We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food and Location”

The Stork Country Inn
Ranked #52 of 243 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Location”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had lots of tasty food at this pub over the last six months, with the perfect option of sitting out on a sunny day, and a lovely walk around the back along the river.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank virginia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    115
    51
    37
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Delight”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We called at The Stork for lunch on a weekday. The food choice was good, we had to wait only a short time to be served and the quality of the food was excellent, all home cooked with local resorced ingredients, I defy anybody to fault it. The staff were friendly and very helpful and at about £10 for a main course excellent value for money. Traditional English dishes were available and for the more adventurous South African ones. the restaurant is situated on the coast were the river Lune runs into the sea. A great place for walks, cycling and bird watching. Be warned though, it gets very busy at weekends so book before you go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tasty food with a South African Twist.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Tasty food with a South African Twist. We hadn't been to The Stork for around 12 months and had forgotten how good the food was along with friendly staff we enjoyed our Kerrie and Eisbein and won't leave it another 12 months before we return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marshallLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton-le-Fylde, Lancashire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“First class lunch with friends”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The menu has a sensible variety of meals on offer, all of which is well priced.
On a very cold winters day, the four of us sat by a roaring log fire and enjoyed the real ale, first class food and impeccable service. It was a very enjoyable occasion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pub food with a South African twist”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went to the Stork on a Tuesday, we hadn't booked, we had a very warm welcome and were lucky to get a table as it was busy.

The menu is a fusion of South African and traditional English fayre. We both had soup to start which was thick, warming and definitely homemade. We decided to try the South African influenced menu and had Cape Malay Kerrie (which is a sort of lamb curry) and the chicken, sweet potato and rocket pie. Both of which were wonderful, full of flavor and definitely something to have again. All main courses come with the option for a 'half' portion this isn't just for children, we had the half portions and the sizes were very generous. Had we had a full portion there is a good chance we would not have been able to eat everything.

I would definitely visit again and recommend anybody in the South Lancaster area take a short drive to the country and pay this place a visit. (you might want to telephone ahead to make a booking to avoid disappointment.)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBandBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stork Country Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Stork Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing