We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel - fine. Food - awful.”
Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 13, 2007

Difficult to write this review as there are two distinctly different elements to the report. I stayed for one night on the 12th October. The room was fine, absolutely nothing special but tidy and forgettable. It's an upmarket Travel Lodge, bed's OK, all the usual trappings re desk etc and the bathroom was clean. The reception area is very nice with a big roaring open fire. The bar is a lot bigger than I remember but it's very expensive so I didnt stay for long. BUT... the big problem is the food. We ate at the restaurant last night - "Food Works" is their new restaurant concept. Nice New York style furnishings, abstract drawings of men on the wall and tea cup lights. All quite impressive. The food was possibly the worst restaurant meal I've ever had and I wasnt on my own. During the 90 minutes we were there I counted four separate tables complaining about the food. The starter was ok - simple, small portion of goats cheese. The main course was terrible. My steak was 90% fat, my colleagues liver was overcooked and inedible. The sauces were thin and tasteless. The veg was raw and cold. The service is laughable with the average age about 17. The wine is expensive and mediocre. It was a £90+ meal and after extensive complaining where the waitress told me there had been complaints all night, I got £30 off. As I was paying another man stood up and made a complaint. This was Fawlty Towers-eque.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonny66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
There are newer reviews for Lancaster House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,322 - 1,328 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2007

We just spent one night here, but felt that we had had a real holiday. The hotel (apart from the porter, who is super friendly and helpful,) seems to be run entirely by very young people who are amazing. Right from check in, where we had to wait a few minutes for our room to be made ready, the service was attentive and helpful.

Our room was a studio suite and was brilliant value for money. It was clean, comfortable and very well appointed with nice touches such as the toy dog and good toiletries. The leisure facilities are also excellent and the outdoor hot tub was a bonus. Families are not penalised here as children were allowed to use the hot tubs etc. Good news for parents, who often find their own enjoyment restricted when kids are excluded.

We decided to dine in the hotel restaurant, which was newly refurbished and looked smart. The menu choices were restricted, but this was a good thing as it allowed the focus to be on quality. We were impressed by the standard of the food, especially at the reasonable prices. This hotel is a bit out of the way and usually hotels make good use of charging for their captive audiences - not so here. Good value and extremely attentive and friendly service from the young waiters/waitresses. The same dining room was used for breakfast, but the limited space around the hot buffet, coupled with the decision (bad one) to have the waiters/waitresses running around re-filling coffee and hot water, made it a bit of a frantic experience. We really can be trusted to pour our own coffee and a teapot for brewing tea would be lovely - please note. Again however, the young people serving were charming and helpful.

If you are seeking an oasis in which to relax then look no further than this hotel. It is outstanding. Much of this is down to the staff who are fantastic young people. The only downsides really are the unneccesary breakfast fuss with tea and coffee and some of the public areas need a bit more tlc - grubby marks wiping from walls and glass surfaces. Very minor things. We would love to go back soon and would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank planeteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank travelpartners05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BlueNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stearnshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2007

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sandra82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Eastieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,058 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
646 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
513 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
351 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Address: Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: $122 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the balconied Reception Lounge, to the open fire you instinctively know that Lancaster House is a place to savour the good things in life, such as excellent cuisine from The Foodworks Restaurant, or a drink in the courtyard of The Sandeman's Bar. This relaxed elegance is also reflected in each of the 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing