We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese Restaurant in England”

The Rocking Horse Chinese
Ranked #69 of 231 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $10 - $63
Description: Our award-winning chef Ming and his team are dedicated to provide our customers with authentic and fusion Chinese cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: Our award-winning chef Ming and his team are dedicated to provide our customers with authentic and fusion Chinese cuisine.
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

We had the Rocking Horse set menu for 2. It could have fed four. The quality was first class the service exceptional and the Gewurstraminer Wine a perfect partner to the meal. I would recommend you try this place it is for us the best Chinese meal we have had in the West.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank michaelbV4183ZX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 71 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2018

I have visited the restaurant twice and was surprised by how good the service and quality of food was, I had the twice cooked pork which is melt in the mouth and have tried there salt and pepper squid which is to die for. Highly recommended by a food lover.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2018

On a visit recently, I found the service good, but the food too expensive, compared with
other Chinese restaurants in the town.
It took a long time for the food to arrive at the table, and it was not good, tasteless.
Would I try it again no.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank graduateLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

We ordered a takeaway from here on Saturday night as we had read previous good reviews. Shocked at the quality of this Chinese, firstly they forgot one main that we had ordered. Despite ordering salt and pepper chicken wings, what came was plain, very greasy, and flavourless wings. The sweet n sour chick had no real flavour and lacked sauce and the egg fried rice was very oily. Spring rolls again very greasy and no flavour. Will not be going back, the worst Chinese we’ve had. The dog seemed to enjoy it though.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank ricg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

Amazing food, great service , by far the best Chinese restaurant in Lancaster . The lady who served us was incredibly welcoming and helpful would recommend this restaurant to everyone

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank LindaH1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rocking Horse Chinese also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to The Rocking Horse Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing