We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”
Review of The Borough

The Borough
Ranked #24 of 203 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A warm and welcoming pub restaurant located in the heart of Lancaster City Centre. From Camra award winning ales to Michelin recommend food we aim to offer something for everyone.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal with free bubbly because we booked online. Food great lovely menu personal service. Great price pre theatre meal. Then on to dukes theatre 2 mins away. Excellent great atmosphere.

Thank eve1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCSeater, Manager at The Borough, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the free fizz and theatre deal. I hope you will visit again soon.

Thanks,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 742 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

We visited the Borough on a recommendation of a lady in a book shop, after looking through the windows of a couple of pubs that we didn't fancy! The Borough was a great find. The front has lots of comfy sofas and leather armchairs. They do a wide range of beers. At the back is a restaurant area with large tables. Service was quick. We went on 'steak night' and we both chose steak. It was £10 and very good value. The steaks were cooked to perfection with lovely home-made onion rings and good chips. Well worth a visit!

Thank tania895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCSeater, Manager at The Borough, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your custom and kind review. I hope you visit us again soon.

Thanks,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A great place in the centre of Lancaster. Great for Comedy nights once a week. Wide range of cask beers and very good staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suttyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCSeater, Manager at The Borough, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your kind review. If you would like to review Lancaster Comedy Club separately it also has a trip advisor page.

Hope to see you again soon

Thanks,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Great pub, not so great restaurant. The burgers are small, more expensive and far less tasty than the incredible burgers round the corner at Oscars. There is a dreary classroom vibe going on. The pub is fantastic though!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laura t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCSeater, Manager at The Borough, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi,

I am glad you like the pub. However, it is disappointing to hear that you were disappointed with the burgers your comments have been passed onto the chefs.

Thanks,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Called in with a friend for Sunday lunch, had waited nearly an hour for food to arrive, when we asked what was taking so long the Manger said we have a party upstairs resulting in our food being delayed - clearly this party was a priority over every other customer. when food arrived it was cold, was of poor quality and tasteless ending up in us sending the food back to the kitchen. They exchanged our food for the same however was only slightly warmer and no difference in taste, did not enjoy this meal and was expecting it to be much better due to previous reviews and waiting so long!!! Ordered a pudding due to being so hungry after our long wait although wasn't really expecting it to be much following the main meal - sticky toffee pudding - should normally be served hot but was cold however the custard was hot - seemed to me to be more microwave food!!! When asked how our meal was we told them our issues about the meal and was offered a £10 voucher towards our next meal which really does not compensate as I will not be returning any time soon nor will I be recommending! The only thing I enjoyed about this place was the atmosphere as it was busy however appears to be very over hyped and over rated!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrawsthorne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCSeater, Manager at The Borough, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi,

I can only apologise for your experience. Of course no customers take priority over others, however when we have a function upstairs it limits the kitchen.

I do hope you will give us another chance.

Kind regards,

Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Borough also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to The Borough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing