We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst holiday inn I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worst holiday inn I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

If you can find an option. Use it.

Old ,smelly, most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. Staff just doing a job. No extra After three nights we were offered 500 points returned to our account and the automatically added tips to the food bills taken off.

1. thank goodness it was a points stay for the three nights If id spend money on it I would be very bitter
2. thank goodness we were only using it as a base for a motorcycle trip around the lake district

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yachtprojectsphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Yachtprojectsphil,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Lancaster, England.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    401
    236
    99
    77
See reviews for
321
335
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Good location for The Lake District and Lancaster city centre, near a river. Great pool and gym. Easy walk into city centre where you can find many historic sites. Good shopping spot. Nice restaurant but there is a pub near by as well.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've stayed at the hotel fairly regularly over the last couple of years and standards have been slipping with each visit. My most recent visit, last night, may be the straw that breaks the camels back and I will be very unlikely to stay here again despite being a platinum priority club member.

Room had clumps of hair all over the floor and bath. Bed throws, chairs and even coffee cups were stained and visibly unclean. Doesn't look like there are any form of cleaning controls in place.
This particular room was had a window overlooking the hotels air-conditioning unit - which is rather ironic as the rooms don't offer a/c. The noise went off long enough at about 00.20 to allow me to get to sleep only to be woken again at about 06.30 with the noise again. And that is with the window closed!

Complained about the noise on check out only to be told - "ah that will be the a/c unit. Next time, hehe if there is a next time, just phone us up before you arrive and we will try not to place you there." Good to see a nice caring attitude from the staff.

Appears loyalty means nothing to this lot so I for one will be staying elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfox78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Redfox78,

Thank you for being a Platinum Priority Club Member and for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

Isle Of Man
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I arrived at 11.40 pm having told the hotel that we would be a late arrival as we were travelling by ferry from isle of Man and could not get there any earlier. On arrival we were told that there was no room for us and could not give any good reason for this! The executive room had been paid for weeks in advance!
As there was no room at any hotel near by we were transported to 'truck haven' 8 miles up the motorway, just what you need at midnight! We slept in a noisy, small but clean bedroom. The Holiday Inn sent a taxi for us to get back to pick our vehicle up the next morning and apologised. They paid for our accommodation and refunded the money for the room they didn't have and sent a letter to apologise and hoped that we would book with them again! I don't think so ... Do you?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for 1 night while visiting family. Room was at the far ens if the building and we had a loud low pitched humming soind throughout the night. What made it worse was the intermitent pauses so we couldnt even get used to the sound. It was also kuch warmer than an average room but air only added to the noise. Transpired we were next to the buildings air con engine room! Shower was filthy to top it off and when we complained to reception they gave a half hearted apology and claimed there was nothing near that room!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveroseknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear daveroseknows,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the noise during your stay and the poor service from housekeeping. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A convenient location, lots of parking, leisure facilities and executive rooms a generous size, but bearing in mind we stayed 4 nights quite an impersonal experience. Rather irritating to have our kids with a linking room...but not to our room!
I didn't think the housekeeping was so great although it was busy when we stayed and the loo had a rather pathetic flush :-)
We did not eat here due to other reviews on this site and because Lancaster has lovely places to eat! I have to say we thought food prices in Holiday Inn were gobsmackingly high! Around £11 for a burger meal and you pay extra for toppings. We ate breakfat out for what I suspect was a quarter of the price of the hotel.
This is not a hotel to aviod in any way, but it doesn't wow.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back look over the river rather than the car park. Executive rooms are nice and spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Gill M,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am pleased you found our location convenient. I am sorry you did not find our restaurant prices to your liking. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Thank you also for bringing the toilet flush to our attention as this will be looked into and forwarded to the appropriate department. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCarece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

On the positive side: good location near the m6, staff were helpful and friendly, room was very clean, decent facilities, good prices for the room, the room was quiet despite the large number of people / families staying.
On the negative side: the bed was desperately uncomfortable, the bar over priced, although if you join the priority club you get 20% off, there was insufficient loo roll in the room, but the staff sorted that out.
The breakfast was ok, like the previous review said go a little later, it is fresher.
If you stay here remember what you pay. You get what you pay for and all in it's friendly and not too bad for a short stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear PhilSE,

First of all, thank you very much for being a Priority Club Member and for your recent stay and for leaving a feedback. We are pleased you liked our location, clean rooms and our helpful staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations and competitive rates within the area. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with the bed and the cost of things at the bar of the hotel. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,343 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
511 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Property: Holiday Inn Lancaster
Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing