We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the tin - very well indeed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lansdowne Hotel

The Lansdowne Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin - very well indeed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Having chosen the hotel purely for its location, and read some other reviews, I must say my expectations were not high. How wrong I was!

Ben, the receptionist on duty when we arrived (early) was very gracious and allowed us to leave the car in the (admittedly small) car park while we went to lunch before checking in. The room (8) was very clean and good sized with a tv on Freeview- fine. Bathroom must be almost brand new, with an excellent power shower.

Lots of nice little detail touches like cotton buds in the toiletry tray. Good quality fluffy towels.

Breakfast pretty good, particularly tasty bacon which I suspect comes from the excellent butcher round the corner. Lots of choice of cereals and fruit, perhaps the coffee pots could be heated prior to putting the coffee in, as it went cold pretty fast. Very polite Polish (?) waitress.

Those reviewers who complained about the facilities should note that the Lansdowne's rating is as guest accommodation, not a hotel rating and should be judged accordingly. Those who think it's a bit dated should realise that it is actually a Regency building. That means it's 200 years old, people! Relax and enjoy the history and period features, along with Ben's friendly hospitality.

I give it a score of five out of five even though as a former B&B owner myself, I am hard to please and know what to look for. Highly recommended, good value and we shall be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloDover_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    72
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
56
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Situated right in the heart of Leamington Spa and priced right this hotel cannot fail.

On arrival you will find the entrance to the car park off a side street which is one way, very difficult to get in and out.

The car park is very tight my car was scraped by someone trying to get in or out, failed to notice until hours later.

The lad at reception Ben was very helpful and pleasant and could not have done more to assist.

The hotel is very clean the single room was a bit tight but ok for one night.

The breakfast was superb with the plate being loaded with the full English, a great start to the day.

Eating out I recommend the five rivers on Victoria terrace a fantastic curry can be had here.

The town centre is only a ten minute walk and is worth a visit.

I would stay here again but park the car elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudgeCludge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is not exactly fresh, but its genuinely friendly and polite staff make the stay pleasant.

It is one of the very few hotels in the centre of Leamington Spa, its location is probably a good reason to stay here too.

Breakfast was okay, eggs cooked to order was nice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight in September. Our double room on the first floor was very clean and airy. The hotel was tastefully decorated in neutral colours. We had a problem closing the secondary glazing which left us a little exposed to the traffic noise at a busy junction. The bed was comfortable and there were tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was small but clean. The shower worked OK but we did have an issue with the toilet - the flush function broke and this resulted in a small pool of water forming on the floor. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the cooked breakfast was very, very good - well cooked and nicely presented.

Room Tip: The corner rooms could pose some problems with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KP999_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

On very short notice I booked a single room here, so had not read previous reviews. I would really class this as more of a sizeable B&B rather than a hotel. (What distinguishes one from the other anyhow?) Yes, I agree that some of the decor is stuck in the 70's, but I found the interior to be be very clean and the staff all very obliging and helpful and all seemed to be working really hard to make the business successful.

My room (on the very top floor) was on the small side and the ensuite bathroom even smaller. The linen and duvet were crisp and clean. Unfortunately the rather new looking curtain and roman blinds were made of a fabric too thin to block out the morning sunlight and any planned sleep in not possible as a result. Toiletries were provided in the bathroom, but there was no hot water for my shower in the morning (Argggh!)

The breakfast room was set up with immaculately crisp and clean tablecloths and the generous breakfast fare (fruits, yoghurts, cereals etc) all set out for guests. The cooked breakfast was tasty.

Whilst no iron was provided in the room, after a quick visit to the reception desk an ironing board and iron were set up for me in a spotlessly clean laundry area. (many thanks!)

I was also able to leave my luggage at the hotel until it was time to catch the train home. Overall, for the price, a good value stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikkaau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in the Lansdowne Hotel, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They recommended a coffee bar and somewhere for lunch which were both good. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless. The decor is dated and they are introducing new furniture and lighting which don't match the beautiful old building which is a shame. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

A beautifully clean bed and breakfast in a brilliant location in the centre of Leamington. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pleantiful varied and well cooked.

However there were some notable flaws. There was only one bedside table in my double room which was rather incovenient for my romantic weekend away. Something strange seemed to have happened to our bottom sheet which was creased in such a way to make it uncomfortable to sleep on.

We had a good weekend but we were not sure if we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsJustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leamington Spa Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#8 of 18 in Leamington Spa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#1 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#15 of 18 in Leamington Spa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Property: The Lansdowne Hotel
Address: 87 Clarendon Street, Leamington Spa CV32 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leamington Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing