We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food and great value”

The Butcher and Tonic
Ranked #3 of 231 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Description: A bespoke restaurant in the heart of Lancaster serving contemporary British cuisine, featuring a masonic hall and the broadest gin selection around.
Restaurant details
Description: A bespoke restaurant in the heart of Lancaster serving contemporary British cuisine, featuring a masonic hall and the broadest gin selection around.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

Called in with friends to try the deal ... 3 courses and 3 guns.
The food was excellent, at least 20 guns to choose from, and friendly well trained staff .
Couldn’t ask for more !

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Pippa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 342 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

I’ve couldn’t believe the que for this place wasn’t out the door! So thrilled we managed to get in and spent the night here! Danny was truly amazing behind the bar, so friendly and made the best gin and tonics!
Now for the food! Completely astounded by the quality and price! Food was absolutely amazing and this place is definitely not one to be missed! 3 gins and 3 course for £25!! Should be £50 or more! We have eaten in a lot of places of all prices but this definitely tops the lot! If your visiting like us it’s a must go!! I wish we had one in Nottinghamshire, we would go all the time!
Can’t thank all your staff enough for an amazing experience and excellent food! Caters for everyone’s needs and makes everyone feel welcome!
We will definitely be back! Many thanks!! :):):)

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Kasia247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

Three of us visited to celebrate a friend's birthday and what a fabulous choice this was. We decided on the 3 courses 3 gins menu (what a fantastic idea!) - great value at £25. We were thoroughly blown away by the food - so delicious and clearly freshly prepared using high quality ingredients. My personal favourites were the goat's cheese and beetroot starter with honey sorbet (to die for) and the pavlova. Friends also enjoyed the crab cakes, belly pork and halloumi salad. There's an amazing choice of gins to go with these delights - all with tasting notes to help you decide which will go with which dish. The whole experience was an absolute delight - the food, the really friendly and helpful staff, and the quirky setting. This was our first visit but it certainly won't be our last. Thanks to the chef and the lovely front of house lady for a fantastic afternoon!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

Visited for tea after a cinema visit. Thought we’d try the new menu, as my friend is veggie the new extended vegetarian/vegan menu was a blessing. She was spoilt for choice but loved the mushroom pasta. I had the crab cakes, no wonder they say they can’t keep up with making them. My partner tried the cottage pie, very tasty, very meaty. Reasonably priced, great service, no meal to make when we got home, what more could I ask for

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Witch1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

We visited for a mid-week evening meal out and ate off the set menu - 3 courses and 3 gins for £25 per person. Great value and tasty food. We both had the steak and really enjoyed it. They had a couple of big parties in so they offered to seat us around the corner where it was a bit quieter which was perfect for us. The staff were really friendly too!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butcher and Tonic also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to The Butcher and Tonic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing