We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food in a Nice Restaurant Bar”

The Sun Hotel & Bar (Dining)
Ranked #17 of 231 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Sun Hotel & Bar’s situated in a 300-year-old building that showcases a large majority of its original features, giving the establishment an extraordinary unique feel. The guest bedrooms, often booked up weeks in advance, uphold our standard of quality, offering comfort, quiet and luxury - something highly valued by visitors. Our pub hosts only the finest food, offered with table service for both diners and drinkers. The menu has been crafted with thought and care, showcasing a great selection of food for all types of taste buds. The drinks menu is a staple of our bar, with a large range of cask beers and gins we’re sure you’ll love. Most evenings, we offer restaurant-style service using our unique table card system enabling you to call your server!
Reviewed May 20, 2019

Not a huge menu but has a nice selection to choose from.

The wife and I chose one of their 18 quid platters which was plenty big enough for us and tasty. Kids were happy with their selections also.

Restaurant bar is very nice and plenty of space even though it was busy when we stayed at the hotel.

Recommend it to you.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank BredburyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 366 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2019

Came here for lunch Easter Sunday, didn't book, it was quiet. Sat in the sun in the beer garden and enjoyed great food. Plenty of vegetarian and vegan options, I had the butternut squash linguine it was actually amazing, great portion size and presentation. My partner enjoyed a buttermilk chicken sandwich, also great. We shared a size of bread with oil & balsamic, was lovely fresh bread, and warm, also a great size portion for the price. Service was great and friendly, we were well looked after. Would definitely recommend as one of the nicer places to eat and drink in Lancaster.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 254catieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel & Bar (Dining), responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Hi Catie,

We're delighted you enjoyed the food at our pub and got a chance to eat it in our beer garden on a sunny day!

Thank you for the brilliant review and rating, and hope to feed you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

This is one of my favourite places in Lancaster. It’s so chilled; a pub atmosphere where you can sit and not be bothered by anyone but with restaurant quality food. The staff couldn’t be friendlier if they tried and I find a new drink to try on the bar every time. Keep doing what you’re doing guys - well done!

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank tiddles1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel & Bar (Dining), responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Hi Tiddles,

Thank you for your kind words and brilliant review rating. We're so delighted to hear you enjoy the atmosphere, food and variety of drinks!

We'll be sure to pass your lovely remarks onto the whole team and look forward to serving you again soon - warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019

No table service. No service to mention. Starter of Pigs in Blankets fine - good value to share. However, main course of Pork Belly and 24 hour Beef very disappointing - both appeared pre-prepared elsewhere and simply reheated on site - very little flavour. Beef tough - certainly not fall-apart tender. Pork huge amount of uncrisped fat and overdone meat. When we mentioned this to staff when they asked how the food was they said they'd mention to the management. They came back with an offer of coffee or sweet on the house - both declined. A real disappointment as this pub offers some different dishes to the run of the mill offered elsewhere and the prices are reflected - a pity it was below average. We won't be back.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel & Bar (Dining), responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Hi Tina,

We stick to our pub roots and offer an informal and relaxed setting for our customers to drink and dine in. We invite everyone to turn up as they please, take a table as they wish and order at the bar whenever they are ready. We don’t believe in bothering customers unnecessarily to sell more drinks or food.

We do recognise that some people look for restaurant style service so we offer our unique table card system most evenings allowing people to relax even further and “call” a member of staff to their table using the card. After receiving your feedback we have revisited our TripAdvisor listing and ensured the information is clearer in its description of our offered service.

Hopefully, you’ll visit again soon, perhaps in the evening to make use of the table card service. We’d ask you to let us know about the food the second you're not happy, giving us some time to offer an appropriate solution.

Thanks again, Tina!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

Arranged to meet my Mum here for lunch lsat Friday, when I arrived my Mum was already there and the first thing she said was "the bar staff have made me feel very uncomfortable", they were indeed rather unfriendly and lacking in many of the normal manners associated with good customer service. The beer was good, the setting great, the food to a rather long time to arrive and not exactly the hottest. Will arrange a different meeting place next time.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dasher1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel & Bar (Dining), responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Hi Dasher,

We're so sorry to hear you and your mother did not enjoy your visit and that the food came to you at a sub-optimal temperature.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we're glad you enjoyed both the beer and the setting of our restaurant.

We hope you come to visit us again in the future so we can alleviate any barriers from your last visit.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun Hotel & Bar (Dining) also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to The Sun Hotel & Bar (Dining)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing