We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Exeter
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Booked a 2 night stay via my RAC membership which gave me 2 nights for 1, £50 for two nights excellent value!

Excellent location just off m6 on the main road into lancaster and morecambe. Stayed over for a weekend watching the local footie (exeter v morecambe) and for a day in the lake district. 30 mins to the edge of the lakes!

Speedy checkin with all the info needed, we were sorting our own breakie so we only wanted to know about the health club which was given. Room was on 2nd floot, lovely and spacious, new widescreen tele, clean bathroom with a powerful hot shower, comfy bed plus extra seating, everything we needed. So much better than our previous Holiday inn room experience a Shepperton. Yes there are only a few tv channels, surely all the freeview channels are a bare minimum these days? Could hear a squeaky door (think bathroom) in a room either below or next to us which was a pain but apart from that a fantastic stay.

The health club was excelllent, clean and quiet, with helpful staff, the pool was perfect, sauna and steam ideal, and the jacuzzi, though on a timer we never really figured out, hot and bubbly.Didnt use restaurant so have no comment.

All in all I thoroughly reccomend this hotel and I will be passing it on to other family who often pay much more for lesser accomodation in the area!

Room Tip: River side is quieter, if RAC member use their 241 offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speedyflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear speedyflo

Thank you for your feedback; it's great to read we've got it right in terms of our facilities and services!

The Holiday Inn Lancaster does benefit from a great location, as you mention, and we are often used as a base to visit the city, coast and countryside of the Lakes, Yorkshire Dales and Forest of Bowland.

And what better way to unwind after a busy day than in our onsite leisure club as you did.

Please do stay with us again next time you're in the area - perhaps when Exeter City plays Morecambe next season and who knows, maybe you'll get another win!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    374
    223
    96
    72
See reviews for
298
317
36
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just spent two nights at Holiday Inn, Lancaster on their DB&B rate. It is excellent value, food good, rooms very spacious and immaculately clean, hotel staff provide excellent service and would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in a good hotel in the Lancaster area. Ampe parking and close to centre of Lancaster.

Room Tip: My only gripe is cost of Internet which is ridiculously priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Karen798

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. We are so very pleased that you had such an enjoyable time and your reference to our excellence in value and service is extremely satisfying as we do strive to make each and every guest's stay with us a happy and memorable one. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

On our way to Scotland we needed a quick and cheap stop over to break up the long drive. I found the Holiday Inn in Lancaster on LateRooms and booked a standard room without breakfast.

The staff at the desk were very friendly and the whole experience was painless. The room was good, clean and comfortable.

There were two drunk people at 3am trying to get into our room as they couldn't read the number clearly but this was quite amusing (you don't find many people this good tempered at 3am!) and not the hotels fault.

The black out blinds were great and the bed was comfy. Express check out meant that leaving was easy with no waiting at the desk to be seen.

Top Notch. People forget that a holiday inn isn't going to be the Ritz or The Savoy and should take it at face value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PradaShoes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear PradaShoes11

We endeavour to provide a high standard of accommodation at very reasonable rates resulting in excellent value for money. Thank you for choosing us and please come back again soon. Next time, do take the time to stay a little longer and enjoy our award-winning breakfast and relax and unwind in our Spirit health club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst visiting Lancaster. We were greeted by friendly staff and directed to our very spacious room with river view. The room was, as previous reviewers have indicated, slightly tired and corporate but it was comfortable and spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The leisure facilities were good and we made full use of them.

We didn't dine in the restaurant because after a lovely afternoon in Lancaster we spent too much time in the hotel’s leisure complex and by the time we'd got ready for dinner we were too late for the last walk in sitting. We'd decided against going into Lancaster because of the time (although it has a wonderful selection of restaurants and pubs) so we ventured across the road to the Brewers Fayre pub attached to the Premier Inn: big mistake! Don't do it folks....

My only criticism of the hotel would be that I like to sleep with an open window however there was some external noise probably from the motorway and more than likely from the hotel's machinery but this is a minor criticism and definitely wouldn't deter me from visiting again.

Breakfast was lovely, unhurried and plenty of choice and the staff were attentive and couldn't do enough for us, even to the point of bringing papers to out table from reception. A previous comment about the chef not being present must have been taken on board because the chef was constantly topping up and there to assist.

Lancaster is a lovely city with great shopping and lovely buildings with a good selection of restaurants and pubs and very friendly people, I’ll definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Hoods_Barnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear The_Hoods_Barnsley

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay in Lancaster and we really appreciate your lovely comments about the Holiday Inn. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again should you visit Lancaster again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

After staying at many Holiday Inns around the country this was very poor for service in the restaurant, I ordered a three course meal and pot of tea, after having my starter and main I had to remind the waitress about my tea, when she brought the tea she forgot the milk, ten minutes later after bringing the milk she realised I still didn't have a spoon, after finishing the Luke warm tea I decided to call it a night and informed the waitress that after one and a half hours and still not received my sweet I did not want it, not even an apology. Unfortunately no guidance for the staff. Not impressed with it at all.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Wayne H

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, in which I am most concerned to learn that you have experienced poor levels of service in our restaurant. Your experience is not typical and is certainly not to our usual standard so please accept my apologies. Please be assured your comments have been shared with the restaurant team. In the meantime, I understand that you have also raised your concerns with our Guest Relations team and we shall contact you dircectly to address the specific issues you have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, UK
Level Contributor
219 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel, the location from the motorway and ample free parking is helpful... Check-in was friendly, the room I was allocated was a good size and with a river view... It's true to say that the decor is a bit drab - although clean and not even tired looking, it could use a few photos or pictures on the walls... The heating was cranked up high, but the radiator could be switched off and windows opened!

Used the leisure facilities, which were a good standard... Didn't use the restaurant or take breakfast as there are other options in Lancaster city centre which is a short drive away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear pwelch

It's great to have comments from returning guests!

Our Spirit leisure club is very popular and guests can enjoy the swimming pool, spa, jacuzzi, steam room, gym or join in one of the many classes on offer. We also have table tennis available for hire.

It's a shame you didn't take advantage of our bar or restaurant during your stay; we have a good selection of food and beverages available and regularly offer promotions and meal deals, so please do enquire at Reception when you are next with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

It's what it is, a base

The hotel was good staff were friendly and value good, rooms were clean and well cleaned.

Tv in rooms was rubbish and I fund it hard to understand why, I don't have cable or satalitte yet I have 26 stations, guys go re tune your tv's

One thing very annoying is the charge for wi if, hello management we all know the cost of wi if, stop charging business rates at £5 per hour get real. I just WON'T use the service so you make SFA

Otherwise good hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JamesEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear JamesEastKilbride

With regard to wifi, our internet system was introduced into over 60 Holiday Inns last year following a review of the requirements of the guests that stay in our hotels. As a result, we have one of the fastest, most flexible and reliable high speed internet services. There are a range of chargeable packages to select, from a 1-hour internet charge to internet and movie bundles.

Apart from the wifi, I am pleased to see that you were satisfied with the hotel's other facilities and services and hope that, next time you visit Lancaster, you will stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Property: Holiday Inn Lancaster
Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing