We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious birthday lunch”
Review of The White Cross

The White Cross
Ranked #14 of 241 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Canal side pub with home cooked food served 12PM-9PM every day. Up to 13 cask ales, two rotating craft beers plus fresh ground coffee and and excellent selection of wines by the glass.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and other friends decided to try the White Cross Sunday Menu to celebrate my Birthday, after checking the high number of positive reviews. We were not disappointed, the food was really good, both the beef brisket and the vegetarian options at a very reasonable price, considering the quality. The service was also really attentive. We will come back for sure!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, Manager at The White Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words, our Sunday specials change every week, but the slowly braised beef brisket is a consistent attendee! We hope to see you again soon for another fantastic roast dinner. Thank you again for your comments - Harley Parker - Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had booked a few weeks before hand based on the reviews from this sites... What can I say the food was amazing everyone in the party emptied there plates even the kids which is a first.... The staff where friendly and helpful and welcoming so overall The White Cross for me is a return visit. I give the food 10/10 and staff 10/10

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, Manager at The White Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We hope to see you again soon, and it was a pleasure serving you.
Kind regards - Harley Parker - Restaraunt Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

went with the family for a birtday meal, good menu and excellent friendly service, food was very good and not over priced

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 0wensyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, Manager at The White Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are ever so glad you chose us for your Birthday celebrations, and thank you for your kind words and 5-star review. We hope to see you again soon for more of our excellent food! Kind regards – Harley Parker – Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Visited the white cross for lunch the other day. Tried out the new lunch menu. Exceptional food for the money. Loved all of it. Will be going back to try more!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank jessica9790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, Manager at The White Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your 5-star review on our lunch menu! We hope to see you again for a lunch date soon. Kind regards – Harley Parker – Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Nice walk along the canal, stopping for lunch. Good setting, with helpful staff. Had the shared platter, which was tasty and the hand cut chips which were very good.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank al2015164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, Manager at The White Cross, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Thank you so much for your comments, we hope to see you again for a stop on another lovely walk you may have on the canal! Kind regards – Harley Parker – Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Cross also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to The White Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing