We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my idea of a Country Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scarthwaite Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not my idea of a Country Hotel”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Hotel is next to a static caravan park and felt on first impressions very dated and run down but having said that whilst I was there, there were signs every where explaining that essential repairs where being undertaken. On a personal note rather than painting over to refresh the paintwork the paint needs to be stripped back prior to repainting to get rid of the feeling of age . The bed was OK and nothing was wrong but I won't be paying another visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Iain Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    62
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
107
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in March, our second visit to this old country house, Mike and his team were still as attentive to our needs. Breakfast and dinner are served in the conservatory, the food is good, if you are dining on Saturday make sure you reserve a table. The decor is modern but still clinging to the Victorian style with lots of pictures to enjoy. Nice good sized comfortable rooms. We are looking forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the scarthwaite July 2013, what a fantastic time we all had and that was down to Mike and his team, nothing was to much for them, the evening meal was enjoyed by all, the rooms were very comfortable good nights sleep but what made our stay was the good crack we all had with Mike and the guys, Thank you and we will see you Dec or Jan you have our number.
Mike what was the name of that fine port we drank?

Room Tip: Try Mikes good bottle of Port
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisher112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, Cheshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked an overnight stay here for visiting the Arnside and Silverdale AONB. This hotel is a couple of miles off the M6 and just by the picturesque Crook o'Lune. It is an old country house and is really nicely furnished with Victorian furniture and pictures in the hallways, but enough mod cons to make you feel at home in the rooms. It was lovely to be woke up by the birds instead of a busy motorway. We received a very warm welcome from the staff and the breakfast was top quality and very plentiful. Everything was freshly cooked and nicely presented. It was also close enough to see the Crook O'Lune as well as Arnside and the RSPB reserve at Silverdale ( One stop junction up on the motorway). We also popped into Morecambe, a lovely little resort, for our evening meal on the way home. We would definitely stop off here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshirebabyboomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch here and the food was fantastic. I started with home made carot and coriander soup. So tasty and filling. My husband had garlic mushrooms. Then the main. All fresh veg and the best tasting roast beef we've had in years and so tender. Pudding for me was sicillian lemon torte with ice cream. Very refreshing. My husband had the home made sticvky toffee pudding. It was delicious. So light and tasty. Best value for money. Highly recommend you try it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Christa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have recently had our wedding day and evening reception at The Scarthwaite and we could not be happier with the service we received. The grounds are beautiful and our pictures look gorgeous. Michael and all the staff were very attentive towards all the wedding party and from booking our wedding a year in advance right up until the morning after Michael could not do enough for us. He helped make our day special and no request was too much trouble. The food was excellent and promptly served, everyone enjoyed the day. Breakfast the morning after was also very tasty and we left well satisfied after having the perfect wedding. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Imagine this. A warlike alien scouting party lands on Earth with orders to seek out a sample of humanity to reinforce home planet preconceptions that Earthlings are despicable and require annihilation. Their command GRPS system randomly selects Scarthwaite Country House Hotel. On landing they encounter friendly and hospitable hosts, who provide them with a substantial meal of quality, and make available rooms with relaxed decor and beguiling views. They fall soundly asleep, and on waking are so enchanted with their surroundings that they advise mother ship to cancel the invasion. It could happen to you too. It certainly happened to us.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mythspelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarthwaite, Owner at Scarthwaite Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
The earthlings definitely started the encounter badly.
The GPRS signal from the alien ship knocked out all external communications at the hotel and caused the hotel’s office PC and fax server to reboot to that innocuous state of ‘Press Any key to continue’. Sadly the humans had not even noticed and definitely wouldn’t have been able to find the ‘Any’ key on the keyboard at such short notice.
The human hoteliers were already dealing with an unprecedented invasion of several couples of their own species, all simultaneously clamouring to sample the substantive meals of quality and the poor receptionist / barmaid / waitress who was more used to painting her nails and looking pretty, as on any quiet Sunday night of which there have been many over the last few years, was rushed off her feet.
The human patron was doing battle in the kitchen with the wide variety of delicious ingredients used in the substantive meals in temperatures approaching Hades on a hot day whilst trying to reconcile why he had no record of the impending arrival of such important and potentially lifechanging honoured guests.
The honoured guests required accommodations with immersive facilities and although such rooms did exist, the extremely busy wedding the day before had caused the earthlings to not completely refurbish to their usual high standards, as the demand was apparently not there. There was accommodation with precipatitive facilities ready to go, but this was not to the requirements of the honoured visitors.
The pretty barmaid took the initiative to summon reinforcements to allow the immediate demands of the humanoid clientele to be satisfied whilst the new requirements of a room with immersive facilities could be prepared to the high standards expected. The hotelier remembered an excellent elixir, that when cooled to the correct temperature could calm even the most savage intergalactic visitor. He nervously prepared the elixir and served it to the alien visitors in the appropriate dosage to allow calm to return whilst the reinforcements arrived and allowed the hotelier and his staff to deliver services to the expected levels.
Calm returned and the pleasant summer’s evening was enjoyed by all. The following morning, the lucky hotelier exchanged anecdotes with the alien invaders about their earlier more successful local visits, where they had found suitable premises to annihilate. They departed as intergalactic friends.

Hoteliers, it could happen to you! It certainly happened to us!

Thank you so much for your patience, and your very kind review, It was certainly one in a million! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
3.3 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
489 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#4 of 25 in Lancaster
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wagon & Horses
Wagon & Horses
#8 of 25 in Lancaster
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarthwaite Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarthwaite Country House Hotel

Property: Scarthwaite Country House Hotel
Address: Crook O' Lune | Caton, Lancaster LA2 9HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scarthwaite Country House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the beautiful and unspoiled Lune valley, overlooking the celebrated Crook O'Lune, the Scarthwaite is a small, comfortable, family run hotel with restaurant and banqueting facilities. With traditional British, Continental and Asian cuisine, the Scarthwaite has something to offer all palates. Quality and value are our watchwords and we pride ourselves on using the excellent local produce from this area. The Scarthwaite, where memories are made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scarthwaite Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing