We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for an overnight stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomas James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thomas James Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Leamington Spa
South Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for an overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for an affordable room overnight and the location, right in the centre of Leamington Spa, makes it even more appealing to people who enjoy a little night-life!

The check in staff were very friendly and informative. The room, on the top floor of the building (great training for my trek in the Himalayas - http://bit.ly/6Sdzoa) was clean and comfortable. Although on the small side, it was perfect for an overnight stay. The room was at the back of the hotel, so away from the busy road.

The bathroom was clean and the shower hot and powerful. I skipped breakfast so am unable to comment on that!

POSITIVE: Great for people who like a night out - the bar downstairs is great for a few drinks while getting ready! (Thanks also for the free Coke the next morning - much appreciated!)

NEGATIVE: No car park, although there are spaces on the roads around.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmorgan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    34
    21
    55
See reviews for
7
42
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

This was my second midweek stay here. The check-in staff were friendly, and this time I had a double room at the top, facing the back of the hotel. The room was on the small size, but clean and comfortable. The biggest disappointment was breakfast. Down in the basement, there was nobody else in there, and dirty plates left on tables. The seats were dirty, with crumbs on, and a fair bit of surface dust on other furniture. It looked as though they had recently had builders in who had not cleared up. Plus, what with stacked chairs in corners, the room looked very shabby for breakfast, which was very very basic anyway.
Parking is in the side streets nearby, limited to 1 hour. Overnight, you can park nearby until 9 a.m., as recommended by staff.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MisterJon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Booking had to be rearranged several times due to family commitments and this was no trouble to the very friendly and helpful hotel staff. They even arranged to start work an hour early on a Sunday so that we could have an early breakfast! My daughter and partner were allocated a four poster bed as a normal double room. I expected noise from outside as that is normal in a town centre hotel but none of our family are light sleepers. The rooms were basic, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XantheSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

Very small and pokey rooms
lots of winding stairs to climb
small bed squashed up to the wall
extremely noisy with late night drinkers
tiny cramped cafe

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MystiWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leamington Spa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

My partner and I booked this hotel as we thought it would be central and nice to have a lazy weekend for a treat, the hotel site doesn't tell you that the hotel is located above a student bar which plays loud music until 2am!! On arrival to the hotel which is really difficult to find as the doorway is off the main road, it was locked, we had to ask some local people how we got into reception, we were advised through the student bar, when we found our way into reception, that door was locked also and nobody was there to check us in, in the end we found a barmaid to check us in!! The room was right above the bar, room 11, so noisy the music vibrated through the room, the bed was small and the TV remote didn't work. The keys they gave us didn't fit the outside door so if we had of gone out and come back late we might not of been able to gain access back into the hotel as the only way in was through the bar downstairs. At 2.30am a gang of students who were staying at the hotel were shouting and banging doors for an hour through out the hotel. At 9am we checked out, we decided to give breakfast a miss as they served it downstairs in the bar where they were cleaning up from the night before, at check out two Police officers were talking to the receptionist about a fight that had taken place in the hotel door way and were checking CCTV footage, that kind of finished off the weekend for us, there is not any parking and to be honest not worth the £60 we paid to stay here, it was terrible!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henley
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

I think that sums it up. It's OK. Not brilliant, but not bad either. It was clean but I was almost put off by a previous reviewer who said the bedding was smelly. I'm really fussy about that kind of thing but it was fine.

There was no tea and coffee, milk etc. which was just an oversight by management. I'm sure I could've got some if I asked.

There's no real reception area, being based above TJ's bar but you can use the bar which is maybe not that appropriate if you have kids.

The breakfast was fine and you had to pay extra for cooked which I think is a bit of a cheek as I paid £50 for my small single room.

The location isn't pretty but it's good and central. Fine for business but not so nice for leisure as there is nowhere you can sit out on a nice day other than a smokey smoking area next to the bar.

There didn't seem to be anyone in charge so more of a presence would've been good. And may be I would've had an upgrade to a bigger room as the place was empty

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rodgehenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

I cannot believe they can charge £60 for this cubby hole! (room 15) A tiny cramped cold room...the radiator had broken, the shower curtain was mouldy, there was stuff on the ceiling (goodness knows what) the tv controls didn't work. It was tricky to find as it is only a door way on a main road. The noise & light in our room was unbearable, so much so that we packed our bags and left at 1am! I'm so disappointed!

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SARobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leamington Spa Town Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#8 of 18 in Leamington Spa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#15 of 18 in Leamington Spa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#6 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwi...
#10 of 18 in Leamington Spa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas James Hotel

Property: Thomas James Hotel
Address: 45-47 Bath Street, Leamington Spa CV31 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thomas James Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thomas James Hotel: all rooms en-suite, LCD TV, internet access, telephone, room service available on request, close to train station, Stratford-upon-Avon, Birmingham, NEC, NAC, Warwick, Kenilworth, Coventry Airport. Conference facilities available, free room hire for parties, TJ's Bar & Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thomas James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing