We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, good accoms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wagon & Horses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wagon & Horses
Ranked #8 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good accoms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife spent a weekend here for a family reunion. After we drove around the idiotic one way system in the city centre three times, we finally found it and then all was well. Very friendly innkeepers, good food, clean comfortable room. Nothing fancy but then neither is the price, I think it was good value for money and centrally located too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalibisheCoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    57
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
32
120
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chislehurst, Kent,
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Had just visited the Maritime museum and fancied a pint and a snack. 2 families from London with teenage kids.
Very comfy, felt very welcomed.
Great doorstep sandwiches, lovely home made soup and delicious local shrimps.
Good beer, nice landlord & landlady.
Recommend indeed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princess21071206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Had an unplanned meal out with the family and ended p by chance at the Wagon and Horses. Must say that we were pleasently surprised by the lovely hospitality and the wonderfull food. The owners were also keeping our children quiet with free lollipops :)

Will go again for sure. If you want a chilled out relaxed meal and dirk then this is a great option.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Last minute decision to visit Lancaster, not sure of where to stay!! A friend recommends the wagon and horses!! It's recently been taken over by a family who were absolutley lovely!! They are very welcoming and happy to help!! The rooms are clean and comfortable overall I've enjoyed my stay and will 100% stay again if I'm ever in Lancaster!! People always say you only write reviews if you have a bad experience, but I really think this place deserves a nice word said about it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mim92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Having eaten in this pub many times, we decided to return again as a celebration with family. Out of the 3 menus they had, food was only available on one menu, yet the pub was quiet! Out of the menu available, they had run out of 2 of the options on that! When the parfait came, the portion was not even classed as a portion, it looked like it had been scrapped out of a jar and dropped from great hight! This was accompanied by a slice of warburtons white bread! The service was poor which matched the quality of food, which is a shame as this was once a lovely place to eat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KandMLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Booked a double and a twin room here in a slight state of desperation but it was well worth £55p per room, per night. Yes, per room, not per person. Very good value. Rooms were much more stylish than they appeared on the website http://www.wagonandhorsespub.co.uk. Breakfast was good although slightly hampered by a failed delivery one morning, staff were as helpful as they could be.

Excellent room, felt like they were newly re-done. We had a smallish en-suite double room and an impressive twin: extra large with accessible bathroom to accommodate someone with a wheelchair. well worth it. We were on the 1st floor, so we could hear the sound from the bar at night, but it did not disturb us. Good wi-fi cover throughout, no phone in the bedroom or freebie toiletries but that didn't concern us.

Dinner was good, not fantastic but they have a good range of beers, some local, which we enjoyed to the full.

A very short walk from the city and minutes up the hill to the castle.

Lovely

Room Tip: Excellent twin room for someone in a wheelchair or other mobility problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duchess43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Good quiet location,rooms very clean and comfortable.Stayed with 2 other couples,we had a twin room which seemed a liitle bigger than the double rooms.Food in the bar was good quality and reasonably priced.Breakfast very good.Would definitely recommend this pub for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tattiepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.7 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#4 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borough Hotel
The Borough Hotel
#7 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagon & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon & Horses

Property: Wagon & Horses
Address: 27 St. Georges Quay, Lancaster LA1 1RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wagon & Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wagon and Horses is a renovated historic building situated along the quayside on the River Lune. It’s an ideal location for exploring the city on foot, as it is only a five minute walk into the city along the river Lune. Cyclists are regular visitors, as it’s located on one of the many cycling routes Lancaster has to offer.All en-suite rooms are furnished to a high standard with free Wi-Fi , tea and coffee facilities as well as complimentary toiletries, everything you need whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.A great start to the day is guaranteed as a hearty breakfast is included in the price of the accommodation. The gastro pub offers locally sourced home cooked food, that can be washed down with a great selection of quality wines by the glass or bottle or why not try one of our cask ales. Visit us in the winter months and sit by a roaring fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wagon & Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wagon & Horses Hotel Lancaster
Wagon And Horses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing