We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night at simply french”

Quite Simply French
Ranked #2 of 243 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $26 - $64
Cuisines: British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Exquisite food, great company and meticulous attention to detail - that's the Quite Simply French experience. Oh... And don't forget the wine. NEVER forget the wine. We're passionate about what we do, about using only the very best ingredients, about creating a relaxed atmosphere and not taking ourselves too seriously.Eating out should be fun - and that's our secret ingredient. It's what gives us that little extra ooh la la. We are the only restaurant in Lancaster and within 30 miles of Lancaster to have a live lobster tank and specialise in fresh shellfish and seafood. Seafood Platters with oysters, clams, crab, lobster, prawns,langoustines, razor clams are available to order with 24 hours notice and subject to availability. We buy most of our produce locally and specialist ingredients from the famous Rungis Market in Paris. We pride ourselves in making our fine dining restaurant accessible to everyone with our Early Bird Offer Tuesday to Saturday with many dishes half price. On Wednesday evenings we have Steak and Mussels offer with main courses only £16 and on Thursdays Lobster and Champagne, a whole lobster and 2 glasses of champagne only £35. Sunday and Monday evenings enjoy our Simply Squiffy Offer, 2 courses and a bottle of wine for only £25. Sunday Lunch is 2 courses for £19. We have a extensive wine list and cocktail menu and are one of Lancaster's most popular restaurants. Christmas Parties are incredibly popular and booking is advisable well in advance.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“great night at simply french”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went on a Monday night (where they have a 2 course deal with a bottle of wine each!!) with my partner and family and all of us enjoyed our meal.The food was amazing and the steak was cooked perfectly but I found it hard to decide which desert to go for as they all sounded yummy! all the staff were very friendly - would highly recommend and will be returning very soon

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    167
    53
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked a table for our anniversary on a sat night, and wish we hadn't bothered. The service was awful i have never experienced anything like it. Shortly after our starter arrived our main did! we had both dishes at the same time. I didn't know what to eat first! So I went for my main as didn't want cold steak! Then my starter. When we complained at the end they were unsympathetic. We were in there 45mins fso was not the relaxing romantic evening we had planned. We were both just gob smacked and didn't know what to say. I tried to leave feedback on there facebook site and was more polite than I could have been yet it just got deleted. Seems they don't care how people find there restaurant as long as the large bill is paid!. Average food! Awful service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I visited this place on Monday with my partner!
The food was amazing and suited the price! We had the 2 courses for £19.95 and with that you got a bottle of wine each!
We had a little mix up with the starters as my partner got the wrong dish but it was quickly resolved! With apologies!
The waitress was a little clumsy and knocked a few things over but I guess she was new.
Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves though, and have already booked a table to come again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quite Simply Amazing Food!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I went to Quite Simply French last night with my wife and can easily see why so many people recommended it to us. Food was outstanding!

We have eaten in Michelin star establishments all over the world and I can honestly say my meal was on a par, if not better than them restaurants. Compared to Gran Hotel Domine in Bilbao I would say the food here is better

We only come to visit family 3-4 times a year and I can safely say that when we do, we will be going here.

Any criticism? None whatsoever.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RemoteMedic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Such a helpful chef!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was eating with people who have food allergies and the chef couldn't have been more helpful. Everything tasted wonderful and it was amazingly good value too. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AstonCatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quite Simply French also viewed

 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to Quite Simply French? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing