We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, Gr8 food”
Review of Toll House Inn

Toll House Inn
Ranked #22 of 230 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located right in the centre of Lancaster, Toll House Inn is a top quality bar and restaurant. We serve hearty, home-cooked food, ranging from sandwiches to steaks, as well as our locally sourced specials - all best paired with one of our quality cask ales.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

Went here for an evening meal, The menu choice had some great food on it.
I went for the platter which featured some thin slices of hot tasty roast beef. olives , cheese and chipolatas where there among other tasty items too.
It was relaxing sitting in the large dining room next to the massive windows overlooking the roads outside.
I had a few refreshing beers to help wash the food down. I finished off with the waitresses favourite a Quince gin and tonic.
Will eat here again, hopefully staying over too.
Brilliant.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank miniman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 301 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2018

We came here on a Sunday lunchtime for a light bite and were rewarded with excellent platters. These are sort-of ploughman's lunches, but you get to choose a variety of meat fish and veggie options to go with crusty bread and pickles. A really tasty treat variation on a ploughman's with generous portions and plenty of choice. The decor is spacious and comfortable so we didn't mind spending time here.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stevepmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, General Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the review and I'm thrilled you had such a nice meal with us. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

I booked a table at the Toll House months in advance of my daughters graduation day, the welcome given was warm and the service was excellent. We requested a starter that was not on the menu and the chef readily delivered the said starter and a wonderful service for all. I highly recommend this restaurant and very helpful staff and management team.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Threetrees66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, General Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Thanks for the review and I'm thrilled we could play a part in your daughters graduation day. Hopefully we will see you again if you visit Lancaster again in the future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Staying in Lancaster for the weekend, ate here on Saturday night, have to say, the food was fantastic, service excellent and staff so friendly and helpful. Wish there was a pub near home like this. Would highly recommend for quality, service and price. Thank you for a lovely meal

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, General Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Hi Sue,

Thanks for the review, I'm happy you had such a good meal. If you're visiting Lancaster again then be sure to pop in, or even book with us overnight and let us cook your breakfast too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

The offer at The Toll House keeps improving thanks to a loyal front of house team, much better atmosphere and a simplified menu.

Pros: Clean, good food, large portions, great drinks selection, lovely interior and great staff.

Cons: Been for lunch when different people in the kitchen and food noticeably isn't as good

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, General Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Thanks for the praise Michael and I'm glad you're a fan. We are always working to improve what we do so it's nice for it to be noticed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toll House Inn also viewed

 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to Toll House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing