We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mill at Conder Green
Ranked #3 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed for 1 night when travelling south and loved it. Beautiful picturesque surroundings in the country. The hotel is used also by the locals for eating and the food is fantastic. Bedroom we had was really big with an ensuite bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities. Cannot fault it in any way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    150
    45
    18
    11
See reviews for
118
291
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Staff unfriendly. . Mattress was old and lumpy in room 105. Stains on the toilet. Not made to feel very welcome. So tired the day after stay as no sleep. Bed sheet didn't fit. Room to hot and duvet cover did not fit the duvet. Would not visit again... feel like we have wasted our money...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljporter2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for a one night get away, lovely building nice rooms, mix of traditional and boutique style. Good breakfast with table service. Only comment is that the room was very hot even with the window open (we stayed end of August), a fan in the room would have been very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanstockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Deano64,

Thanks for your good feedback. It was unseasonally hot during August (how we miss that now!!), but please do ask if you need anything, as we did have some spare fans for guests to use. Lets hope next summer is just as reliable!!

Many thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I find it quite interesting that most of the patons who have a meal at The
Mill enjoy the cuisine as I do.

I've always found that if there is nearby competition, ie The Stork at Conder Green or The Pear Tree Cafe at Ashton Hall. That the restaurant that I'm visiting will go that extra mile, The Mill at Conder Green does that in spades.

From other reviewers you can see that the cuisine is well prepared and the staff are very accommodating.

Conder Green is a wonderful place for walking or cycling Glasson Dock is only a couple of miles away and the old Glasson Dock to Lancaster
railway line is now used as a cycle track, with fantastic views of the Coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi francis m,

Thanks for your kind comments. we do try our best to look after each guest in a personal manner and will always help whenever we can. Also I agree, the old railway line makes a stunning walk or cycle route taking in the estuary, and you can often spot teams of migrating seabirds!

Thanks once more, and we hope to look after you on your next visit. to the Mill

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Been here before and had a very nice bar snack,alas we found it on our last day of a holiday.we came back to the area 2 years later and decided to have sunday lunch there.WOW what a lunch,shrimp,roast beef,caramelised custard,obviously not on the same plate!very good value for money and staff were very attentive even though it was pretty busy.Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Postred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Postred1,

Thanks for returning to the Mill. It's always great to welcome back past guests!!

And thanks for such positive comments, please do call again next time you're in the area.

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Mill at Conder Green. I wanted somewhere quiet and pastoral, and this definitely fit the bill. The towpath was great for walking and jogging, the food was delicious, and the service was excellent. I managed to get around without a car (taxi was 10 pounds from the city center, and there's an infrequent bus), but it would be much easier with one. I would definitely recommend the Mill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi JCidell,

Great compliment, we've never been described as pastoral before, but that is indeed an apt description of our Hotel and its relaxing countryside surroundings.

Thanks again, It was great to look after you, do call in again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

When visiting Lancaster previously I've been surprised by the difficulty of finding a good, comfortable room for the night with facilities for work at a reasonable price. The mill at confer green is just the sort of place I've been looking for.

The room was clean and well appointed, free wi-fi was good and the restaurant provided a decent meal.

The location is peaceful and would be ideal for walking. For me access to the south side of Lancaster and Lancaster university proved so much easier than getting into and out of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi PAUL H,

Thanks for staying at the Mill. It does make the perfect base for getting to and from Lancaster University and bypasses Lancaster City centre.

In fact,we now receive many guests who are needing a base close the University, so hopefully our reputation is spreading, and it helps that our facilities are perfect for the modern traveller (ample free car-parking, free wifi, home-cooked Lancashire food, and quite, peacefully surroundings)

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
1.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,341 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
1,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
511 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
4.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Conder Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Conder Green

Property: The Mill at Conder Green
Address: Thurnham Mill Lane, Lancaster LA2 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill at Conder Green 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill at Conder Green is a charming canal-side, Hotel, Bar and Restaurant located just 4 miles from the historic city of Lancaster and 3 miles from the M6 motorway. We offer clean, comfortable en-suite accommodation with breath-taking canal views overlooking miles of open countryside. Discover a relaxing atmosphere and a dedicated team here to ensure your stay is a pleasant one! Our prime location by the picturesque Lancaster canal is close to the charming fishing village of Glasson Dock and spectacular scenery of the Forest of Bowland. The Mill at Conder Green is ideally situated for walking, cycling, wildlife watching and activity breaks. Our country setting is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful get-away from modern life. We are well positioned for anyone traveling to Lancaster, Preston, Blackpool and the surrounding areas including the Lake District. We are also a popular stay-over for travelers from Scotland wishing to break up their journey. With complimentary WiFi throughout and just 4 miles from Lancaster university, Lancaster hospital and the city centre itself we are perfect for a business trip with a difference. Just a short drive after a long day at work and you will find yourself enjoying your evening by the canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mill at Conder Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing