We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Babar Elephant

Babar Elephant
Ranked #12 of 246 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Opened 21st July 2010
Morecambe
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My entire family love Babar Elephant - we have been for many family occasions and always have a great time.
The food is lovely, service is friendly and prompt and the prices are very good - the portions are also brilliant and there is always food left over.
The atmosphere is great, particularly for large groups, we often have 15+ in our party, including children, and we are well looked after.
I definitely recommend Babar if you like Indian food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    87
    31
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great first visit”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

When possible always go for an Indian when my sister is visiting from France. Our usual venue was full booked, so as I had heard good things about Babar, decided to give it a try. We weren't disappointed. The food was beautifully served and really delicious. Service was excellent. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazyhaircaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We went to the restaurant on saturday night, we ordered the set meal for two it was excellent. the starter was lovely and for the main course we were brought four different curries that were cooked perfectly, all were served hot, the meats were tender and tasted great. The staff are all really friendly and helpful, they all greeted you with smile. The restaurant is very warm and welcoming we will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank woodp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Gets better and better”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I took a party of 30 to this restaurant recently and the catering was just perfect for all. Not one of my clients complained of the standard of food that was served. The staff could not do enough to make this into a great night with prompt service and kept the drinks flowing. Will definetly be back later in the year.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Salmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington Point QLD Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic food & service”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our second meal here, our last being in September on our last visit to Lancaster, the overall experience was great, the curries were cooked as requested, one of them being very mild. The staff are very professional , the restaurant ambiance is warm & very welcoming. We will be back a few more times before we head home to Australia. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twobays4160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babar Elephant also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to Babar Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing