We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fab” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mill at Conder Green

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mill at Conder Green
Ranked #2 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Spend 4 night here with my wife to get away from it all, the hotel is under new management, who are in the process of upgrading the building and judging by what we saw they are making a grand job of it,The work does not impact on guests.
Tha staff were brilliant, if you could bottle their motivation and enthuisasm you could make a fortune, nothing was a bother and you were make to feel welcome all of the time.
The food was excellent the only slight observation was that the cooked breakfast was noticibly different during the weekend which was nothing major just lacking in continuety.
will deffinately be returning to this establishment

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    140
    40
    15
    10
See reviews for
111
277
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is the third time we've stayed here and it's an excellent place to stay if you want a comfortable and peaceful base close to Lancaster. The staff are very welcoming and since our last visit to the Mill it's been extensively refurbished to provide a lovely ambiance that well reflects it's former life as a working mill.
Our room had a very comfortable bed and was spotlessly clean. There are lovely views over the surrounding farmland and some rooms overlook the canal lock. Breakfast was good and overall it provides excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candymiller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed here with my friends as we were attending a wedding at Thurnham Hall. We were greeted with friendly staff who even gave a us a lift for free to the venue, they definitely went above and beyond for us. The bedroom was very modern, clean and spacious . There was a lovely bar to sit in and a very tasty breakfast served with a view of the canal. I would recommend this Inn to everyone, I was very impressed.

Kirsty

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

we spent a lovely long weekend here and cannot fault anything from the moment we arrived, the friendliness of all the staff, the rooms and the peacefulness of the area, will definitely be going back instead of staying near the lakes as there are so easy to reach from this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patap38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

After visiting last year for a comfortable but uninspiring short break, we returned in June 2011 to find new owners that have raised the standards of food, service and décor to match the interesting building and it’s superb location. Freshly decorated, with more improvements underway the whole atmosphere has been lifted, the staff continue to be helpful and friendly and the menu has been transformed from ordinary pub grub to quality local produce well cooked with plenty of variety. The rooms are spacious and again improvements to décor and bathroom fittings have improved both comfort and functionality. See you next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

My stay started worryingly - being told they don't take card details online and subsequent confusion over what I might have to do to pay. Card details had most definitely been entered online, evidenced by the reservation confirmation e-mail advising not to re-enter card details if nothing else. To be fair, this was sorted without any inconvenience to me so checkout wasn't a problem.
Onto the rest of my one night stay - my tv wasn't working but was quickly sorted. I didn't sleep that well, thought the bed was a bit lumpy but that might just be me being fussy. There were some odd noises up to about midnight, presumably an extractor fan downstairs somewhere and what
sounded like the 2nd floor plumbing trying to tear the whole building
down.
The shower was pretty useless, such little pressure the shower head
kept falling down, and even at full
temperature lukewarm at best.
Breakfast was ok, although I wasn't sure my full English needed the lettuce on top. Bit odd. And one small pat of butter doesn't go far. And no sign or offer of sauces.
Checkout was fine.
All in all a bit disappointing, even
for the price.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RadishUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Ok, we only went in for lunch on the way back from our holiday in the Lakes, but it made a great end to our week. Plenty of choice, competitively priced, excellent and friendly service. We could even take our little dog in to two of the dining areas and were made very welcome. We'll be going again very soon and may stay there one day too as its in a great location on Lancaster Canal.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tea40ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
1.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
3.8 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ashton
The Ashton
#1 of 24 in Lancaster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Conder Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Conder Green

Property: The Mill at Conder Green
Address: Thurnham Mill Lane, Lancaster LA2 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill at Conder Green 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill at Conder Green is a charming canal-side, Hotel, Bar and Restaurant located just 4 miles from the historic city of Lancaster and 3 miles from the M6 motorway. We offer clean, comfortable en-suite accommodation with breath-taking canal views overlooking miles of open countryside. Discover a relaxing atmosphere and a dedicated team here to ensure your stay is a pleasant one! Our prime location by the picturesque Lancaster canal is close to the charming fishing village of Glasson Dock and spectacular scenery of the Forest of Bowland. The Mill at Conder Green is ideally situated for walking, cycling, wildlife watching and activity breaks. Our country setting is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful get-away from modern life. We are well positioned for anyone traveling to Lancaster, Preston, Blackpool and the surrounding areas including the Lake District. We are also a popular stay-over for travelers from Scotland wishing to break up their journey. With complimentary WiFi throughout and just 4 miles from Lancaster university, Lancaster hospital and the city centre itself we are perfect for a business trip with a difference. Just a short drive after a long day at work and you will find yourself enjoying your evening by the canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Mill at Conder Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing