We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit.”
Review of The Stork Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stork Inn
Ranked #10 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night as part of a touring holiday. The room was well equipped and the staff friendly. The South African themed menu was very interesting. The only drawback was the very narrow and steep staircase. Not easy to negotiate up or down with a heavy suitcase. Still worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    65
    24
    13
    12
See reviews for
83
89
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've never tried South African food before, but this meal was so tasty. Went for a family lunch on a sunny day in the nice beer garden. Beer was excellent (Lancaster Blonde) and the food was super. The staff were very pleasant and service of food was quick. This is a dog friendly pub with plenty of water dishes around. Dogs are even welcome inside at the top end of the bar. They also serve food all day between 12noon & 9pm. There are also nice walks on the old railway line either to Lancaster or Glasson. All in all a very nice afternoon, and we will be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeathPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I may be biased as a South African given that the menu is mostly South African food, but honestly you wont get better food, in a better atmosphere pub, with the most beautiful surroundings in the area. Please go and experience for yourself. Have never stayed there, so seek a different review for that side, but if the food, service and all the rest are anything to go by I am sure its top notch!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancslestat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed at the Stork Inn for a week and had a fantastic stay. Because we stayed 7 days, we received our 7th night as complimentary. The food was lovely with great choice. My favourite being the eisbein (the small option was sufficient for me and my parents). The staff were so caring esepcially on one occasion when I had to go to the hospital. Overall a lovely place to stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed for one night having arrived drenched to bone on a long bike ride. The welcome was fantastic and the room was absolutely wonderful. The pub/B&B had some real atmosphere and I hadd a glorious nights sleep in my huge room and comfortable bed. The food was excellent, well served by great staff and, following a supurb breakfast, I was on my way!! Excellent - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lousontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHROPSHIRE
Level Contributor
215 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel while visiting Lancaster in May. We found this hotel to be clean, charming, with a great location, the room was well sized with a good view. Breakfasts were very tasty and there was a good choice of fruit, cereals etc to go with the very well cooked breakfast. We ate in the bar a couple of times and the food was very well cooked at a fair price. This hotel is very close to Lancaster but also good for the Coastal walks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNLOUNGER123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Spent an excellent weekend at The Stork. The Inn itself is brilliant, the food... second to none and the staff are really nice people. The owner is very customer orientated and nothing is too much trouble for her. We do NOT easily give this kind of recommendation. Needless to say, we shall be visiting The Stork more often. Cannot speak too highly of the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
1.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
3.7 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mill at Conder Green
The Mill at Conder Green
#3 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#1 of 1 in Dolphinholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stork Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stork Inn

Property: The Stork Inn
Address: Corricks Lane | Conde Green, Lancaster LA2 0AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th Century County Inn in the picturesque hamlet of Conder Green. In winter you will find roaring log fires and a warm & friednly welcome from the cold. In summer you will find beautiful gardens, a large children's play area and a BBQ / Braai with a South African influence. 9 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms all with lovely views & the usual facilities. Families, cyclists, walkers and dogs all welcome. Traditional real ale, quality wine and excellent coffee are all included in the modern day Stork offering. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing