We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good facilities, out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good facilities, out of town”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed in a few of Lancaster's hotels and find this one to offer good value if you take advantage of the facilities, eg pool. If you don't have a car it's not terribly convenient, but if you do there's plenty of parking and it's right on the cycle track so if you have a bike with you, you can cycle into town along the river in no time. There are buses into town throughout the day but nothing back at night, although a taxi is under a fiver from the centre.
The 'Cottam's Fields' pub over the road offers cheap pub food and surprisingly good value breakfasts if you don't want to eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear MDL11

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I do hope that next time you stay with us you take advantage of our restaurant and bar. Our restaurant serves a blend of modern and classic British dishes along with a selection of international favourites and specials and there are regular food and drink promotions. The bar offers a tasty selection of meals and snacks in addition to a full range of chilled beers, wine and spirits and teas and coffees. And don't forget to start your day with a hearty full English or continental breakfast from our breakfast buffet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    381
    225
    97
    72
See reviews for
306
323
36
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent hotel.
Pros - great location
clean and comfortable
great staff
plenty of free parking
great gym
great swimming pool

Cons - wi fi broadband is far too expensive, should be free.
Bath was a bit on the small side.

Room Tip: we had a room at the back which overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keekeeowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Wadjap

All feedback is important to ensure that we can identify the areas for improvement. We are, however, delighted with your very positive comments about our location and the facilities we offer here at Holiday Inn Lancaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night as I needed to be in Heysham. My room was very clean and quite big although on the ground floor. The bathroom spotless with all normal stuff like soaps. shampoos etc. Had a bar meal with was quick to arrive and good - price good too. Staff were very helpful, polite and courteous. There is ample parking and the hotel is situated on the main road through to Lancaster town centre so easily accessible from the M6. Overall a good hotel, well priced and did the job!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Pippy66

Thank you very much for your positive feedback - it's great to hear of your satisfaction with our product and services. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Being just off the M6 this hotel is a good place to stay for the North West of England and especially the Lakes. Lancaster city centre is only a few minutes drive and has plenty of interesting things to do.
The only down side was that the room service meal seemed to have been waiting in the kitchen a while making it nearer tepid than hot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Examiner2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Examiner2010

I am disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction with your room service during your stay. Please be assured that all feedback is reviewed to ensure we constantly improve so I thank you for sharing this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 5th & 6th Jan this year, we traveled down from Newcastle soley to take our son to the South Lakes Wild Animal Park so we were only staying the Sat 5th until we enjoye our first night so much, we decided to stay another!! Rates were very competitive, the hotel was lovely and quiet and the staff all very friendly!! Only small grip was food on room service. This didn't spoil our stay though. Lovely stay thanks guys!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happylassy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Happylassy17

I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent short break with us. We appreciate your comments as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is welcoming and staff try hard to help but needs some work to bring it up to date and improve its standards.
One of the few places these days that charges for wifi. This surprises me as even M & S cafe offers wifi these days.
The bathroom was fitted out for disabled people apart from the lack of a walk in shower. The shower over the bath was inadequate for disabled people.
Had a problem with the lighting as the room was quite large. Plenty of seating and space but the standard lamp was not working. A very young and helpful maintenance man sorted out a makeshift fitting which did for the evening. It would have to be removed next day for safety reasons. Only hope they fixed it for the next people.
The room was very hot and we could not find any way to reduce it apart from opening windows, quite uncomfortable.
My wife complained about the positioning of lighting and electric plugs for making up, which is very important for the ladies.
The breakfast was adequate but pay for it when booking in as it is much more expensive in the dining room at breakfast time.
Plenty of parking for the overnight stay but if disabled try and book a space in advance as it can be quite a hike from the far end of the car-park

Room Tip: Before accepting a room, check out the lighting and other facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superbadrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Superbadrun

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and for this reason your comments about the room you stayed in were disappointing and we immediately reviewed the heating and lighting facilities in the room. Whilst we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance in the future to show how great our hotel can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great location, just off the motorway. We stayed here as two adults and a teenager, as we had an early start at Salt Ayre Leisure Centre.

The room was perfectly adequate for our visit with a sofa bed for our son. We had originally booked breakfast, but as it did not start until 7.30am and we needed to be at the pool for 7.30am it was a bit of a problem. They quickly and easily took it off the rate for us, and we were able to order beans on toast with Hot Chocolate for our son at 6.45am under their 24 hour room service menu. It arrived on time and was still hot.

The bar area was typical for a hotel, perfectly pleasant but lacking in atmosphere. Prices were average, service from the bar excellent, could not rate highly enough.

We had a couple of drinks and snacks in the bar, cheesecake was lovely, donuts good with the warm custard. Husband enjoyed a sausage batch.

We did not use the health club facilities but would do if we come again, and would maybe make an effort to arrive earlier.

This was a good hotel with superb service, would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK_HILancs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Duncan0808

Thanks for sharing your review and thank you for the positive content. Particularly pleasing is that you were satisfied with the way the staff dealt with your breakfast requirements during your stay and the good service you enjoyed from the staff overall. Hopefully, next time, you will be able to experience the Spirit Health Club: the swimming pool, spa, Jacuzzi, steam room, gym or join in one of the many classes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
5.0 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Property: Holiday Inn Lancaster
Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing