We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gateway at Hest Bank
Ranked #13 of 25 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

A couple of us decided to kayak the Lancaster Canal and we stay here on out second night. Angela was brilliant and more than accommodating in letting us lock out kayaks in the garage. The B&B was only 100 yards away from a very picturesque part of the canal and a excellent pub.

The rooms we quite amazing and seems that everything was brand new. The views from the front over Morecambe bay were quite spectacular. Breakfast was great and gave us more than enough energy for the day.

You will be hard pressed to find a better B&B in the land.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelacarmen, Owner at The Gateway at Hest Bank, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thankyou for the very positive reveiw. Really happy you enjoyed your stay at the Gateway and that I could accommodate you and your kayaks! Hope to see you again,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
26
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 6 nights at the Gateway; and could not recommend it more. The location is convenient to the Lakes District. Our room was spacious, clean and lovely, with tea facilities we never used, but sweet treats we did (unfortunately!) Angela is a lovely, gracious hostess. Her breakfasts are huge & delicious; and she is more than happy to adjust to any specific needs. The meal we had from her limited evening menu was the best had during our time in Morecombe!

Lastly, there is Bubbles; a Springer Spaniel with lots of personality - and manners! He always remained on the periphery of the dining room and did not once come in!

Thank you Angela (and Bubbles) for making us feel right at home!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mame_redux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
356 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

The Gateway at Hest Bank is an outstanding B&B with good rooms, nice patio, serving a fine breakfast. The location is excellent for exploring Morecombe, Heysham, and Lancaster. Angela Wain is good host and her able assistant, Bubbles the Springer Spaniel, is quite a greeter.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed over with my wife, my son and his partner and three grandchildren. We had adjoining rooms which was great. The rooms are of a very high standard and the proprietor could not do enough for us! Lovely breakfast and cannot wait to go back! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnB051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Angela was a welcoming and attentive hostess, rooms were spacious, contemporary decorated and well appointed.
Good hearty breakfast sets you up for the day (maybe black pudding?)
Excellent value.
Recommended

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrispDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

I loved this house, very close to brilliant golfing attractions, something which i love to do on a vaccation. The food was brilliant and the service was great, i would reccomend this accomodation to all pet lovers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joseph_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We booked a double for 3 nights after hearing about this place from a friend and were given a huge room with a king size bed! - Great views across the bay & you have just got to try the Jacuzzi & Sauna - well worth the extra!
Lovely breakfast - which you can even have in bed if your lazy.....and plenty of tea / coffee & biscuits in the room.
Great walks on the beach and along the canal - with a country pub with good food all within 5 mins walk from the front door!
Looking forward to staying again soon - Thanks Angela

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JenandMattsHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
2.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
3.2 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lodge Lancaster
The Lodge Lancaster
#2 of 8 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Ashton
The Ashton
#1 of 25 in Lancaster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Fenwick Steak and Seafood Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway at Hest Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway at Hest Bank

Property: The Gateway at Hest Bank
Address: 19 Marine Drive | Hest Bank, Lancaster LA2 6DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing