We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
dorset
Level Contributor
257 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have always been impressed by the high standard of the rooms. The food was not as good as it has been at other Holiday Inns, but this would not put us off booking again. There was also a spa and health club on site which we would have liked to take advantage of if we had more time. The hotel is very easily accessible from the motorway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrandgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear jrandgg

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Sincerely,
AngelaK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    374
    223
    96
    72
See reviews for
298
317
36
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Perfectly reasonable and satisfactory Holiday Inn hotel, where we stopped for a night on the way to the Lake District. Courteous receptionist, room and bathroom clean and up to standard. Breakfast satisfactory as expected. Didn't eat there in the evening, the menu looked not too exciting and just a bit pricey. (We went over the road to the Brewers Fayre for dinner, which was ... well, Brewers Fayre but entirely acceptable).
I got an e-mail after the stay inviting me to complete a survey, which I did but had I known how long it was, I would never have embarked on it. Also was invited to write a review by and for HI, with the stipulations that I should not mention any competitors or prices, which I thought somewhat limiting, hence this review on TripAdvisor instead.
Would we stay there again? Definitely if we were on the same route and needed a typical HI room for a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Martin W

Thank you for your feedback, and I am pleased that you had a satisfactory stay with us. May I also thank you for completing the online survey. This is a detailed report and the feedback we receive from it is invaluable in helping us continually improve our services and product.

Sincerely,
AngelaK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Lovely hotel, don't be put off by its position near the motorway...no traffic sound here. Lovely grounds behind and only five minutes in the car to city centre. Room comfortable and air conditioned, staff very friendly. However, the bar area does lack any imagination and comfortable seating so don't rely on that for an evening out.

Room Tip: Room at the back over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Tracy G

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to read your positive review and hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
AngelaK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have stayed numerous times and we always find it excellent Pool,sauna and well equipped gym Really friendly and helpful staff nothing is to much trouble Breakfast is always very good with plenty of choice, my only criticism is the menu in the evening ,although the food is excellent there is very limited choice especially if you are staying in excess of one night I would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the river it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wkb14waller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear wkb14waller

Thanks for recommending our hotel to others - we greatly appreciate you taking the time to do that. I am delighted you had another enjoyable stay and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
AngelaK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Living on the Isle of Man and travelling through the port of nearby Heysham, this is a very good overnight hotel. We have stayed here many times. Pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room to keep the kids happy. There's a fairly well equipped gym. A kiddies play area outside. They allow dogs (though I would NEVER allow mine to get into the bed! Whoever posted that picture, you should be ashamed of yourself). Yes, the bar and restaurant are over-priced, but that's hotels for you. If you want a cheaper option there is a pub over the road with an indoor kids play area. The staff are always friendly and helpful. It's very close to the M6, so a good overnighter if you have a long journey. We recently stayed here with our bikes for a cycling weekend. Many good cycle routes and you can put your bikes in a room on the ground floor for safe keeping. Book well in advance and get a good deal.

Room Tip: We travel with two kids. This hotel has VERY spacious corner rooms with two double beds. Request one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoxieandBaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear CoxieandBaggy

What a great review, thank you so much! We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
AngelaK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

It's always a struggle finding hotel accommodation for a family, this was great. A proper kingsize double bed and 2 proper size singles for the children. Great. More hotels should take note. My children never sleep well when sharing a pull out smaller than double sofa bed, so this was great. We all slept well.
Only negative was restaurant didn't open until 6.30pm which is late for children who go to bed at 7-7.30 and we didn't realise until too late there was a 2nd menu you could have at any time.
Breakfast was good and the kids loved the pancake machine. Kids eat free too, so all in all great for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Lisa K

Thank you very much for leaving feedback for others. It pleases me enormously that we met your expectations and I appreciate you recommending our hotel for other families.

Sincerely,
AngelaK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Good location for lancaster and right near moterway, Room was nice and clean although after seeing the pets in the photos I requested a non- pet freindy room as dog hair in my bed was is my thing.

Breakfast was one of the nicest I have had loads of chioce, Evening meal that is included in the price is average, Was not impressed that people were walking their pet past us while seated and eating are meal. Pool area good for kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alison k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear alison k

Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your stay. I am delighted with your positive comments about our clean rooms, convenient location and excellent breakfasts.

Sincerely,
AngelaK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Property: Holiday Inn Lancaster
Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing