We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be happy to return”
Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
london
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Would be happy to return”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Recently stayed overnight in a suite at this hotel. Accommodation was spacious and very clean with a large comfortable bed. The breakfast was especially good, quality produce prepared beautifully with friendly attentive waiting staff. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elle090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    366
    111
    27
    22
See reviews for
315
480
48
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had our first stay at the Hotel although we had been in for drinks before. We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay. All the staff are so friendly and made us feel very welcome. The pool and hot tub and spa is very good and we had a great afternoon relaxing there. The room was very comfortable with a lovely big bed and the lots of nice teas to drink!! The toiletries in the room are very nice too. The breakfast was great and a very good selection of food to set us up for the day. The ladies in the restaurant were very busy but had time to chat and have a laugh and seemed to take it all in the their stride. We had a nice drink in the bar - prosecco which was served very nicely with strawberries and the barman had time to take a photo for us as well. All in all it was a very pleasant stay and we will be back and I will recommend it to friends and family without hesitation. There is such a friendly and relaxed atmosphere throughout the Hotel and the gentleman on duty in the foyer was very pleasant and nice to talk to and we had a laugh after I nearly ran him over whilst dashing about!!!

Room Tip: We had room 5 on the ground floor which was great for the spa and the Bar!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Warm friendly and inviting.The room was lovely and also very clean. The Restaurant was excellent and The Facilities on site were really good. Stayed here for our Silver Wedding Anniversary and the staff made us feel really special.

Room Tip: Studio Suite was lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Many thanks for the superb review and congratulations on your Silver Wedding Anniversary.

I am delighted my team were able to make it special for you.

I hope we can welcome you back for many more anniveraries to come.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night on our way to Edinburgh and I would say it is good for weddings or a business stay not so impressed for a holiday stay.

Room small with a television that didn't work and a shower and toilet that dribbled out water for a shower and the toilet lacked water to flush adequately. Not really up to four star standards, however as we were only staying one night we didn't bother complaining.

Lighting was not sufficient in the evening and if you wanted to do hair and make-up it was a struggle.

Breakfast was not included and we didn't dine there. Wifi was good however you could only use it for two items although it was free.

Ample free parking but was a few miles out of the city so transport is a definite requirement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent overnight stay with us.

I am sorry we failed to meet your individual expectations in a number of areas, and I would certainly like to apologise that the plumbing wasn't up to the usual standard. As I would recommend to all guests, problems can occasionally arise with any public building and I would always urge guests to bring the matter to our attention straight away as they can be easily rectified or an alternative room quickly arranged.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith and please do not hesitate to contact me personally if you would like to arrange another stay.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here back in the spring for a friends wedding. Its a lovely hotel and they did such a good job with the wedding. Would definitely stay here again! Every body had such a good weekend none of us wanted to leave! The spa and pool was excellent, had a lot of fun in there with our party

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Many thanks indeed for the great review following your recent stay with us.

I am glad you enjoyed the wedding, and you also found time to make a proper weekend of it and use the leisure facilities.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, very clean, good service. Food in restaurant is excellent for both dinner and breakfast. Reasonable price as well, will use for future business trips to the area. Only slight drawback is the location a few miles south of the city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us on Business.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and also your meals with us.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of accommodating you again soon

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from spending 3 nights at Lancaster House after attending a wedding of some fantastic friends. Their reception was held here which was out of the world. The food at the wedding, bar and breakfast could not have been better everything was great. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The grounds are lovely and well kept and so relaxing, my grandson got to feed the fish before he left which I think was the highlight for him. the best I have left to the end. The Staff who were brilliant from the check-in which was fast to the check-out. EVERY member of staff were kind, friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever a bother to them and everything that was asked of them was dealt with quickly and to a very high standard. We felt that they went beyond what was expected of them. Well done and THANK YOU to you all for making our stay one of the best we have had and we hope to return one day. keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so very much for the lovely review following your recent friend's wedding with us.

I will of course share your praise with the whole team here who always enjoy the regular positive feedback they receive. The team really do make the difference in a hotel, and I'm proud to work alongside such a great bunch of passionate people here at Lancaster House.

Delighted your Grandson got to feed our fish. They need a good regular feed so please pass on our thanks to him for helping us out.

We hope you can return again, so please do contact us personally if you ever get the opportunity.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
2.7 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Property: Lancaster House
Address: Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the balconied Reception Lounge, to the open fire you instinctively know that Lancaster House is a place to savour the good things in life, such as excellent cuisine from The Foodworks Restaurant, or a drink in the courtyard of The Sandeman's Bar. This relaxed elegance is also reflected in each of the 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing