We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick lunch on a sunny day.”
Review of The Water Witch

The Water Witch
Ranked #20 of 242 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in 1978 and offers a large range of high quality dishes ranging from Great British classics to continental cuisine. Our Head Chef sources all of our produce wherever possible from local British suppliers, enabling us to reduce our food miles and serve you the very best of what's in season. Whether you're visiting to sample our superb array of drinks, dine in our restaurant or combining a little of both - you're always guaranteed a warm welcome at the Water Witch.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quick lunch on a sunny day.”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Went to The Water Witch for a quick lunch today. Chose it purely because of the weather and the fact that we really wanted to sit outside. I had the deli platter and my partner had a BLT on ciabatta. The food was really nice, and reasonable too. We have been to The Water Witch a few times, and will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss_H24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    168
    73
    33
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston
Level Contributor
307 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great canal side location”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Water Witch combines the best of both worlds - a great canal side location close to the city centre. You can sit inside the atmospheric pub or outside by the towpath, watching the world go by. There was a choice of 8 beers and several wines by the glass. For lunch I had a very tasty cheese and onion pie (with Lancashire cheese) and my wife had quite a nice macaroni cheese (with Lancashire cheese), There was also a good choice of veggie dishes and sandwiches. It's just good, honest pub grub at reasonable prices. An interesting feature was a barter system which allows you to trade in your home grown vegetables for beer vouchers - next time I shall take some shallots!. All in all, there cannot be many better places in Lancaster to go for a drink and a meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy little pub”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Visited the Water Witch with a large group of friends who had pre booked and ordered meals, the service was excellent and all 20 of us received our meals at the same time. All had a variety of different meals including the Chicken risotto which was very tasty! They also had a variety of desserts and I would recommend the sticky toffee pudding!
It was reasonably priced and for students there is 10% discount.
Very cosy atmosphere and scenery. As it was too cold to sit outside I will be returning in the summer as it looked really nice on the canal. It is definitely worth a visit if your in the area!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“a lovely spot on the canal”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

A beautiful bar and restaurant just outside Lancaster a 10 minute stroll from the town centre with a fantastic selection of wines and an excellent restaurant with very good food plus friendly staff and excellent service

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thewineking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious, well-presented food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A group of six of us ate here to celebrate a friend's birthday. It was lovely and warm inside the restaurant. The food took a little while to arrive but we were all very impressed with the presentation of our starters. I had goats cheese and avocado mousse and it was delicious. For main I chose the cheese and onion pie which was also delicious, very cheesy but definitely not overly so, and served very hot. The chips they serve are also very tasty and the ketchup comes in little jars with a spoon so it all feels very good quality home-made. I would definitely come here again to try some more of the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YoshuaCaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Water Witch also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Water Witch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing