We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE GEM”
Review of Wagon & Horses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wagon & Horses
Ranked #8 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A LITTLE GEM”
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Its a pleasure to recommend this Hotel to other travelers. Spotlessly clean & comfortable. Excellent menu. You will not find better management & staff anywhere. Thanks to all the staff for their help during our recent stay. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezzybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    60
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
124
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

My fiance booked a room at the Wagon & Horses after reading a handful of excellent reviews on Trip Advisor.
We arrived at the Wagon & Horses at lunch time, we had read that there wasnt many parking spaces but luckily we found a space right outside of the pub, We walked in to be greeted by a very friendly lady behind the bar. I explained we had reserved a room, she looked in the book and with in seconds the owner had come to show us to our room. We asked him if our car would be ok there he explained that it would be ok for 3 hours then we would have to move it, but if parked there after 6pm it would be ok to leave there all night, he did say that he has a space and would let us park there. So we moved the car and parked round the back in the owners space.
The room was very clean and had tasteful decor, we made the booking for a double room but the only room they had was a twin, the owner was very apologetic, but we was fine with a twin.
After unpacking our overnight bags we wondered down to the pub and had some lunch. The service was very quick and the food was of a high standard. We was going to a football match in Moorecomb and the staff telephoned us a taxi, that arrived in no time.
On the night we got changed and had futher drinks in the bar, the bar was very busy and had a nice atmosphere to it, last ordes is at 12.30am so plenty of drinking time.
After a night of drinks we slept very well and the bed where very comforty.
For the £75.00 we paid breakfast was included, this is served till 10.30am. The breakfast is bought to your table and there is a huge choice from cerals, fresh friut or a full english.
The stay was very enjoyable and we highly recommend this place to stay for a night away.
10 out of 10 for everything :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTandLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district, england
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at Wagon & Horses on a Friday night on way to Manchester with our friends. On arrival there was no vacant car parking so one of the staff moved their car to let us park! We were taken to our rooms which were lovely and cozy. Next we went downstairs to have a meal. The service was very good and attentive and the food excellent. In the morning we were looked after by Mick, the owner, who was very friendly. Once again the quality of the breakfast was excellent. Needless to say we will return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starrynights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

I have reviewed many hotels and B&B's on Trip Advisor and this is the most difficult yet........

The rooms at the Wagon and Horses are superb with modern facilities, all refurbished and spotlessly clean. Good in-room facilities although the room we had was a little cramped. Absolutely no complaints here.

The food was exceptional. We ate in the pub for an evening meal and the food was superb and the breakfast was probably the best of any I have ever tasted. Absolutely no complaints here.

The staff were friendly without being in your face and were very helpful. Absolutely no complaints here.

What could possibly go wrong? Well we booked for two nights and after an exhausting day out found that had our bags had been packed as the pub had overbooked. There wasn't exactly a great attempt at finding us alternative accommodation with just a 'we've had a look on the internet and couldn't find anything...'. We drove 10 minutes up the road to Morecambe and found loads of accommodation! There was also the question of why were we kicked out when we there already? Also what kind of booking system did they have to allow this to happen.

So a great place to stay but the booking system is totally inadequate and when things go badly wrong maybe (only maybe) they don't know how to cope.

Finally, this was a pub and £75 a night for a pub room with no parking facilities er.....I don't hink so and no offer was made to reduce our rate due their cock up!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r2uzenblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Myself, wife, sister-in-law & husband, brother-in-law & wife met up for two days at the W&H. We could not have chosen a better place to stay - the service from a very friendly staff was excellent and they couldn't do enough for us. (I have to mention particularly Mandy the proprietoress and Carole from bar and restaurant). We had come down from East Kilbride to meet the rest of the group who were up from the south and we felt immediately at home. The rooms and bathrooms were absolutely brilliant with decor and cleanliness spot on. All of the food was fab and we needed a crane to lift us up from the table after the breakfasts. Finally the W&H had all the atmosphere of an Inn. A trip to remember - we will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billythekid06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We just returned from the Lake District. My husband and I based ourselves in Lancaster for the train links and options to travel to multiple locations easily. We chose the Wagon and Horses because it looked charming, had decent reviews, and a good location near the river. We took the scenic route from the station, past the castle and cathedral, down a steep footpath to the quay side. We received a warm welcome to our room, number 3, which was quite small but looked recently refurbished with a nice flat screen telly and views of the river.

We ate dinner there the first and last night of our stay, really great food. They do both pub grub and more posh food as well, big portions so don't say you haven't been warned. It's a short walk to town, and next door to the Maritime Museum. The staff were all very friendly, and nothing seemed like too much trouble. Only down side was that early in the morning there was quite a bit of traffic that detracted from the promise of sleeping in late. Breakfast was fab, and I had the full variety, from berries and cream to a full English. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Stayed at the Waggon and Horses for our son's graduation in July. The room although not overly big was clean,modern and very comfortable. We had eaten out earlier in the day so didn't stay for dinner but the breakfast was superb. The service was excellent. We have stayed up in Lancaster before and wished we had known how good it was before this stay. Will definately stay again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twosometravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.7 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
511 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagon & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon & Horses

Property: Wagon & Horses
Address: 27 St. Georges Quay, Lancaster LA1 1RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wagon & Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wagon and Horses is a renovated historic building situated along the quayside on the River Lune. It’s an ideal location for exploring the city on foot, as it is only a five minute walk into the city along the river Lune. Cyclists are regular visitors, as it’s located on one of the many cycling routes Lancaster has to offer.All en-suite rooms are furnished to a high standard with free Wi-Fi , tea and coffee facilities as well as complimentary toiletries, everything you need whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.A great start to the day is guaranteed as a hearty breakfast is included in the price of the accommodation. The gastro pub offers locally sourced home cooked food, that can be washed down with a great selection of quality wines by the glass or bottle or why not try one of our cask ales. Visit us in the winter months and sit by a roaring fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wagon & Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wagon & Horses Hotel Lancaster
Wagon And Horses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing