We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful warm and welcoming Christmas retreat”
Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful warm and welcoming Christmas retreat”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I kept meaning to write this review and can't believe it's taken me so long, we stayed here for Christmas in 2010 and 2011 and I still have incredibly fond memories of those trips. (the only reason we didn't go back for 2012 was that the hotel wasn't sure if they would be able to host the christmas package when we looked so we booked at their sister hotel instead)

The lobby of the hotel has comfy sofas and a roaring fire to welcome you, the rooms are spotless and equally comfy but my top marks have to got to the staff - Tim and his team work tirelessly to ensure every aspect of your trip is perfect, and boy to they succeed (always with a smile!)

We take the dog every year and I think she enjoys it just as much as we do with the rolling countryside and stunning views.

Great easy to find location just off the motorway but far enough to be blissfully peaceful.

Value for money, delicious food and the friendliest hotel staff I have ever encountered (and I travel for work as well ...)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the review following your two Christmas stays with us. Sorry we didn't have the pleasure of welcoming you back for 2012, but fingers crossed we'll see you again in 2013. We missed you this year, and our four-legged friend of course. I hope she missed us too!

We are always open for Christmas, and details will be on the English Lakes website in due course.

Thank you once again for the great review and we hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    377
    115
    28
    22
See reviews for
328
492
48
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Another enjoyable stay and excellent value for money.
As I stated in an earlier review, we have been coming here for about 20 years and will return again and again.
Good food, smashing accommodation, enjoyable lesuire facilities and relaxing log fire at reception area.
Any concerns dealt with promptly and the staff really do give the impression they take pride in working for English Lakes Hotels.

Room Tip: Choose the luxury suite every time - it doesn't cost that much extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Once again, can I thank you as one of our greatest "raving fans" (as we like to call our happiest guests), for taking the time to post another positive review. We're so proud to have so many customers such as yourselves who return year after year.

And you're absolutely right. We do love working for English Lakes, as we all feel part of a great family, rather than a large, faceless organisation. We hope this comes through to our guests and they can enjoy the benefits of this magical team spirit. And great tip on the suites by the way! They're worth every penny in my opinion.

No doubt, we'll see you again very soon

Kindest regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presron, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

in all, nothing to complain about, all nice-nice. just very very bland business-conference type place. come away thinking I could have been staying anywhere. rooms acceptable, nice breakfast, reasonable price, just all very meh

Helpful?
Thank Loztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the review.

On the whole, I'm glad you found your stay satisfactory.

Hopefully next time, we might get the opportunity to prove to you that there are many reasons that we believe set us apart from the rest.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This was the second stay here and I made one important change.

Last time we ate in the restaurant and left feeling under fed, over charged and poorly served.

This time we ate in the bar and it couldn't have been more different. Great food, great value and friendly service.

A highly recommended hotel for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotChilli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post another review following your recent return stay with us.

I'm delighted that this time you found everything to your satisfaction.

As I'm sure you'll see from the majority of our reviews, our restaurant offering does please most of our guests and I'm confident that both the bar and our Foodworks Restaurant offer great value for money. However, I wam glad this time you found the food offering both great quality and value.

I do hope we can tempt you back a third time.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed for a night with my wife and ten year old son. The hotel is clean, well laid out, ideally located near to the motorway and just off the A6 (main road into Lancaster) - the staff we met were extremely friendly and very helpful.
We stayed in a 'Luxury Suite' which I understand have been recently refurbished - and it shows. They have a large well appointed and very nicely decorated bedroom that is seperated by large sliding doors from a living area - both have flat screen TV's. adjoining the bedroom and again seperated by sliding doors is the MASSIVE bathroom consiting of a stand alone bath and shower....the best part was the slate tiled floor has underfloor heating which was greatly appreciated at this time of year!
We ate breakfast in the main restaurant and found it to be plentiful, varied and of a very high standard.
We will certainly stay here again and would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkieswetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and comprehensive review following your recent stay with us at Lancaster House. I know the TA community always appreciate a good, balanced review rather than focusing too long on "minor" areas.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites and I very much hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Indeed, if you are ever planning another visit, do contact me personally and I will endeavour to deliver another great stay for you.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Fantastic hotel from walking in to the lovely warm reception area to enjoing a nightime soak in the outdoor jaccuzzi. Breakfast choice was varied and cooked to a very high standard. I have stayed in five star hotels that do not match up to the four star Lancaster House Hotel. I would reccommend booking the luxury suites with the freestanding bath, definitely worth the nominal upgrade fee. Thanks for a truly wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Upgrde to the luxury suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I was glad that you had an enjoyable and more importantly, realxing stay and I thank you for your kind comments about the hotel.

A winter-time soak in the outdoor hot-tub is hard to surpass isn't it?

I will of course share your comments with the whole team here, who always welcome the feedback they receive.

I do hope we can welcome you back to our corner of Lancashire again someday.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Once again a fab weekend at the Lancaster Hotel. Staff friendly and helpful, service excellent. The leisure facilities were of a very high standard. I would recommend the restaurant as the food was delicious. Our room was really lovely and exceptionally quiet. Great location to explore the lakes from.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caloker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you again for taking the time to post a great review following your recent weekend stay with us at Lancaster House. I was delighted we gave you another wonderful time, and you were able to explore the nearby Lake District.

I hope we can tempt you back again soon. Lancaster and the surrounding area has so much to offer in my opinion. Indeed, do contact me personally if you are planning another visit, and hopefully we can give you another stay to remember.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
1,023 reviews
2.7 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
502 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,384 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Property: Lancaster House
Address: Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the balconied Reception Lounge, to the open fire you instinctively know that Lancaster House is a place to savour the good things in life, such as excellent cuisine from The Foodworks Restaurant, or a drink in the courtyard of The Sandeman's Bar. This relaxed elegance is also reflected in each of the 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing