We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place , lovely people spoiled by poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Lovely place , lovely people spoiled by poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here on a one night business trip whilst in the area.
Had a lovely quiet room.
The tv remote didn't work though , think the batteries needed replacing .. Used the buttons on the tv instead !
Very comfortable bed and lovely hot shower with plenty of pressure.
Had a gammon steak and Chips in the bar , service was very friendly and efficient , but my gammon was very chewy and the chips cold, in fact the plate it was served on was very cold as well.
I didn't make a fuss as the staff were so nice, maybe I should have but when asked if my meal was alright I just couldn't say no.
Had a nice cold beer by the real hot log fire ( that was perfect ) !
The cold food theme continued at breakfast however.
I was up early as I had a meeting to go to , I was at breakfast at 7am and found that the bacon, eggs and sausages etc were under the warming lights , but on eating the cooked breakfast found it was all cold ,seems to have been cooked at 5am and put under the lights to warm up ?
Cold baked beans Not very good at all.
I left the cooked breakfast and thought I would try the 'fresh' pastries.
Oh dear oh dear .. They tasted like they had been around for a day or two , not fresh at all.
Maybe this was just an off day .. Reading all the reviews for this hotel I expected something better.
I will no doubt stay again in the near future , but if I have food like this again here I will ask for it extra hot and fresh.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skilegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am sorry that we failed to meet your individual expectations in a number of areas during your recent stay with us, especially some unusual, but regrettable quality issues with the food you seem to have experienced. Certainly, I have already addressed these matters with my teams to ensure a similar fall in standard does not happen again. As you will have seen from previous and also more recent reviews, these standards are not indicative of the levels of quality we're normally proud to maintain. So I can only apologise once again.

I do hope these shortfalls haven't permanently marred your opinion of our hotel and we can hopefully look forward to welcoming you back again in the future so that we may restore your faith.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    364
    110
    27
    22
See reviews for
313
473
47
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Lancaster House Hotel over a year ago and chose to come back to celebrate a special birthday. Bed breakfast and evening meal on a Saturday for the 2 of us was £100 as a special deal. The food was excellent on our last trip and we were not disappointed on our return the duck was especially memorable. We took the opportunity to use the leisure facilities and they were good too. Breakfast was self service and you make your own toast so it is hot. The choice was excellent. Only complaint was that the Sandeman's bar which promotes port doesn't have a good port available but we can appreciate that it is not commercially possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a glowing review following your recent return stay with us at Lancaster House.

Sounds like you got a great deal and you were able to make the most of all the hotel's facilities. The duck is also a particular favourite of mine.

I'm sorry there wasn't a premium port available on your last stay. I'll certainly look into getting one in for the future.

Once again, many thanks for the review

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

In spite of being close to one of the UK's most vibrant universities, the Lancaster House Hotel remains a relaxing and peaceful place to stay, and is only a short drive from the lovely hills of the Forest of Bowland, or from the Lune Estuary and the Fylde.

The integral restaurant is getting better all the time, but it's also worth dropping in for a bar lunch - the fish and chips are outstanding, especially with Lancashire Caviar (Mushy Peas).

Bright, friendly, welcoming...

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the new extension; they're quite something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry_Marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review.

And may I say thank you for highlighting all the beautiful areas we have on our doorstep. I know the TA community will very much appreciate tips about not only the hotel, but also the surrounding region.

It's always a pleasure to see you here at Lancaster House and we're very grateful that ambassadors such as yourself help us cement our reputation.

Fingers crossed, we'll see you again very soon for some Fish, Chips 'n Lancashire Caviar

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

A party of 8 of us stayed over for the New Year's Eve party - for the second year running. The stay was once again excellent! Apart from the fact that the rooms are beautiful, clean and welcoming, and the spa lovely, the icing on the cake was the food served on New Year's Eve! The tables are all decorated beautifully which sets the scene for the feast which was to come. We ordered our meals on the night from the New Year's menu. I think we sampled most of the selections between us and everything was superb! The icing on the cake is definately the staff. They are excellent - anything we requested was delivered immediately. The drinks order was remembered and delivered with a smile every time. The staff are a real credit to the hotel and do a fabulous job! They really portray a good impression for the hotel. Thank you once again and will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoplustwoLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review following your recent New Year stay with us, and may I say how grateful I am for your very kind words about the team. It is the team that makes the difference and they really are the "icing on the cake".

Great to hear that you will be back. All being well, details of next year's New Year will be on the English Lakes website in the next few weeks.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stay at this hotel regularly - at least 3 times per year and have never been disappointed. My husband, myself and teenage children stayed recently, between Christmas and New Year, as a special treat for my birthday. We booked one of the suites for ourselves (they are just amazing!) as well as a standard twin room for the children. The hotel was busy and the staff were obviously having to work very hard but, nevertheless, they were as attentive, polite and helpful as usual. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable - as they always are. We chose to eat in the Sandemans Bar in the evening and were very pleased with the quality of the food and the willingness of the staff to accommodate our dietary needs. The time we spent in the gym, pool and spa was very enjoyable too. All in all, it was another wonderful stay at this excellent hotel and we look forward to many more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parkavenue34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Many thanks indeed for such a great review following your recent return stay with us at Lancaster House.

It sounds like you and the family had a great festive break and I'm delighted we were able to make it such a memorable stay again for you.

As always, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have now stayed at this hotel five times over the last 10 years. It is a fantastic place, the management and staff are great, the food is wonderful. Each and every guest is treated with respect and made to feel special. Happy New Year to Tim and all his team and see you for lunch on Saturday!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuthberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review and your very kind words.

It was wonderful to welcome you back for New Year. I have of course shared your feedback with the whole team here.

Fingers crossed, it won't be too long before we see you at "The House" again soon.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

stayed at the lancaster house hotel for two nights in between christmas and new year. on the whole it was ok staff were good breakfast was exellent room and facilities were also ok. had the chicken madras in the bar first night worst curry you could ever imagine only my personal opinion but if you had not been told you would never have guessrd it was a curry.. ate in the restaurant the night after and this complaint can not be put down to a guests personal preferences. the broccoli on my wifes dinner ,which covered a third of the plate was bright yellow should have been binned at least a week before,i know because i buy and sell the stuff for a living.sent it back and it came with a plate of frozen broccoli refused to pay for it .spoils the whole experience.was considering staying for acelebration with 17 family members in february but it puts you off ..shame nice place

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

I am sorry that the quality of food didn't appear to be up to our usual high standard on your recent stay. As I'm sure you can appreciate from all the other very positive feedback on Tripadvisor, I can only put this down to an isolated incident and I would be confident that on a return visit, you will find the food much more to your personal satisfaction.

Please do contact me personally should you consider us for the celebration stay you were planning and I will assure you a high quality stay with food to match.

Our apologies once again that we failed to meet your expectations

Regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
2.7 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Property: Lancaster House
Address: Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the balconied Reception Lounge, to the open fire you instinctively know that Lancaster House is a place to savour the good things in life, such as excellent cuisine from The Foodworks Restaurant, or a drink in the courtyard of The Sandeman's Bar. This relaxed elegance is also reflected in each of the 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing