large & airy with the usual coffee & tea making facilities, we were facing the main road but the noise was minimal. Large car parking facility. Clean looking Spa / pool although we didn't use it this time. Taxi into town approx £5 with a prompt pick up from the front of the hotel using the free phone at reception.
Breakfast the next morning was the Holiday Inns usual high standard offering more than most with very pleasant dining room staff.
All in all good quality low cost stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Fortchy

Many thanks for the great review. It's very gratifying to know we are getting it right. We hope to be able to welcome you back again next time you're in the area.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    374
    223
    96
    72
See reviews for
298
317
36
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend. We loved the fact the rooms were large enough for a family and had beds and not sofa beds for the children. We accessed the the lakes very easily.

The leisure facilities were clean and the children loved the pool. We found the staff polite and very helpful.

We had breakfast and found it to be ok, but some mornings we found items were not replenished once empty. Also my daughter was disappointed when the pancake machine was not working.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear happyholidays44

I am very sorry that the pancake machine wasn't working whilst you stayed with us. Although I appreciate this is no consolation to your daughter, it has now been fixed. However, I am pleased to see this didn't detract from the overall satisfaction of your stay and I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here a few times whilst looking for property in the area and I have to say the staff go above & beyond. Firstly the check in is hassle free and even though I turned up a few times a couple of hours early they tried to accomodate me as soon as possible , on a few times complimentary coffee was give.
The reception staff are extremley polite and effiecient there knowledge of the area is excellent. The interior is well looked after and always clean. The bar is well stocked with ample choice and reasonabably priced for a hotel if not the same as the local pubs. The restaurant is excellent and if you have small children they will go out there way to accomodate the fusiest of children. Seating for large parties 6+ can be a squeeze however a small wait and they will have the seating for you. Breakfast is excellent and the choice is bigger than expected. Well cooked food rather than the rush warm it up stuff you find in similar hotels and presented very well.
The hotel rooms are very spacious and roomy, they are equipped with Sat TV, Ipod connection in TV including PPV for films. Well stocked towels each day means you can survivie for a few days without room service. The rooms are clean and the room maids are always polite and smiley when passing.
The facilities of the gym, swimming pool & sauna Inc wet room are brilliant at most during a week stay I probably only saw 2-3 people in them. The pool is warm and very child friendly.
The car park is very well lit and even though your very close to the motorway the noise cancelling windows prevent excessive noise. Security is well and ample spaces for the biggest of vehicles too.
Overall this hotel is a must stay in the area, the prices of rooms are excellent for what you gain inside. They also accept Taste-Cards (big discount cards 25-50% off) too which makes tremendous savings when wanting some of the more expensive meals on the menu. Excellent stay again and looking forward to coming back again next month.

Room Tip: If you have small children request a room fridge as this is excellent for keeping milk and other tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Gavin James P

Thank you very much for the 5-star rating and your very detailed and thoughtful remarks are very much appreciated. I am delighted that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel itself was fine but what made our stay excellent was the friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff. After our visit, we accidentally left behind a beloved soft toy and due to living very far away, could not retrieve it. However, upon arriving home, we rang the hotel and asked if they could find it and look after it for a couple of days. Luckily we knew somebody in the area who could collect it after a couple of days. It is not often that you find staff so dedicated to helping it's guests that they send out e-mails informing the other staff of the missing toy and also ring back home to tell the family that they have found it. So if the hotel staff are reading this, thank you for looking after her and Sealia is very happy to be back at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Jenny B

I am so pleased we were able to reunite Sealia with her family, even though I believe she did have a nice time whilst she was staying with us! Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff - please be assured that they will see these. I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future and I and the team will look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

First visit to Lancaster and choose the Holiday Inn because it was easy to locate off the M6 and had everything I needed. The hotel service was impressive. The staff were polite and the check in was hassle free. The room was spotless and very comfy and warm.

Really good comfy bed and choice of 5 different types of pillows. Good TV service in room and choice of pay movies etc The shower was amazing and bathroom a very good standard. Food in bar was excellent, the sandwiches and sweet potato fries were delicious as was a salad my friend had which looked lovely. The waiter was polite and food was quick.

Huge car park also and 24 hour reception which is good as I wandered in at 4am after being out all night and didn't need to fight my way through a locked entrance or ring a bell as you do at some hotels.

I didn't get chance to use the pool but maybe next time! I would recommend this hotel and overall one of the best and cleanest hotels I've been in. I will be back next time i'm in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Steven B

Wow, what a fantastic review. It's great to hear you had a first class stay with us and I do hope you will be able to stay with us again in the future and make use of our pool, spa and gym facilities. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share your feedback with others.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. All requests were dealt with quickly and effectively.Our room was spacious, with a comfortable bed.

The health club was great. The gym was never overcrowded and had plenty of machines. I'd maybe suggest another rowing machine as there was only one which seems to be ok most of the time.

Enjoyed the breakfast buffet, plenty of choice. As a veggie I would have liked to have had seen a few more items available in the cooked breakfast, but plenty of other things so can't complain too much!

A minor negative was that I was hoping to make use of the Spa facilities during my stay but when I rang to make an appointment was informed that the Spa was only open on certain days, this wasn't made clear in the Spa brochure.

Overall, I nice hotel to stay in, the staff made it worth while. Short taxi drive from city centre, costs about £6 depending on traffic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Emma T

We think about our guests' needs all the time and are constantly reviewing and tweaking our facilities and services to make our guests' time with us even more enjoyable. That's why reviews like yours are so important to us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great hotel. Clean rooms, friendly staff, restaurant food was great(better than other holiday inns we've stayed in) and the spa was clean and well looked after. The only negative is -please stop small children using the jacuzzi-it's so dangerous. All staff we came across were professional and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 89MaryL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear 89MaryL

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much that you feel it's worthy of a revisit. I do hope it won't be too long, therefore, before we have a chance to welcome you back. Thank you for your lovely, positive comments - and for sharing these on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Property: Holiday Inn Lancaster
Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing