We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mill at Conder Green

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mill at Conder Green
Ranked #2 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

A beautiful hotel hidden away in the peaceful countryside beside the canal. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are beds are very comfy and we had a lovely nights sleep.
The restraunt has a good selection all made with local produce and the breakfast was fantastic especially the haddock and poached eggs,mmmmm.
We will definatly be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi LondonDogman,

Sounds like we ticked all your boxes. Many thanks for your great review and of course for your valued custom!

See you next time,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    140
    40
    15
    10
See reviews for
111
276
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Lovely warm welcome, beautiful location and when you check in somewhere and feel like your the first person to stay in the room EVER because it's so clean you know that you're going to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlesister72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Littlesister72,

We pride ourselves on offering high standards and clean, modern sleeping. Glad it all worked out for you. Do visit again and enjoy the Mill its beautiful surroundings.

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Okay, first the bad - Its out the way! And that's it!!! I stayed two nights and wished it was longer.. The Hotel is pristine, the rooms are cleaned to a high standard, each has a large flat screen TV with Freeview that actually works on all channels! The rooms are large and spacious and very cosy and the views are spectacular if you like the countryside. Beds are amazing - I slept like a baby on the first night and that is a rarity for me! Large comfy beds & firm pillows Mmmm. Where else could you hear an owl at night or the wild life cockerel calling? Its located next to a river and the view towards the bridge is superb as the sun goes down. Right from the word go the staff were amazing, friendly, polite, efficient and superb! The food was great too utilizing all the best of local produce and it wasn't badly priced either! If you're looking for a quiet break to hill walk or read a book or or just relax this place is it! Even the locals are great as I err exercised their collie for them. In short this has to be one of Lancashires best kept secrets and may it remain so.. it was a great two night stay and I WILL BE BACK! Count on it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiltzTheCoolerKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi HiltzTheCoolerKing,

I agree, a few extra days are preferred to fully appreciate all the lovely walks and interesting wildlife we have on our doorstep. I have just purchased a DSLR camera and hope to capture some of the amazing sunsets along the canal, so keep an eye on our website.

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I highly recommend this place to stay, even if you want to visit Lancaster. If you don't drive, it's not terribly convenient, but local taxis are cheapish and there is a bus once every two hours (!). We stayed recently and walked into Lancaster - a long but brilliant walk (we met the nice chap living round the corner who has chickens). The countryside and canals surrounding the hotel are beautiful.

The staff are very friendly and capable, and answered our (numerous) questions about how to get into town, good walks, etc with patience. They accommodated us for dinner even though we turned up a few minutes out of the set hours. The dinner menu was fabulous! I can recommend the rarebit.

Breakfast more than met my expectations; it's what I was most looking forward too, to be honest. The haddock was pleasant, but nothing beats a good fry up. The black pudding was sublime.

Our room was lovely; spacious, clean and comfortable. I liked the decoration - not too impersonal, not too twee. I can't think of any drawbacks of this place! I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi lucy594,

Great to hear your feedback, sounds like we ticked all your boxes. It's a lovely walk into Lancaster and the city is indeed well worth a visit if your staying at the Mill.

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stopped here for two nights after a short break in the Lake District. We just wanted a couple of nights away with good food in quiet surroundings and this is what we got. Our room was large, clean, modern and had a very comfortable superking sized bed (room 16). We had a view over the surrounding fields and the canal where we watched the resident swan family rabbits playing. It seems like you are miles away from anywhere here but you are only 5 miles from Lancaster which is worth a day trip. The hotel is modern and welcoming, the staff are all friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are lovely and the restaurant is well worth a visit, overlooking the canal. The menu is fantastic - full of local quality produce, well cooked and nicely presented for a reasonable price. The Morecambe Bay shrimps and Lancashire Hotpot are both delicious.
There isn't much around but this isn't a problem with the quality of the food here and the fact they have a well stocked bar and comfy seats you can relax and watch TV downstairs.
No complaints at all about this place - we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bolton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi showjumper1,

Our proximity to the Lake District is fantastic for the Mill and I often take days out to enjoy the beauty of the Cumbrian landscape.

Also our immediate proximity to Lancaster does indeed make the Mill quite unique being settle in miles of open and scenic countryside, perched on the tow-path of the canal, yet only 4 miles from historic Lancaster and the M6!

It really is quite special and does indeed make for a peaceful and relaxing escape!
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Mill is in a lovely setting literally on the locks at the canal.

More modern inside than we expected, especially the stairs and corridors which had an air of an office building. Good thing though is that they have lift from the car park level door which was great as we were on the 2nd floor.

The main bar and restaurant area is very open and tastefully decorated with a relaxed vibe. Our dinner was first rate with a view of the canal. Lots of local produce and local ales which is always a plus point for me.

Breakfast was delicious with prompt and courteous service. We had seen an otter with its pups/kits outside on the lock side first thing in the morning and also what looked like a badger on the hill opposite. Swans literally look in the window at you!

Staff were lovely, polite and friendly, especially a lovely lady who explained that the mill used to deal with grain and she played in it as a child.

If we had any niggles, it was that the room was a bit "soul less" - clean and neat and tidy just a bit bare. Then again its a matter of taste - we had been staying in a 12th Century castle the night before so maybe just the contrast. It was decorated well and tasteful.

We would highly recommend and would stay again if back in the area.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the canal - look out for the wildlife!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abp35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi abp35,

Thanks for your detailed review. I'm pleased your overall experience here at the Mill was an enjoyable one. Seeing the otters and their pups is indeed a rare treat! I'm constantly trying to get some decent photos, but these are timid and elusive creatures and my amateur photography skills are currently not up to speed. I do plan to start a Mill blog in the New Year, detailing all aspects of the Mill including interesting wildlife nearby by so keep your eye on the website.

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have been to The Mill a few times now and have always had great service, great food & the
staff are lovely and friendly. We will definatly be going again and are looking forward to going on Christmas Day. I would happily recommend The Mill to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi Emma S,

Your recommendation mentioned in your review is highly appreciated, especially coming from a valued returning guest. Thanks again and we very much look forward to seeing you on Christmas day!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
1.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
3.8 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ashton
The Ashton
#1 of 24 in Lancaster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Conder Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Conder Green

Property: The Mill at Conder Green
Address: Thurnham Mill Lane, Lancaster LA2 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill at Conder Green 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill at Conder Green is a charming canal-side, Hotel, Bar and Restaurant located just 4 miles from the historic city of Lancaster and 3 miles from the M6 motorway. We offer clean, comfortable en-suite accommodation with breath-taking canal views overlooking miles of open countryside. Discover a relaxing atmosphere and a dedicated team here to ensure your stay is a pleasant one! Our prime location by the picturesque Lancaster canal is close to the charming fishing village of Glasson Dock and spectacular scenery of the Forest of Bowland. The Mill at Conder Green is ideally situated for walking, cycling, wildlife watching and activity breaks. Our country setting is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful get-away from modern life. We are well positioned for anyone traveling to Lancaster, Preston, Blackpool and the surrounding areas including the Lake District. We are also a popular stay-over for travelers from Scotland wishing to break up their journey. With complimentary WiFi throughout and just 4 miles from Lancaster university, Lancaster hospital and the city centre itself we are perfect for a business trip with a difference. Just a short drive after a long day at work and you will find yourself enjoying your evening by the canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Mill at Conder Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing