We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of The Basement Restaurant - CLOSED

The Basement Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Freshly prepared local ingredients enjoyed in a comfortable, relaxed and friendly atmosphere.Leamington's only Jazz / Blues flavoured restaurant.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent, high quality food served without fuss! The staff are very friendly and hospitable. The portion sizes are generous without being overbearing. Very reasonable prices. Would highly recommend this place for a good wholesome dinner when you don't want to break the bank.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveandBethWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Recently went for friends birthday. The main courses were serve over a 15 minute basis. Food was good but others had finished before ours arrived!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzygb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT EVENING OUT IN LEAMINGTON SPA”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a small restaurant but is packed with atmospher and it has a lovely background of jazz music which is very pleasant when having a meal.

We were there for my husbands 60th and as a family they treated us very well. The food was outstanding and they were very atentive to us and nothing was too much trouble.

It was a little more pricey than what we normally pay but we felt as though the food spoke for itself and it was justified a brilliant meal/

Highly recommended but please book as it is most popular and you do not want to be disappointed.

Christine, Neville and Hailey Williamson
DERBY
UK

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“POOR SERVICE BUT GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had dinner here last night. {13/10/12] My first and last visit. The restaurant itself was a warm welcome on a cold night .The young man who greeted us said that another party had taken our table but it was ok because he could put two tables together [what's the point of booking?] we sat down and ordered drinks ......which came with my soup. We gave our orders only to be told he only had one portion of sausage and mash left but four was on our order 'oh no' said we. At that point the young man responded with OH STOP MOANING. Had i been on my own i would have walked instead i ordered a second drink ........sorry no cola . One of our party runs down to another restaurant to buy soft drinks for the drivers in our group. I have been in the restaurant trade for more than 30 years and i have never come across such bad manners and lack of customer care. I feel for the owners and the hard working kitchen staff who have been let down by poor service because the basement has a warm atmosphere and great value honest food

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fluffy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very good value, honest food”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wasn't overly busy for a Friday night, we both enjoyed prawn and chorizo starter - plenty of prawns and a nice salad. I had steak which was cooked as requested and they even made me a bearnaise sauce instead of peppercorn. Other half had sea bass. Home made puddings to round off, brownie was tasty.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DINKYBoyandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basement Restaurant also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Bishops Tachbrook, Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing