We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Quick Stop Over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed February 15, 2013

On our way to Scotland we needed a quick and cheap stop over to break up the long drive. I found the Holiday Inn in Lancaster on LateRooms and booked a standard room without breakfast.

The staff at the desk were very friendly and the whole experience was painless. The room was good, clean and comfortable.

There were two drunk people at 3am trying to get into our room as they couldn't read the number clearly but this was quite amusing (you don't find many people this good tempered at 3am!) and not the hotels fault.

The black out blinds were great and the bed was comfy. Express check out meant that leaving was easy with no waiting at the desk to be seen.

Top Notch. People forget that a holiday inn isn't going to be the Ritz or The Savoy and should take it at face value!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PradaShoes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear PradaShoes11

We endeavour to provide a high standard of accommodation at very reasonable rates resulting in excellent value for money. Thank you for choosing us and please come back again soon. Next time, do take the time to stay a little longer and enjoy our award-winning breakfast and relax and unwind in our Spirit health club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst visiting Lancaster. We were greeted by friendly staff and directed to our very spacious room with river view. The room was, as previous reviewers have indicated, slightly tired and corporate but it was comfortable and spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The leisure facilities were good and we made full use of them.

We didn't dine in the restaurant because after a lovely afternoon in Lancaster we spent too much time in the hotel’s leisure complex and by the time we'd got ready for dinner we were too late for the last walk in sitting. We'd decided against going into Lancaster because of the time (although it has a wonderful selection of restaurants and pubs) so we ventured across the road to the Brewers Fayre pub attached to the Premier Inn: big mistake! Don't do it folks....

My only criticism of the hotel would be that I like to sleep with an open window however there was some external noise probably from the motorway and more than likely from the hotel's machinery but this is a minor criticism and definitely wouldn't deter me from visiting again.

Breakfast was lovely, unhurried and plenty of choice and the staff were attentive and couldn't do enough for us, even to the point of bringing papers to out table from reception. A previous comment about the chef not being present must have been taken on board because the chef was constantly topping up and there to assist.

Lancaster is a lovely city with great shopping and lovely buildings with a good selection of restaurants and pubs and very friendly people, I’ll definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Hoods_Barnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear The_Hoods_Barnsley

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay in Lancaster and we really appreciate your lovely comments about the Holiday Inn. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again should you visit Lancaster again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

After staying at many Holiday Inns around the country this was very poor for service in the restaurant, I ordered a three course meal and pot of tea, after having my starter and main I had to remind the waitress about my tea, when she brought the tea she forgot the milk, ten minutes later after bringing the milk she realised I still didn't have a spoon, after finishing the Luke warm tea I decided to call it a night and informed the waitress that after one and a half hours and still not received my sweet I did not want it, not even an apology. Unfortunately no guidance for the staff. Not impressed with it at all.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Wayne H

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, in which I am most concerned to learn that you have experienced poor levels of service in our restaurant. Your experience is not typical and is certainly not to our usual standard so please accept my apologies. Please be assured your comments have been shared with the restaurant team. In the meantime, I understand that you have also raised your concerns with our Guest Relations team and we shall contact you dircectly to address the specific issues you have experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel, the location from the motorway and ample free parking is helpful... Check-in was friendly, the room I was allocated was a good size and with a river view... It's true to say that the decor is a bit drab - although clean and not even tired looking, it could use a few photos or pictures on the walls... The heating was cranked up high, but the radiator could be switched off and windows opened!

Used the leisure facilities, which were a good standard... Didn't use the restaurant or take breakfast as there are other options in Lancaster city centre which is a short drive away!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear pwelch

It's great to have comments from returning guests!

Our Spirit leisure club is very popular and guests can enjoy the swimming pool, spa, jacuzzi, steam room, gym or join in one of the many classes on offer. We also have table tennis available for hire.

It's a shame you didn't take advantage of our bar or restaurant during your stay; we have a good selection of food and beverages available and regularly offer promotions and meal deals, so please do enquire at Reception when you are next with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

It's what it is, a base

The hotel was good staff were friendly and value good, rooms were clean and well cleaned.

Tv in rooms was rubbish and I fund it hard to understand why, I don't have cable or satalitte yet I have 26 stations, guys go re tune your tv's

One thing very annoying is the charge for wi if, hello management we all know the cost of wi if, stop charging business rates at £5 per hour get real. I just WON'T use the service so you make SFA

Otherwise good hotel

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JamesEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear JamesEastKilbride

With regard to wifi, our internet system was introduced into over 60 Holiday Inns last year following a review of the requirements of the guests that stay in our hotels. As a result, we have one of the fastest, most flexible and reliable high speed internet services. There are a range of chargeable packages to select, from a 1-hour internet charge to internet and movie bundles.

Apart from the wifi, I am pleased to see that you were satisfied with the hotel's other facilities and services and hope that, next time you visit Lancaster, you will stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Large room facing very busy road but could not hear any road noise, also very clean. Shower over bath but not a lot of water pressure with shower. Most staff are very friendly. Food very good (esp the chilli) and good selection for breakfast. Gym facilities seemed very popular with locals but young man at desk not very helpful!
Handy, clean hotel with one major downfall....highly inflated charges for wi-fi with no free wi-fi in public areas.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Avril S

I am very sorry to learn that your otherwise positive experience in our hotel was tarnished by the charges for internet services. I am also surprised that you felt that the performance of one of our Spirit Club employees was unhelpful as they are usually praised for their service. However, I will ensure that your comments are shared with the team and thank you for taking the time to write your review. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We visited this hotel in February for a weekend away and overall had a good experience. The location is convenient for the motorway (M6) and is conveniently situated if you want to take a 30 minute drive to the Lakes. Lancaster city centre is a few miles away and you would have to drive to get there, so not what you're looking for if you need a city centre hotel.

Our room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. The temperature of the room was good and the air conditioning worked AND there was a window you could open. This lead to a good night's sleep- I only wish all HI hotels had the same (functioning air con and openable windows).

I visited the gym twice during our stay and was pleased with the choice of machines and facilities there. The pool looked pretty good but I did not go in myself.

Breakfast (which we only had on one of the days) was passable. The food was fine (though hardly amazing) but we were disappointed to see that many of the bowls were dirty (looked like residue from the washing machine). We pointed this out and the staff did clear them away and replace them. Also, we were slightly disappointed with the service on the hot food section when compared to other HI hotels we've stayed at recently. They tend to have a chef standing behind the counter who greets you, monitors what is out and offers to cook eggs (e.g. poached) if you want them. This was not the case here where during our 30 minutes there we saw no-one.

Overall a good hotel with a convenient location for onward travel.

Room Tip: We went for the 2 double beds option and the room was very large and capable of holding 4.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbro1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Jbro1979

Many of our guests agree with you that the hotel is excellently located. Although we are not based in the heart of the city, we are located within easy walking distance of the centre. If you do stay with us again, I would highly recommend you take advantage of the dedicated footpath which runs alongside the river Lune and can be accesed from the hotel grounds. It affords you beautiful views of the river, picturesque canal aqueduct and the historic castle and quayside.

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding breakfast service; we appreciate all feedback as this helps us to improve our products and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
351 reviews
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
513 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: $77 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing