We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs work and once”
Review of Thomas James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thomas James Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Needs work and once”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed there for one night, I booked last minute and it was the only place available in the price range.

The room was very small but functional, a few of the lights weren't working and although the room was generally pretty clean the shower needed a good clean.

The hotel is right above a bar which didn't close until 2am, you can hear the bass coming up through the floor boards making it very hard to sleep.

The saving grace was that the bed was very comfortable and I slept like a log once the music downstairs stopped.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoBeachForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    35
    22
    61
See reviews for
9
43
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

we stayed here last year and was pleased with it , but stayed here last night and was very disappointed with it our room was a box size , it was very dirty , very smelly , and I dnt think theyed hoovered in any corners in like forever , the dust was thick , and outside our door was a massive stack of damp dirty laundry which was giving an awful stench and to think they charge £60 a night is shocking.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelsmith1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leamington Spa hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Booked for a quick stop-over in Leamington on a Saturday night. Very central location and pretty easy to find from the train station. Room was clean but very small and fairly tired-looking, though the shower was surprisingly powerful. The biggest issue for us was the noise coming from the bar downstairs - we could feel the floor vibrating from the bass into the early hours! It's good value for money and the breakfast was pretty good but only really suitable if you want somewhere to sleep after a night out or aren't bothered by noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

In a hurry and wanted to be near the station, but no, never again. My room right at the top of several flights of stairs with no discernible fire escape, actually was not too bad, shabby yes ..but why didn't they warn me that someone had tried to kick the bathroom door in?! Or given me another room? As a solo female traveller it made me nervous about what sort of guests they had. However I was in a hurry to get to a work function and so did not mention it, although when I went past the reception it did appear closed. My friends walked me back because it is not at the best end of town and the bar's usual inhabitants are a motley crew, but on a Monday night it was actually very quiet. Next morning the man behind the bar and overseeing breakfast was very helpful ..... But this was probably not the right hotel for me. Next time I will read the reviews, I think they got it right!

Room Tip: N/A , ps there is no swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish58IsleofLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I felt really let down by the hotel, firstly, it was very hard to locate and I know leamington very well, I wasn't expecting to walk in to a bar to get to the reception, so just a warning! The room was very small, was ok for one night but I couldn't imagine staying there longer or returning. The carpets, wallpaper, curtains, bathroom and bathroom floor were dirty, stained and really needed some TLC. Also whilst in the shower, the shower door practically fell out, I had to hold it still as it was very close to falling apart. The lamps were broken, the flush button on the loo was not attatched properly, the cupboard was half broken - so all in all I think this place definitely needed a refurb! I am very easygoing and accept a few problems but I feel it is nessessary for me to write a review. Ok for one night but not any more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Davine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during a stop over in Leamington, we couldn't find anything else at a reasonable price and this was £60 per night. It was clear why, room very small and double bed against the wall. Staff friendly enough. Probably would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gidemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The most disgusting place i have ever stayed in our room was dirty and in desperate need of a makeover. A group of friends stayed here so i was able to see most of the rooms and have to say all are very poor and dirty! Ours was the worst room I have uploaded a photo of the state of the bed. Walls are filthy and wallpaper is hanging off! AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
0.8 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#13 of 16 in Leamington Spa
564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#8 of 16 in Leamington Spa
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas James Hotel

Property: Thomas James Hotel
Address: 45-47 Bath Street, Leamington Spa CV31 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thomas James Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thomas James Hotel: all rooms en-suite, LCD TV, internet access, telephone, room service available on request, close to train station, Stratford-upon-Avon, Birmingham, NEC, NAC, Warwick, Kenilworth, Coventry Airport. Conference facilities available, free room hire for parties, TJ's Bar & Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Thomas James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing