We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family meal”
Review of The Water Witch

The Water Witch
Ranked #21 of 243 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Delicatessen, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in 1978 and offers a large range of high quality dishes ranging from Great British classics to continental cuisine. Our Head Chef sources all of our produce wherever possible from local British suppliers, enabling us to reduce our food miles and serve you the very best of what's in season. Whether you're visiting to sample our superb array of drinks, dine in our restaurant or combining a little of both - you're always guaranteed a warm welcome at the Water Witch.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent family meal”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were given a ground floor table which was ideal for our party which included my toddler granddaughter and elderly disabled mother. We were ideally placed to view the specials board and for Mum to access the toilet when required.
There was quite a wait for the food but when it arrived it was well worth the wait.
Some of our party had tested out the venue the previous evening just for a drink and sat adjacent to the canal for a pleasant hour or two. Unfortunately it had rained earlier in the day on the evening we went to eat so all the seating was wet so we had to stay indoors after our meal however we had no problem in keeping our table.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    173
    75
    34
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Beautiful location, delicious food and attentive staff. Interesting specials made using local ingredients. Lovely meal all round.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nej87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, warm, well worth a visit!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This pub has such a beautiful view and the food and service really did match it. The menu was well rounded and i found it very hard to choose between dishes, with my eventual option being the most fantastic pork i'd eaten in a decade. Staff were very friendly and accommodating with the vegetarian in our party well catered for. Lots of lovely wines to choose from also (and ales, afraid it's not my tipple though i'm informed they were good also!) It really was such a lovely dinner and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone & everyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GigiFrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gorgeous pub on the water”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We went to this pub for lunch. It is known in the area for its good food and we were all quite happy with our meals and the service. It rained when we went so we weren't able to sit outside but we did get a window table looking directly over the water. Nice and cosy inside.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fruity_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting over looking the canal”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Really well presented .Lit at night it looked captivating .Had dinner here one night and lunch a couple of days later.
First class food, beautifully cooked . Very relaxed and never felt rushed

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank thepipefishfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Water Witch also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Water Witch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing