We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but no free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nice clean, modern hotel with good food and pleasant staff. Nice breakfast and the room was spacious, bright and comfortable with a large TV, fridge, iron and trouser press. The only thing that let's this place down is there is no free wifi, not even half an hour to check emails.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ralphco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Ralphco

Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel. I am delighted that you had a pleasant and satisfactory stay with us. Regarding wifi, this is free to all Platinum and Gold IHG Rewards members and will be free to all other members as from January.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent a night here with our baby. We phoned in advance to request a room close to the restaurant so our baby listener would reach, giving us the freedom to dine together: they were able to re-allocate our room despite being fully booked. We checked in at 2pm - the earliest possible check-in - and ask for a cot "immediately" as our baby needed a nap: a cot was set up within 5 minutes. I asked if we could switch rate from B&B to DB&B: not a problem! Finally, at check-out, we were 5th in line, with bags and baby... The kind lady behind the desk called us forward to the front of the queue and completed our check-out. All in all, thoughtful, responsive, excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed and Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Ed and Lindsey W

We do put customer service at the heart of everything we do so it's particularly pleasing to read your positive comments about the way you were treated by the staff. I am delighted we were able to accommodate all your needs and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

So where to start?

Pros:
Good location, close to the M6 on the way into Lancaster so good for the city or for a stop off from your journey.
Pleasant staff who were, on the whole, efficient.
Made myself a nice cup of tea in the morning - to warm myself up!

Cons:
Room was freezing cold - radiator behind curtains was a flaw but even without that problem it was not good and it wasn't even that cold outside! Heating went off overnight too so woke up to a cold room.
Shower head was absolutely filthy with mould - this made it spray all over the place and flooded the bathroom - and I mean flooded, took all the towels to mop up the water and this also made it's way under the door to the room!
Room service messed up my order and when the right meal was delivered it was luke warm. Obviously they had cooked it for me but brought someone elses so by the time it had been round the hotel a couple of times it was cold (didn't pay for this).
Carpet was filthy - tinsel, grit, bits of plastic (from clothing packing) and fluff. Not been vacuumed I don't think.
Small criticism - why put a bag in a waste bin but stretch it across the top like a drum? Lazy!

So there we are.

Would I stay again - no! I'm back in the area in about a month and have already booked elsewhere so even the loyalty points won't draw me back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon007Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Simon007Uk

I am very sorry to see that your experience has not been a wholly satisfactory one. Thank you for drawing these points to our attention - please be assured I will be speaking to the relevant departments to find out what went wrong and ensuring that systems are tightened up to ensure these oversights are not repeated.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A visit for a family and friends reunion to celebrate a golden wedding anniversary, held in the hotel Halton Suite. Thoughtful and attentive staff made this a good occasion with buffet provided and kindness to the happy couple. Rooms at the hotel very good, clean and with comfy beds. Bathroom very clean and well appointed. Restaurant and bar area fine, tables laid out to accommodate all size groups. Reception staff very efficient and helpful, especially when booking in many people with the same surname. Hotel is also doggy friendly which is a great help to take our pets with us on holiday or for a short break. Leisure facilities also available here.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms available for those who may need them
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurdeyofLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear PurdofLincoln

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Lancaster. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and really appreciate the positive feedback you have shared.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Spent two nights here as part of a coach weekend to the Blackpool Illuminations.

I am no stranger to IHG hotels as the points on my IHG Rewards Club card show!

This hotel was everything I expect from an IHG hotel from friendly check-in, the spacious room with comfy beds and clean bathrooms, excellent dinner on one night, and two equally good breakfasts, right through to my request to have the points for this stay added to my card, which I thought I was being a bit cheeky, but was assured that I wasn't!!

I visit Scotland once a year and will certainly mark this hotel for an ideal en-route stop-over.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear DaveJC

I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Lancaster and that we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you travel to Scotland. I do hope you enjoyed visiting Blackpool and seeing the Illuminations, which were lovely this year.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a planned stop between week 1 in Devon and week 2 in Cumbria. Having stopped at a few sights on the way up, we were quite tired and were so happy for the in-hotel restaurant! Good local selection and drinks, and friendly service. Well-appointed room and a quiet night's sleep. Loved the buffet breakfast: automatic pancakes! Never seen them before, but they were good. Easy on and off the motorway, and petrol nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Demar H

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of Holiday Inn Lancaster. I am delighted that you had a good time with us and hope we shall have he pleasure of seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Perfect place to stay for visiting Lancaster and the lakes. Just off god m6 has good facilities with the gym and pool very relaxing after a long day sight seeing. Food good like the Buffett breakfast. Only negatives are that you have to pay for the Internet if you want to take a dog there is a charge which is a shame because a lot of other places to stay don't charge for either but have stayed there 3 times now and do enjoy it.

Room Tip: All ok but the ones at the back over looking the river are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally13_8_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear sally13_8_10

Thank you for staying with us. I hope we shall have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
351 reviews
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
513 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: $77 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing