We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stop off,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crows Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #6 of 13 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Arrived at 10:10pm; the place was shut up which I was a little surprised about given it was a Friday night and there was a bar area downstairs.

Had to call a number to get someone to open the door, was given the key to a nice looking room around the back of the hotel. Pleasant night's sleep, but a little warm.

Breakfast starts at 8 on a weekend, and we had arranged with the person that lead us to the room that we would be down at that time. At 8.10 there were still no signs of life in the restaurant (we were outside, trying to look in given the room/restaurant set up), and the 24 hour number we had been given did not connect or was once busy, when tried on two separate phones on different networks, up to about 10 times. So we had to pay for breakfast again, at a cafe down the road.

I'd call to let them know about the service, but what's the point if they're not going to answer phone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiral_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 117 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed in the Crows Nest for one night visiting family. I was offered room 9, on the day it had been completed. It's a great spacious room in the roof with warm decor and good quality furniture. The rooms are above the restaurant where breakfast was served - simple and well done.

The only things that let it down were the dirty stairs (inevitable as they open to the street) and the fact you need to step outside to get to the rooms.

Friendly owner, good price for the quality of room, would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tayloro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I had 3 great days in Lancaster. The Crows Nest was cosy and convenient for public transport. We visited the castle and cathedral in Lancaster. We took a bus to the Ashton Memorial in lovely Williamson Park, walked along the river and wore ourselves out.
We took a bus from Lancaster to Heysham and walked from there to Morecambe's Happy Mount Park. We were sorry that we didn't book a couple of extra nights.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed here on our way through Lancaster, and it's unlikely we will return. Although clean and recently redecorated, the room was cramped and stuffy, and the main street location is so busy that it wasn't possible to sleep with the windows open. The bed was uncomfortable, the room over-furnished, and we had to wake up the chef to get our car out of the tiny back-yard car park. Despite advertising an early check-out facility, we were told that there was no possibility of even a buffet breakfast and pointed in the direction of a (closed) cafe over the road. There are no staff on duty overnight so it's a good job we didn't need anything!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smferguson678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

In the hotel's favour: seemed reasonably clean, reasonably comfortable bed, good TV. However, it all seemed a bit dingy and, in general, I had the impression that the owners didn't really care. There was an old tissue in one of the drawers, the shower gel dispenser was empty, and neither of the bedside lights worked. I wasn't impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veritate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were travelling back from Leicestershire to Edinburgh and wanted to stop somewhere half way. Booked this place at a few days notice and were v impressed.

We arrived 15mins before the restaurant located beneath the hotel closed, but after we were quickly checked in, we were able to park our car a few metres away , dumped our bags in our room and then went down for dinner. Had good food, but service not great but probably because it was late in the day.

Room great, spacious, clean, nice firm bed but it was very hot. We turned off the heated towel rain in the bathroom but still quite stuffy. Nevertheless slept well and great shower.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My daughter and I booked in here late evening when my father in law was rushed into hospital. The manager on duty could not have been more helpful. He had our rooms open waiting for us and helped us to park in the limited space available. The room was clean and comfortable and very good value.

Family in a neighbouring room, were disturbed by a party in another room, but on calling reception this was quickly dealt with.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaHn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
367 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Station House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crows Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crows Hotel Lancaster

Address: 10 Kings Street, Lancaster LA1 1JN, England (Formerly Crows Nest Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: $77 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crows Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crows Hotel, "an excellent base for exploring Lancaster and the beautiful nearby countryside." The perfect stay - Crows Hotel is everything a city centre hotel should be. Clean, cosy and quiet, our recently refurbished rooms provide everything you need for a perfect night's sleep in the heart of the city, the Crows Hotel is affordable and unbeatable. We have 9 comfortable rooms all of good size, all rooms are modern, airy and light with contemporary finishing touches that give you everything you expect and more. The rooms on the top floor are offset by original open beams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Crows Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing