We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea. Mothers Day”
Review of The Courtyard Cafe

The Courtyard Cafe
Ranked #50 of 231 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $3 - $7
Description: The Courtyard Cafe serves homemade cakes, freshly ground coffee and a fine selection of hot and cold food prepared to order. All proceeds to St John's Hospice.
Restaurant details
Description: The Courtyard Cafe serves homemade cakes, freshly ground coffee and a fine selection of hot and cold food prepared to order. All proceeds to St John's Hospice.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

What a fabulous time we had at the cafe, Mother’s Day treat. The food and presentation were superb.Me being gluten free really enjoyed special treatment with the same afternoon tea but gluten free.Will definitely be returning,perhaps through the week to enjoy more goodies.Well done St Johns Hospice keep up the good work.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lakelands22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardC2, General Manager at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2019

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review your experience on Mother's Day at the Courtyard Cafe. Our staff and volunteers had a fantastic time serving so many deserving mothers and it is very rewarding to their efforts to hear you enjoyed yourselves. We are planning more special events like this for the future so keep your eyes peeled. Hope to see you again soon, all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2019

lovely food lovely service and décor very nice and pleasant and comfortable their is a lot of work gonging on at the moment in the grounds i think to make the car park larger the service is so nice and mostly voluntary workers we have been a few times on a nice day their are tables out side also you can have cake and a drink soup and a meal we will be back for more lovely food and service

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardC2, General Manager at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2019

Hi thank you for your review. We have got a lot of work going on at the Hospice at the moment but our new visitors car park will be completed in early May just in time for the St John's Hospice Plant Sale. We will have nearly doubled the number of spaces to meet the needs of our visitors and patrons. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019

Lovely light and airy cafe with peaceful sheltered garden area, Ignore the building works going on outside all is calm inside. Had delicious cream veg soup with fresh bread and butter beautifully presented. Didnt sample cakes today but they all looked delicious so will be back to do so. Stupidly left my handbag on chair so returned an hour or do later to find it had been safely stowed away by one of the friendly efficient staff, many thanks for that. Close to both Carnforth and Lancaster, give it a try.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Passenger761269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardC2, General Manager at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and really hope to see you again soon when hopefully you will have time to try our amazing cakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

Spacious clean well decorated immaculate cafe staff attentive however coffee lukewarm from a vending machine no parking as car park dug up at moment was told by reception team cannot use cafe unless we are relatives of patients as it’s not open to public menu small it was lacking in something but has the makings of somewhere really nice

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 138janinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardC2, Manager at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Hello and thanks for taking the time to feedback. We are checking the coffee making machine –it grinds beans to make fresh coffee so we are sorry it tasted like vending machine coffee on this occasion. The car park is indeed closed at the moment as we extend it to meet increasing demand – please bear with us. The Courtyard Café is currently closed to the general public for a four week period and remains open to relatives who are visiting patients, there is signage so if it isn’t clear we will look at it again. We will re-open fully in three weeks’ time with our usual full and delicious menu so please do come and see us again – our ‘Fish and Chip Friday’ is legendary and so are our cakes! A big thank you for your kind comments about the café being spacious, clean and well decorated, as well as your feedback about our staff and volunteers being attentive. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

Stopped here on the way from Hampshire to Scotland. Only 10 mins off the M6. Lunch was so good that we stopped again on our return journey. This time we really hit the jackpot - Wednesday is Roast day. My parents commented that they had never tasted beef so tender. My nut roast was perfect. Portions were ample & everything was served with a smile.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, amazing considering they are all volunteers. Everyone’s customer service skills were excellent.
We took our coffees into the courtyard garden & it was so beautiful & peaceful sitting there in the sunshine that it was hard to leave & get back on the M6.
Highly recommended & definitely “worth a detour”.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank rebeccaw253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardC2, General Manager at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Hi Rebecca, we are so glad you found us and that you enjoyed your experience at our café. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we hope you will remember us the next time you journey up north!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courtyard Cafe also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to The Courtyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing