We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic , definitely worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mill at Conder Green
Ranked #3 of 25 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
BLACKPOOL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic , definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Have just had a one nite stay after visiting there sister hotel for lunch last wk at the shard inn (which was also fantastic food n surroundings) there's nothing that I could fault the hotel or restaurant on, rooms were of a exceptional high standard looked lovely and immaculately clean, we were over look canal which was great too, food was fantastic everything was freshly cooked n wel presented and prices were reasonable too , breakfast was equally as nice will defo b returning , prices for room were great too obviously cheaper cos of it bein winter and to b honest was expecting the price to b dearer anyway so nice suprise wen we paid our bill, this place is a MUST for stay over or even just food shudnt b missed a real LITTLE GEM

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOMBSHELL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi BOMBSHELL34,

I remember meeting you both at our sister hotel and suggestion the Mill to you. I'm glad you did venture over and enjoyed your canal-side stay.

Do visit again soon, by then the weather should be in spring/summer mode!!

Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    143
    40
    16
    10
See reviews for
113
277
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely setting - fab food, breakfasts are very tasty - perfect for dogs, loads of walks on the doorstep, always pleasant staff
booked to stay again already.
Recommend the family room 5 if you need space for kids or dogs.

Room Tip: great views from no.5 - double and 2 singles family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Bryan U,

Thanks for visiting us here at the Mill. We look forward to your next visit you have booked. There are plenty of walks to explore right on our doorstep and even more just near by. If you want any suggestions please just ask!

Thanks
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunipace, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

a very short way off the beaten track sits this lGordonovely hotel, on the banks of the Lancaster canal, by a lock gate. One can sit in the dining room watching the swans and ducks, while you enjoy a delicious meal chosen from an imaginative and varied, but sufficiently short menu (thus ensuring excellent quality). The staff are both friendly and efficient, the rooms both comfortable and clean. Just great for both a 'stop off' while travelling on, or for a longer break to vist the surrounding area.
Gordon n Cathy B

Room Tip: look for a room overlooking the canal......but remember....there is the noise of the water running o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Gordon B,

Great you found us and thanks for your review. I agree, its very relaxing sitting and watch the swans and wildlife during dinner. Thanks for stopping by, we are receiving and ever increasing number of travellers from Scotland, using us as a stop off on their journey south.

Safe travelling,
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

As soon as you walk in, you are made to feel very welcome by all of the staff. Clean, contemporary rooms with lovely views. Situated on the canal path, one mile from Glasson Dock. Very dog friendly, with an enclosed dog run and plenty of walks on the doorstep. The food was excellent and very good value.
This hotel was a real gem of a find. We wish we had found it in our daughter's first year at university and not her final, but we will definitely return. Only a few minutes drive from Lancaster university and much nicer than the local chain hotels.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Dawn W,

It was great to have you visit. You and your dogs are always welcome, so do call again now know we are here. In fact, we have recently been awarded 'pet friendly' hotel of the year by third party booking website (LR's).

See you again sometime!
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is in a very rural and peaceful setting so this was ideal for a relaxing break. A very warm welcome awaited us and all the staff during our stay well friendly and eager to help where possible. The rooms are very clean and modern with ample space for my partner and i, plus Baby Max! We purchased the winter offer which was £170 for 2 nights plus B&B and dinner which was excellent value. Dining next to the river watching the swans in the moring sun on Saturday was a perfect way to start the day. The Food is fresh, very good quality and the portions are very generous - not always the case on an offer. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxing break with good food at resonable prices.
Look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Mark B,

Thanks for recommending us to family and friends. It's always nice to hear guest are made to feel so very welcome at our hotel. This is one thing Lizzy our GM and her team excel at and do so naturally.

Hope to you all and baby Max again,
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Execellent hotel with very friendly helpful staff, hotel is exceptionally clean and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was good value. Have stayed all over the world and this is first time I have ever felt moved to write feedback. Wish they had more than two hotels.

Room Tip: View of canel is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsC186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi MrsC186334,

Great to hear your visit to the Mill compelled you to write in. Very kinds words, so a big thanks for that. Do visit us again, and you'll be pleased to know we do have another sister hotel (please visit the link on our website). This too also boats a relaxing, waterside setting!

Thanks
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We fancied a change of scenery so we booked this hotel last minute. It wasn't far from home, 45 minutes at most, but we really felt like we'd gone somewhere special. It cost is less than £50 and we had a wonderful evening in a cosy modern room, with a very comfortable and sizeable bed for a hotel! We requested a bath as we only have a shower at home so it's nice to unwind, and the staff were very accommodating. Breakfast was included and was of an excellent standard. We really felt like we had got a really good deal and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttercup1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Buttercup1990,

Thanks, I'm pleased you enjoyed your break from home at our great valued hotel. It is a lovely, relaxing spot here at the Mill, yet only minutes from Lancaster and just over 1/2 hr to the Lake District!

Until next time,
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
1.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
3.8 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Conder Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Conder Green

Property: The Mill at Conder Green
Address: Thurnham Mill Lane, Lancaster LA2 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill at Conder Green 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill at Conder Green is a charming canal-side, Hotel, Bar and Restaurant located just 4 miles from the historic city of Lancaster and 3 miles from the M6 motorway. We offer clean, comfortable en-suite accommodation with breath-taking canal views overlooking miles of open countryside. Discover a relaxing atmosphere and a dedicated team here to ensure your stay is a pleasant one! Our prime location by the picturesque Lancaster canal is close to the charming fishing village of Glasson Dock and spectacular scenery of the Forest of Bowland. The Mill at Conder Green is ideally situated for walking, cycling, wildlife watching and activity breaks. Our country setting is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful get-away from modern life. We are well positioned for anyone traveling to Lancaster, Preston, Blackpool and the surrounding areas including the Lake District. We are also a popular stay-over for travelers from Scotland wishing to break up their journey. With complimentary WiFi throughout and just 4 miles from Lancaster university, Lancaster hospital and the city centre itself we are perfect for a business trip with a difference. Just a short drive after a long day at work and you will find yourself enjoying your evening by the canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Mill at Conder Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing