We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe fresh tasty gf food”
Review of The Borough

The Borough
Order Online
Ranked #28 of 228 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $20 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A warm and welcoming pub restaurant located in the heart of Lancaster City Centre. From Camra award winning ales to Michelin recommend food we aim to offer something for everyone.
Reviewed April 17, 2019

Ate here on a Sunday evening- very busy, lively atmosphere. Spacious tables.Service was excellent, food very tasty,freshly prepared.Meals that can be made gf are clearly marked on the menu and I enjoyed a pate starter with gf bread,a main of duck breast with fandant poato,veg and a delicious chorizo sauce. No ill effects afterwards.. My two 'normal' companions also enjoyed delicious food (and beer!)

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieMason13, Manager at The Borough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We try to be as diverse as possible when it comes to allergy's and intolerance's, i am glad to hear that you found something you enjoyed!

Thank you for your excellent review and we hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2019

I meet here a few times per year for lunch with friends, its always consistently good.
We always get a warm welcome, the waitress Janet always looks after us, and that makes it special, and is why we keep returning, table 10 please.
The food and wine is always great, good choice with added specials, and school dinners, make it a fun way to spend an afternoon.
Apparently we 'do it right'.
We will certainly return soon.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterCrudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieMason13, Manager at The Borough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for a brilliant review! Janet will be rewarded for her continuing excellent customer service skills.

We look forward to seeing you again on your table 10!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

Had a night away without the kids. Great location for a bit of fell walking, night out in Lancaster and a parkrun! Great breakfast. Loved the place, would definitely stay again.

Date of visit: April 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank KirstenB1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieMason13, Manager at The Borough, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Thank you for leaving us an amazing review. I'm glad you and your children enjoyed your stay with us!

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

Went here with my friend for dinner on a weekday. Long story cut short we waited 2 hours for food. When we asked where it was at they said it would be ‘7minutes’ well didn’t come for a further 20. Once it came the duck was cold and I had asked for chips and they didn’t come as the waiter said it would fill me. Well after two hours of waiting I ate it all and went to McDonald’s after because I was still hungry. Least the drinks were free. Oh but that was a disaster in itselfbecause the two cokes we got were flat to begin with. Eventually they gave us bottles.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 919kirstya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieMason13, Manager at The Borough, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2019

We are very sorry about your experience with us at The Borough. We take our reviews very seriously and this will be further investigated during our weekly managers meeting.

Please send us an email at manager@theboroughlancaster.co.uk , we would like to resolve this issue and send you some complementary vouchers as an apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

Been a fairly frequent visitor to the Borough over the years , so it’s disappointing to have to give such poor feedback as it’s such a great pub with all its history etc.
We booked a table but the booking went astray somehow. No idea if the chef or manager has been changed, but the finer details of service and food quality just seem to have slipped, which seems to be reflected in some of the reviews here.
Menus are starting to look a bit grubby. Food service was very slow, despite it being a relatively quiet evening.
We had a burger and chips which was pretty bog standard fayre. At £12 it certainly fell short of what you can get elsewhere. Battered fish was quite oily / greasy.
On the positive side, the staff were friendly so can’t fault that at all . Still a great pub in a great location for a few drinks but it will be quite a while before we eat there again I’m sad to say.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Nosebag61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieMason13, Manager at The Borough, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2019

I'm very sorry to hear of the unsatisfactory food and slow service during your last visit to The Borough. This is by no means the standard we would like to set and your feed back will be bought up in our weekly managers meeting.

I am glad to hear on the other hand of your comments on the staff's customer service towards you.

Please drop us an email so we can send you some vouchers as an apology. - manager@theboroughlancaster.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Borough also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to The Borough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing