We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was treated to a romantic evening out on Saturday 29 September and could not fault the staff, the meal and the exceptional service. Best restaurant in Lancaster by far. Thank you Lancaster House Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Many thanks for posting such a great review following your recent evening with us at Lancaster House.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your meal and the service in the Foodworks Restaurant.

I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Indeed, please do not hesitate to contact me if you are and I will ensure you have another great experience.

Kind regards

Tim Bell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    364
    110
    27
    22
See reviews for
313
473
47
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night for a wedding reception and were very impressed. Hotel is situated right next to Lancaster University (don't worry - there is a fence and big gates!), set back from the main road in fields. The hotel felt very comfortable and welcoming as soon as we walked through the door, with a lovely open fire in the lobby, and the staff were attentive and friendly.
We had a sandwich in the bar (good value and very well presented), and had the breakfast buffet the next morning - good choice of continental and cooked, with other options like kippers and haddock cooked to order, and as many tea/coffee refills as you liked.
Nice decor throughout, and the room was very well appointed, spotless with a comfortable king-sized bed, plenty of space and storage and a bathroom you could actually move around in.
The hotel makes much of its 'green' credentials and their charity support, and credit to them for that - an example was no bottled water in the rooms (you could ask for some if you really wanted it), but a carafe and plenty of iced water dispensers along the corridors.
We would definitely stay again, and next time make use of the leisure facilities too - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Many thanks indeed for posting such a positive review following your recent one night stay with us here.

I will of course share your feedback with the whole team here, who always enjoy reading the feedback they receive.

I am also delighted you noticed all the hard work we undertake to ensure we meet and exceed our carbon reduction targets and our responsibility to our environment and community. Our work on this front will always continue as we aim to lead the way in this field.

I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Indeed, please do not hesitate to contact me if you are and I will ensure you have another great stay.

Kind regards

Tim Bell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday night on the way to Scotland. Our room was very nice and bright and the staff attentive although the barman needs "smile training".

Restaurant meals were OK. Buffet breakfast was also OK but food seems to be left a little too long under the warming lights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfnut100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Many thanks for the review

I have noted your feedback about the improvement areas and I will of course endeavour to ensure more consistency with our usual high standard in the future.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards

Tim Bell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having read some of the negative reviews, I don't where those people stayed, but it was a different hotel to the one I stayed in.My family recently stayed at the hotel for a wedding and I take away only positive memories of the place. All the staff I came into contact with really knew the meaning of customer service. Nothing was too much trouble and all requests were dealt with in a polite and proffessional manner. The room was lovely and had been cleaned to a very high standard. Breakfast was great and I can heartily recommend the kippers and smoked haddock.
Will I be staying there again? Without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Many thanks indeed for posting such a positive review following your recent stay with us here at Lancaster House.

Your comments do concur with the vast majority of our feedback and I know that the TA community are savvy enough to make their own accurate conclusions about the quality of a hotel. It is admittedly disappointing to read the occasional negative feedback that gets posted, and as a realist hotelier I know I cannot meet the individual needs and expectations of all our guests, although it is our aim to do so.

I am glad that you have highlighted this fact, and I know your review will help visitors to the site form a more balanced opinion of our hotel before hopefully choosing to visit us.

Thank you once again, and if you are ever planning another visit, please do not hesitate to contact me and I will assure you another great stay.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

An excellent venue for a wedding ceremony and reception/evening celebration afterwards. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff, which added to our total enjoyment of the memorable weekend. Even though unexpected traffc problems caused the late arrival of several guests...and the registrar!, the slight, unavoidable delay was dealt with in a professional calm manner.
Our luxury studio room was lovely. Plenty of room, with the required facilities and a big, comfortable bed. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Lancaster House to our friends. The only minor complaint was that some of the external doors didn't have a slow, self-closing mechanism and so we had to be very careful that little fingers weren't trapped when these doors slammed shut in the wind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Many thanks indeed for the great review.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of the wedding celebrations. With months of careful planning the big day always goes smoothly, even when unforeseen traffic problems can occur.

I do hope we can welcome you back again and thank you once again for the wonderful review.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my second stay in this hotel, The staff throughout the hotel were once again friendly and helpful. The food was of a good standard - hot and well cooked. The room was well maintained with a lovely large bed, although the plumbing in my friends room was faulty.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are large with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a positive review following your recent return stay with us at Lancaster House.

I was glad to learn that, overall, you enjoyed your second visit with us.

I hope we can welcome you back again. Indeed, if you are ever planning another stay, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hotel within 5 min drive of centre of Lancaster. Excellent breakfast,nicely appointed rooms, very clean although mould traces in bathroom disappointing. Comfy bed. Very good gym, nice pool, free wi-fi welcome. Why only 3 Stars? Booked hotel night before an early meeting, rather than a 5.30am start, only to be 'terrified' by a false fire alarm at 5.10am. Awful way to be awoken & totally defeated whole point of an expensive hotel stay.Stood outside in a car park at dawn bleary eyed to then spot other residents sat inside? Total disorgansisation. OK false alarms can't be helped, but staff not the slighest concerned. A discount on another stay or free meal would have demonstrated some regret. Finally, please please please fit soft close mechanisms to doors, to avoid the constant door slams that plague anyone requiring sleep before midnight & beyond.Call Hunday Manor Nr Workington for details of these door mechanisms.Best sleep ever

Room Tip: Note; no singles, only doubles & twins, so solo travellers pay for two. Fine, you occupy a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Lancaster House.

I am conscious that you have since been in touch personally, and I hope you will have found my response to your satisfaction. But for the purpose of the TA community, I would like to clarify the matter surrounding fire evacuations.

It is our legal duty, as enforced by the Fire Safety Act 2005 to evacuate the entire premises whenever the alarm sounds, however many times it may ring, and regardless of whatever causes the alarm. The alarms are obviously set at a specific decibel level to ensure that all guests are aware of the evacuation.

During an evacuation, we will not allow guests back to their bedrooms until we are completely satisfied that there is no risk or danger to public safety and it can take some time to conclude this investigation, especially when the cause is not immediately apparent. Naturally, I agree that an alarm in the middle of the night is certainly not the most convenient of times, but I am sure you understand that we take the health, safety and welfare of our guests with the utmost seriousness and we would never compromise this policy in anyway. As I'm sure you will appreciate, the consequences of not evacuating the guests in what could have been a real fire would be unthinkable.

Fire evacuations are rare, and night time ones even rarer. Thankfully, it was not a real fire that caused this evacuation but the alarms did sound for a genuine reason and the cause has to be fully established.

This particular evacuation was made more difficult for my night team by the fact that the hotel was accommodating a large number of disabled guests attending a conference nearby and the night team obviously had to prioritise these guests for the purpose of evacuation and showing due care and diligence, hence why the other "more able-bodied" guests may have felt a lack of communication with our team, but were still able to get themselves to safety by following the fire exit notices.

I'm sure you will understand that we, just like any public building, place of work, shopping centre, cinema or airport, must evacuate the building when the alarm sounds, regardless of time of day, and obviously we had no intent to disturb anyone's sleep. To this end, I cannot and will not offer any form of compensation, as I feel this would be an unjust request in a serious situation like this, for what was our legally bound duty to awaken the guests and evacuate them to safety. This is the same policy which is upheld by all reputable hotel groups and public buildings being sanctioned by all UK Fire Safety Officers.

I am sorry that you did not have a good nights sleep but I hope you understand our legal obligations in these rare and unforeseen matters. I am also a little disappointed that you felt compelled to publish an online review before giving me the chance to explain the situation and prove to you that we do value your business and very much wish you to return to Lancaster House in the future.

With regards to your Room tip, I notice you booked through a 3rd party website which only sells double occupancy rooms. Whilst all of our rooms are either twins/doubles, we do sell single occupancy rates direct through our own official English Lakes Hotels website.

Once again, I am sorry that you did not get a good night's sleep but you have my word that I am committed to the happiness, satisfaction and more importantly, the safety of all our guests.

On a more positive note, I thank you for your kind comments about our hotel facilities, and following our direct correspondence, I am sure than on a future visit, you will leave with a much more favourable impression of Lancaster House.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
2.7 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Property: Lancaster House
Address: Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the balconied Reception Lounge, to the open fire you instinctively know that Lancaster House is a place to savour the good things in life, such as excellent cuisine from The Foodworks Restaurant, or a drink in the courtyard of The Sandeman's Bar. This relaxed elegance is also reflected in each of the 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing