We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word.............OUT OF THIS WORLD”
Review of The Ashton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ashton
Ranked #2 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One word.............OUT OF THIS WORLD”
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Just returned from a sort mid week break with my husband, we stayed at the Ashton for one night ( wish it had been longer). The Ashton is a wonderful place VERY peaceful and welcoming, James is a perfect host, as soon as we arrived he gave us tea and homemade cake....yummy.Our room on the groundfloor was wonderful, the decor, the HUGE bed, OH and the bathroom was out of this world, free standing bath and a double shower and Ren products.Sunday evening we had booked the" supper club", James is a fantastic chef........Gordon Ramsey.........LOOK OUT, also Craig thanks for recommending the Eton mess. After a very peaceful night........I didn't want to get out of that bed!! we had a brilliant breakfast, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on english muffin :)) Thank you again James, next time we will stay longer. Liz and Brian

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelassie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
202
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Had a lovely stay with my sister and Step-mother, to celebrate my 40th Birthday. James and Craig made us so welcome from the moment we arrived. The decor is so stylish, and such attention to detail with beautiful fresh flowers, candles, sweets etc... The rooms were contemporary but were dotted with old elegant pieces, that just fitted in perfectly. Wonderfully clean and not a thing out of place! The food was fantastic, a wonderful evening meal followed by one of the best breakfasts i have ever eaten. Loved the home made pancakes and the fresh fruit. A real special treat. I will be recommending it to my friends and family, and am already planning to return with my husband before the year is out.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Having just returned from a stunning B&B in Antwerp I just remembered that I had not left a review from our Christmas trip to another stunning B&B, The Ashton in Lancaster. We were extremely impressed by The Ashton and the warm welcome by James and his family - he was very accommodating of our early arrival on Christmas Day to drop off bags at the Ashton prior to us joining family for Christmas lunch elsewhere in Lancaster and his offer of a bucks fizz with warm mince pies was very welcome after our early morning drive from Nottingham.

The Ashton is truly a gem in Lancaster and we really cannot imagine staying anywhere else on our visits to this city. We stayed in a classic room which was very comfortable with lovely views of the garden and the "girls" (the chickens) from the two windows and had a gorgeous shower room. The breakfast was simply amazing with individually cooked main course from a great choice and a superb buffet spread too. Thanks to our experiences here and our talks with James I now own my very own breadmaker which we regularly use, so thank you James!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

From the moment we arrived late on Friday evening, we were so well looked after. The room was extremely comfortable and the double shower was fab!. The food was freshly prepared and beautifully presented. I cannot recommend The Ashton highly enough.
It's the perfect place for a relaxing weekend.

Margaret, Glasgow

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stumags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at The Ashton twice now, and will definitely be returning. The welcome from James and Craig is warm, the rooms are stunning, and the food is fantastic. We look forward to many more visits in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonjeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2010

My boyfriend was nervous about surprising me with night away for my 30th birthday as I stay in hotels alot with work but I have never stayed anywhere as special as 'The Ashton'. Beautiful decor throughout so breathtaking I wanted to move in! Lovely scenery, gorgeous food (even homemade bread) and James and Craig looked after every detail. The amount of attention that has gone into ensuring everyone has a great experience here is exceptional. It was the perfect hideaway and we can't wait to go back in December. Thank you! Simon & Rebecca

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterCosmogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed for one night but could have easily stayed for a whole week! Stunning rooms, very chilled out atmosphere. My husband and I felt so relaxed for the short time we were there. Breakfast was amazing, we can't wait to return to the Ashton. Many thanks to James & Co for a wonderful stay. Claire & Antony.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davolion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James-theashton, Owner at The Ashton, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Dear Claire & Antony,
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully next time we see you it'll be for 2 nights, then you'll feel you've had 2 weeks away!
You might be interested to know about our new Sunday Supper Club. Stay Sundays and a bottle of wine & supper is included in the room rate. Perfect for when you need a quick break.
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,343 reviews
1.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
511 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
347 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashton

Property: The Ashton
Address: Wyresdale Rd., Lancaster LA1 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashton 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ashton, a special place to stay. Guest Accommodation of the Year 2009/2010 Lancashire Tourism Awards.5 Star Rooms & Award Winning Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ashton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashton Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing