We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great over night stay”
Review of Wagon & Horses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wagon & Horses
Ranked #8 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great over night stay”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Good quiet location,rooms very clean and comfortable.Stayed with 2 other couples,we had a twin room which seemed a liitle bigger than the double rooms.Food in the bar was good quality and reasonably priced.Breakfast very good.Would definitely recommend this pub for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tattiepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    59
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
34
122
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Home in Cumbria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Three friends and myself have just spent two nights at the Wagon & Horses and all of us would recommend it wholeheartedly. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable and the bathrooms were excellent. The staff were most helpful and friendly and the breakfasts were superb. The hotel is situated on the river front, it is quiet and yet is only a five minute walk from the Castle and the centre of Lancaster. The prices are very reasonable and we would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: For anyone requiring it, there is a disabled room with all necessary facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank country-baggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Having read the reviews we decided to book the Wagon and Horses for a 2 night stay. We were greeted warmly and shown to our room which was quite small but adequate and very clean. The bed was a bit on the small side but very comfortable. The bathroom was excellent with the best shower I have ever used.
The cooked breakfast was excellent and if you like smoked salmon and scrambled eggs you won't find better anywhere.
The only slight disappointment was that they no longer supply the excellent looking evening menu which is shown on their website. However the fare is good pubfood and the homemade steak in ale pie was great.
Situated along the quayside it was handily placed for the city centre about 400 yards away and is only a short walk from the castle which you can access from the quayside up a steep path. Worth a visit.
If you want to eat out then we can recommend an Italian reastaurane called ETNA in the centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed there 4 nights at this luxury pub .However very disorganised when it came to breakfast and staffing.No times were listed when food available.Excellent evening meals with not all your regular pub style food .There are no telephones in the small rooms .Just found out night before that there was a manager on staff.WIFI not working
Security is excellent as there is a locked door to the bedrooms so the patrons cannot go upstairs without a key.There is also a lift to the rooms which is a real plus.Once new management has got there act together it will be the place to stay in Lancaster.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlescotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights, the hotel is very clean and well presented. Breakfast was lovely and the bar staff were very pleasant. Our double room was small, but offered all that we required. The bathroom was spotless and had a power shower. Great place for a short break, if you like a spacious room it's not for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and i stayed 7 nights the welcome was great the staff were very helpful , the food was great , the room was clean and well serviced , the only fault was there was No room heating or hot water ,when we asked about this a woman came up and showed how to put the electric towel rail on and leave the bathroom door open , oh and boil a kettle , but we were told that the Maintenance men were coming . so we went down to the pub that was nice and warm

Room Tip: Keep the elctric towel rail on
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troutweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

A pleasant pub but badly let down by incompetence in the morning. Breakfast booked for 7.15 am arrived at 8.00 and incomplete - i had a train to catch so this spoilt the stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artsperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.7 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
495 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
1,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#5 of 24 in Lancaster
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Bar
The Royal Hotel and Bar
#4 of 24 in Lancaster
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagon & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon & Horses

Property: Wagon & Horses
Address: 27 St. Georges Quay, Lancaster LA1 1RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wagon & Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wagon and Horses is a renovated historic building situated along the quayside on the River Lune. It’s an ideal location for exploring the city on foot, as it is only a five minute walk into the city along the river Lune. Cyclists are regular visitors, as it’s located on one of the many cycling routes Lancaster has to offer.All en-suite rooms are furnished to a high standard with free Wi-Fi , tea and coffee facilities as well as complimentary toiletries, everything you need whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.A great start to the day is guaranteed as a hearty breakfast is included in the price of the accommodation. The gastro pub offers locally sourced home cooked food, that can be washed down with a great selection of quality wines by the glass or bottle or why not try one of our cask ales. Visit us in the winter months and sit by a roaring fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wagon & Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wagon & Horses Hotel Lancaster
Wagon And Horses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing