We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy little pub”
Review of The Water Witch

The Water Witch
Ranked #19 of 243 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in 1978 and offers a large range of high quality dishes ranging from Great British classics to continental cuisine. Our Head Chef sources all of our produce wherever possible from local British suppliers, enabling us to reduce our food miles and serve you the very best of what's in season. Whether you're visiting to sample our superb array of drinks, dine in our restaurant or combining a little of both - you're always guaranteed a warm welcome at the Water Witch.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy little pub”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Visited the Water Witch with a large group of friends who had pre booked and ordered meals, the service was excellent and all 20 of us received our meals at the same time. All had a variety of different meals including the Chicken risotto which was very tasty! They also had a variety of desserts and I would recommend the sticky toffee pudding!
It was reasonably priced and for students there is 10% discount.
Very cosy atmosphere and scenery. As it was too cold to sit outside I will be returning in the summer as it looked really nice on the canal. It is definitely worth a visit if your in the area!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    168
    73
    33
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“a lovely spot on the canal”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

A beautiful bar and restaurant just outside Lancaster a 10 minute stroll from the town centre with a fantastic selection of wines and an excellent restaurant with very good food plus friendly staff and excellent service

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thewineking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious, well-presented food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A group of six of us ate here to celebrate a friend's birthday. It was lovely and warm inside the restaurant. The food took a little while to arrive but we were all very impressed with the presentation of our starters. I had goats cheese and avocado mousse and it was delicious. For main I chose the cheese and onion pie which was also delicious, very cheesy but definitely not overly so, and served very hot. The chips they serve are also very tasty and the ketchup comes in little jars with a spoon so it all feels very good quality home-made. I would definitely come here again to try some more of the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YoshuaCaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Water Witch Lancaster”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and i paid a visit to this beautiful little gem during a recent visit to Lancaster it sits on the banks of the Lancaster canal in relaxing scenic settings and is a lovely place to go for a meal and drink at the bar and not only can you sit indoors you can also sit outside right next to the canal and watch the narrow boats slowly passing bye as they navigate along the canal, it was so peaceful friendly and dreamy here that we cant wait to go back in the summer and relax outside with a cold drink under the hot summer sun...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EcosseClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The service is great in this pub. The food in the restuarant is like fine dining too.
The Veggie choice is great for Lancaster venues.
Visit in summer and sit outside or warm your hearts with a mulled wine in the winter

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Water Witch also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Water Witch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing