We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor, good location, food..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhubarb - CLOSED

Rhubarb
Price range: $41 - $52
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great decor, good location, food..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Love the decor, food used to be outstanding but feel that Rhubarb is trying to be too cool/chic with its menu and charging London prices which is fine if the food lives up to these standards - it's good but not good enough. Still great venue.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJB2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    24
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An eatery in decline”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Rhubarb used to be a great wine bar, with lots of atmosphere, good food and good service, at reasonable prices. We recently went on my birthday, as we hadn't been for quite some time, but it wasn't like the good times of the past. The food was really just OK - nothing special - but wasn't cheap. The service was pretty ropey too, given there were hardly any customers and we still had to keep asking where our orders were. Sadly, Rhubarb is in decline, and we won't be going there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Rhubarb used to be one of the best restaurants in Leamington: great atmosphere, careful and efficient service and outstanding food. Alas, it is no more. We had not been for a while, but during our recent visit we were sorely disappointed. The service was appalling: every time we ordered drinks, we had to remind our waitress as every time she forgot: given that the restaurant was almost empty with only 4 tables with customers, we could not understand how she kept forgetting our order. The food was mediocre. We were half way through our starter when I saw my lamb chop being put under the heat lamp and it stayed there for the next 15 minutes getting tougher and tougher. For the first time ever I did not order a desert as I did not want another nasty surprise. Unfortunately, the prices have not changed: our meal was expensive reflecting the days when Rhubarb was in its glory, rather than the mediocre food that we were given. It's such a shame when a good restaurant goes downhill in such a spectacular form.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EireneLeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Hadn't been for 3 years and after reading some reviews wasn't sure but as didn't fancy a chain meal or pub grub & was in Leamington decided to give it a try.

So glad we ignored the bad reviews.

As soon as we entered we were greeted by a friendly, attentive waitress Rebecca. Good choice on main menu, early bird menu & specials board. Some people do say it is expensive but with the choice it doesn't have to be. I decided on the early bird menu £14.50 for 3 courses before 7pm. Good size, great food & great value. My wife decided to order from the main menu & the Guinea Fowl was a very good choice & although more expensive well worth it.

We also like the eclectic style rather than the everything matching of the chain restaurants.

Throughout the meal & right up to us leaving Rebecca was an attentive & friendly waitress.

We will definitely not be leaving it another 3 years before returning & would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingstudent66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Our regular Saturday morning breakfast place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We're in Leamington every Saturday morning, doing the kids taxi run, and Rhubarb has become something of a Saturday morning breakfast tradition with us. It's quite a bohemian place - very laid back, and is more about spending an hour enjoying a leisurely breakfast (or lunch/dinner), rather than being a rushed and in-and-out in minutes. If you're looking for a quick breakfast bite, you're probably better off somewhere else, but if you fancy actually relaxing and eating something well cooked, then you should definitely try Rhubarb.

The coffee's great, the music is very chilled, and all of the days newspapers are available. I can only comment on the breakfasts, but they use very very good quality ingredients, and it's never disappointed. Service is great - it's clearly somewhere that people return to, as the waitresses are on first name terms with a lot of the people coming through the door. With regard to the negative reviews about the service, I can only assume that people were expecting the robotic service you get from the many chain restaurants in Leamington - "after 5 minutes the starters arrive, then 10 minutes after that, I'll microwave the main course and bring that", and Rhubarb really isn't about that.

Definitely our favourite place to start the weekend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhubarb also viewed

Bishops Tachbrook, Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing