We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mill at Conder Green

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mill at Conder Green
Ranked #2 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is lovely, clean and fresh looking with an amazing setting beside the Lancaster Canal. Brilliant breakfast eaten whilst watching the swans on the canal. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: Handy stopover for travellers from Scotland on the M6
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Sheena13,

Thanks for your shot yet positive review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time at the Mill and enjoyed Swan watching at breakfast. We feed the swans most morning, so now they are getting quite tame and friendly.

Thanks
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    140
    40
    15
    10
See reviews for
111
276
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We only stayed one night but it was very good and very reasonably priced. The room was spacious and clean and the breakfast excellent with a great view from the breakfast room window. The weather was very cold but our room was warm and cosy. We didn't hear any noise from other rooms even though they were occupied.
Didn't have dinner but the menu looked interesting.
A lovely place to stay just outside the hustle of Lancaster.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Sue T,

Glad you enjoyed our countryside hotel just outside the busy Lancaster. Do call in again sometime, we launch a new spring/summer menu in April so you may want to give it a try.

Thanks
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I should say, we were visiting a friend in Lancaster and she booked this lovely hotel on our behalf. I think she wanted us to enjoy the countryside. The hotel is situated next to a beautiful canal and is as peaceful and calm a location as you can imagine. I guess the only downside is that the drive to Lancaster felt quite long. The road is quite twisty and we had to endure this on quite a number of occasions, if your business is in Lancaster then this hotel would probably not be my first choice. Not that any blame can be made against the owners, the hotel is quite clearly called the "Mill at Conder Green". Conder Green being a village very close to the interesting port of Glasson Dock. Our room and breakfast were both excellent, the staff were friendly and knowledgable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Louise K,

Thanks for taking the time to review our countryside hotel. We do have a main A road which leads directly into Lancaster and should only take around 7mins to reach the city centre. If you visit again, just ask the staff and they will be glad to help out.

Thanks
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Only stayed one night but would love to go back. Couldn't see the best of it when we arrived as it was dark and wet but we got a really warm welcome. The hotel is tastefully decorated and really clean. Our room was a nice size and the bed comfortable. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The Mill is in the most amazing setting and we had breakfast watching the swans on the canal.
I was a little disappointed with the food, too much batter & deep frying for my taste, although it was beautifully presented. I chose hotpot but it was mainly potatoes (which were local and delicious) but only three, very small pieces of lamb. The tart pudding was very dry and the wine bottle came to the table already opened. I'm being picky because everyting else was so good, the Mill deserves perfection!
Wish we had time to explore. I would highly recommend a visit and will certainly go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyW999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi LesleyW999,

Great 5 star review. On your next visit please try our spring/summer menu which will feature lighter dishes as well as traditional Lancashire Fayre.

Also, do try an explore the area in daylight as I'm sure you will enjoy the rolling countryside and doorstep nature walks.

Many thanks
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We came in for a meal with our 3 girls (all under 11) one Sunday afternoon afternoon after a lovely walk around Glasson Dock.
The restaurant is right on the canal and has a great, safe play area for the kids. I was concerned that this might not be a child friendly restaurant as it is stylish and looked nice! The staff couldn't have been more welcoming, there is a separate children's menu with some options that are not usually offered to kids. We had a great home-cooked meal at a good price.
We had a lovely afternoon and will be back soon, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDayLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi SunnyDayLucy,

Great to hear you enjoyed your meal and the lovely canal walk from Glasson Dock. We do have a safe, outdoor play area and children are always welcome at the Mill. In fact, the Hurst family who own the Mill have many nephews, nieces and grandchildren who frequent the Mill and its restaurant.

Many thanks
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked this hotel from the lovely website and the great reviews other people had written and were not disappointed. We needed a family room for 2 adults and a teenager and this requirement is quite hard to find without having to book two separate rooms which bumps up the cost. The Mill has an excellent family room with a dividing wall across half of it, giving privacy to the adults and the teenager. The room was spotless, the service excellent and the food was lovely. One very minor point - the traditional breakfast was supposed to come with black pudding but that was omitted with no reason given. I can recommend the walk along the canal tow path to Glasson Dock but bring boots as it was muddy. A haven for birdwatchers too - we saw a kingfisher on the canal as we sat eating lunch inside and there were hundreds of geese, seabirds, oystercatchers, curlews and ducks. An excellent weekend, we will certainly come back if we are ever in the area again.

Room Tip: Brilliant family room especially for couples with a teenager
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Liz B,

I'm pleased the Mill lived up to the reputation of the reviews and pictures online. Thanks for choosing us and for bringing your family over to stay. It's great to read you enjoyed all the local wildlife. I do keeping looking, but have yet to see any kingfishers myself. I always keep my camera close by just in case!

Thanks
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel. It's a nice place in a lovely location. Our room was smaller this time, and the heating wasn't working well. However, we were supplied with an oil heater and that really proved things.
It's seems that this hotel is run by 1 lady who does everything. And she does a fantastic job. We had dinner - it was very very busy, yet there only appeared to be 2 waiting staff plus the manager. There was a batman, but he was incredibly surly. We didn't see a single smile from him. ALL of the other staff were great.
After dinner, we went to the bar, I ordered a large wine from the barman (the same miserable guy) and it came in a pint glass! Yes, a large red wine in a pint glass. I couldn't help but laugh out loud. When the manager saw it, she kindly got me a wine glass.
Great views from the rooms, and from the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi g s,

Thanks for your review, we have recently taken on a new staff member who served you that day. He is a really pleasant and polite chap, was probably a little nervous in new surrounding, and calling him miserable is maybe a little unjust. Anyway, thanks again for a pleasant review, and I'm glad you returned to enjoy our waterside hotel again.

Thanks
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
1.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
3.8 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ashton
The Ashton
#1 of 24 in Lancaster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Conder Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Conder Green

Property: The Mill at Conder Green
Address: Thurnham Mill Lane, Lancaster LA2 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill at Conder Green 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill at Conder Green is a charming canal-side, Hotel, Bar and Restaurant located just 4 miles from the historic city of Lancaster and 3 miles from the M6 motorway. We offer clean, comfortable en-suite accommodation with breath-taking canal views overlooking miles of open countryside. Discover a relaxing atmosphere and a dedicated team here to ensure your stay is a pleasant one! Our prime location by the picturesque Lancaster canal is close to the charming fishing village of Glasson Dock and spectacular scenery of the Forest of Bowland. The Mill at Conder Green is ideally situated for walking, cycling, wildlife watching and activity breaks. Our country setting is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful get-away from modern life. We are well positioned for anyone traveling to Lancaster, Preston, Blackpool and the surrounding areas including the Lake District. We are also a popular stay-over for travelers from Scotland wishing to break up their journey. With complimentary WiFi throughout and just 4 miles from Lancaster university, Lancaster hospital and the city centre itself we are perfect for a business trip with a difference. Just a short drive after a long day at work and you will find yourself enjoying your evening by the canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Mill at Conder Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing