We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprising Find”
Review of Woodland Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodland Grange
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bury St Edmunds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Surprising Find”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

An excellent location for a business stay, good facilities, clean, crisp, lovely helpful staff & fine restaurant. Nice touches like free help yourself coffee, fresh fruits & biscuits in a number of lounge areas plus the most original smoothies at breakfast were brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy-Fields1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your extremely positive review. We hope to see you again soon, especially as our Summer menu is soon to be released.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    168
    61
    17
    6
See reviews for
19
131
10
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had an overnight stay 'weekend break' via Groupon so we were realistic with our expectations of this special deal. We were also aware that this venue is very much set up for conference delegates. However, we were very pleasantly surprised and delighted to find the facilities even better than many hotel breaks. The grounds are beautiful and the overall feel of the building light and airy. Our room was 'adequate' with all we could need for an overnight stay, including tea/coffee making facilities.

We made enquiries about the optional upgrade. This is well worth the extra cost of £10 per person. The room, whilst having very little extra by way of facilities, feels much fresher and updated and has a fabulous floor to ceiling sliding window (screened at the bottom in glass for safety) with wonderful views of unspoiled countryside.

We checked out the conference facilities whilst there for future reference and these too were excellent.

The newly refurbished dining room is very comfortable, fresh, modern and very clean. The staff here too were brilliant; discreet and attentive, polite and helpful.

Our evening dinner was excellent, as was the breakfast next morning.

For the price paid, this was incredible value for money and we have every intention to return. Had we stayed in the regular room, I would have marked a four, but the upgraded room, friendly staff and fabulous dining - excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gladyspipkin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your very positive feedback. We too hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

stayed the night on a groupon voucher and was well worth the money. the hotel is a little tired in places and there was a hair in the bath but apart from that the hotel was very nice. we used the sauna and hot tub good facilities and use of towels, the free tea and coffee and biscuits were a nice touch. the food was good with a nice varied menu same for breakfast where they did fresh smoothies. must admit the hotel is more set up for conferences but we did enjoy our night there. one thing i would mention is that i think 10am check on a sunday is a bit too early. also the fire alarm was set off at about 2.30am which was a shock one thing i would say is that having used the fire exit into the field at the back there was no lights or path which was not a good thing and the only staff member we saw didnt say a word and then didnt know how to turn the alarm off and re set it so we were probably up longer than we had to be .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and, with the exception of the fire alarm, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have investigated the lighting problem and resolved the issue there, and will be offering some additional training to our evening team to improve their management of emergency situations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We came here on a Groupon deal. It is a marvellous place, although seems wasted as a conference centre. The food is absolutely superb, location perfect for Leamington. They would do well to think about it being a 'proper' hotel and cater for guests as well as delegates. Restaurant open to non residents would be good. Initially we felt out of place but we soon adjusted. Lovely to have speciality coffees, biscuits and cake on tap! Room large and very clean. Bottles of water and biscuits in here too. Lashings of hot water. All in all i would recommend this place to anyone. Had a bit of a hiccup with booking drinks and food to the room as we were 'groupons'!! We managed to sort this out. All staff very friendly and helpful, especially the receptionists.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatariLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Your comments are very much appreciated, and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. The 'technical' issue we had with our booking system has now been rectified, so no more charging issues for our leisure clients. We hope you have the time to take advantage of the August deal later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on a training course and was spoilt rotten! Fantastic facilities, really good venue for business, trainIng room was well equipped, coffee, cakes and biscuits everywhere you looked, restaurant was superb with a great choice on the menu. My room was very comfortable and quiet with lovely views over the fields, couldnt fault the housekeeping.
I advise you to bring trainers, the abundance of tasty food is so tempting you'll need to make use of the gym!
My only criticism was that more could be made of the grounds, if you're indoors all week training you need to get outside and have some fresh air but the gardens are a bit bland.
Fantastic conference centre - hope I get an opportunity to come back soon!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0tech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. I have ensured that the relevant departments received your comments, and we too hope that you return soon.

In response to your comment regarding the grounds, we are looking at areas that can be developed and are looking to commence work on this project later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Booked this hotel for one night on a Groupon deal. On arrival they didn't have any record of my booking, but were sorted out with a room fairly quickly. Good room. Clean and well equipped. the deal included 3 course dinner. Starters and desert fine. However for a hotel which prides itself on it's food I found it astonishing that they couldn't cook a steak as requested. i ordered rare and my wife medium. I got medium and my wife got very well done. they changed mine on request - my wife regrets not requesting likewise. I'm gad we weren't paying the menu price as it was quite expensive and very disappointing. however, worse was to come. Breakfast was from 0700 - 1000. we arrived about 0850 and found that the choice of cereals, fruit etc was very good. However the cooked food may have been good at about 0800. It was lukewarm, eggs congealed and bacon so dried up and tough as to be inedible. the other items were equally poor, except for the hash browns, which were excellent. The hotel seems to focus mainly on business trade Monday to Friday. I hope their fare was better as weekend breakfats was very substandard. All in all the hotel was clean, with lots of facilities, most of which, sadly, we didn't have time to sample. However, I think i would look elsewhere in the area in future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We encourage all comments, both positive and negative, as these help us to develop our services further to enhance the overall experience for all our visitors. We have investigated the issues you raised, and instigated some corrective actions where a failing was identified.

I hope you offer us the opportunity to show you that this was an isolated incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

just come back from weekend break. Hotel very nice with nice facilities. Food good quality and lot nice touches. Fresh fruit always available and customer service very good. Room nice.

Room Tip: ask for exterior facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireRayray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for the excellent feedback. We hope you can take advantage of the August offer and make a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leamington Spa
3.8 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
711 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
1.6 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#8 of 16 in Leamington Spa
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
1.8 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Grange

Property: Woodland Grange
Address: Old Milverton Lane, Leamington Spa CV32 6RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Leamington Spa
#2 Business Hotel in Leamington Spa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodland Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodland Grange is a stunning residential conference venue in Warwickshire. It has the best of all worlds – a building full of character, state-of-the-art facilities, 16 acres of beautiful grounds - and a convenient location at the heart of the motorway network (the M40, M42, M6 and M69 are all within a 20 minute drive). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Woodland Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodland Grange Hotel Leamington Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing